Am I the Only One Excited About The Price of Steem?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hey Crybabies, I mean Steemians

Let's all take a moment to acknowledge that crypto is in the shitter apart from Doge, Doge moon! Prices have fallen like crazy since the last all-time high and we've come back to reality, oh there goes gravity!

If you've hodled since then, you've lost your money in the crypto, but you should never let it go. You only have one shot do not miss your chance to moon, because opportunity comes once in a lifetime.

A state of Steem-pression

Due to the current prices people have left in their droves, and that's ok, did we need them? They didn't believe in the community or the tech and were just in it for the rewards.

Which is fine, but you could also have a day job for that! I've seen a few articles of late highlighting the current plight. I've picked out ones I found interesting here

My question today is, is it that bad? Like really? I don't think so!

bj5jlsgzfb.jpg

So as I finish moms spaghetti, I'm now ready to drop bombs! Ok, that was my last 8-mile reference! Calm down!

Oh look graphs

I put graphs in this post, so you know it must be legit, and I must have insane amounts of technical knowledge right? To illustrate my view, I need technical analysis so here goes!

The last time STEEM was this low was around May 2017. It has since had three big runs thanks to the growth of the overall market too with BTC, and ETH insane valuations and users began to think that this is the norm. It wasn't and isn't the norm. People are freaking out when it hit $0.70 it when it was something like $0.20 just over a year ago.

STEEM tends to be flat like most cryptos throughout the year, and this accumulation phase is excellent for hodlers. Keep buying the dip all the way down, when moon sell! But in our case, we want more so we have more influence.

zhfnp4ocqo.png

So along with dropping prices there are a few positives.

Shitposts have dried up

I'm not saying they've left the platform completely we're all guilty of shitposting our way to reward and that's fine. But the sheer numbers and frequency of shitposting have taken a dip, and I've found it much easier to find good content and engaging authors on the site during the fall.

Current crop of creators are jacked

Everyone that's currently posting and commenting is on their grind. They're thoughtful, content and ideas are being promoted that are constructive and we're really seeing support for new accounts joining during this time since we don't want to keep losing good authors.

dApps have time to innovate

This is the ideal time to release your dApp on STEEM the small community like i mentioned are jacked and are willing to provide you with feedback, support your project and help you refine it before you have to really take to market and gather a user base.

Ya'll are greedy

Stop comparing STEEM to fiat; It's not the same! Perhaps if you're living off of STEEM yes but if you're like me and want more influence, you only have to look as far as how much stake you're getting. The more STEEM Power the more power to you my brothers and sisters.

Getting stake is easier

So getting a stake for your efforts may not have the significant dollar value attached to it but you're getting more laps out of the reward pool than you did before in stake! This is the ideal time for Redfish and Minnows like myself to power up and starts building a sustainable middle class and help redistribute the wealth so we have a more viable base for users who would not walk away from the platform as easily as before.

Are those enough reasons to stop freaking out?

Scrimmige stations

It's ok, just hold your breath honey and keep kicking

How about a little Steem scrimmage?

So you're telling me after building my account from the ground up for almost a year that I should leave? I ain't going out like no bitch, ya bish!

That's right, I'm not leaving! I said I'm not fucking leaving. They're going to need a fucking wrecking ball to take me out of here. Steemit is my home and they're going to need to send in the national guard or a SWAT team, coz I ain't going nowhere!

Have any tips or just want to tip me?

If you're upset about the current STEEM prices and think its time to call it quits why not take a break, delegate all your STEEM to me. I promise I'll take care of it and put it go good use, what do you say? Deal?!

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler


Put your votes to good use

We all can't max out our upvotes every day and a little help never hurt. Sign up to Smartsteem and sell a few of your votes each day, earn some STEEM and SBD in the process and still get in some curation rewards in STEEM Power. Check out SmartSteem


Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

I am loving the lower price of steem. Adding a little each week and have no issue if it stays this low for a little while. Lets say a couple months...that would be great.

But being that I have a large amount of income that comes in at the end of Oct you can pretty much count on the fact that prices will skyrocket in the 3rd week of Oct right before I can put a larger amount of money in.

Oh and I'm confident enough in steem that I just sold a car for steem and am stepping up my commitment to the community as a whole by launching @minnowbuilder on top of @pifc which I started also.

Wow loving the commitment man, I wish i had extra fiat to pump in. I will try to power up with fiat every month while its low I really want to have more SP not for myself but I'm finding cool projects Id like to support and delegate steem to as well! I'm really starting to find my feet now and want to take on a more active role but as we know you gotta have SP to do that! So ill keep trying to earn and if I can ill buy some too!

I've yet to check out @minnowbuilder and @pifc but it is on my hit list

@pifc is a great community. Anyone looking to have a way to meet new people on steemit in a friendly place I'd say should look at the curation contest. Those who stick around for a few weeks will start to notice other from the community showing up on their posts and engaging. Naturally taking the effort to engage first is important.

Anyways hope you get a chance to enter the contest.

We have nothing to loose! It would be great if the two of us and in the good old fashioned middle class! Like you wrote now is the time to leave our footprint, we will never regret it and if it does fail, we at least have tried and had some fun!
Cheers,
Peter

Love the attitude man, for real we are at the bottom so there is very little downside. If it goes down oh well I had fun, if it goes up, boy oh boy are we going to have even more fun, can't wait to start trading dolphin flips with you!

Lets splash ! There will be a you might wet zone, you can get wet zone and for sure you will be soaked zone!

The pictures are more like me. I saw a great quality post. Thank you

Please don't comment generic shit on my posts! Don't make me flag you bro!

lol so many people do this it's lame.

They kill my soul every time. Since my downvote doesn't mean shit at all. I've been reporting these guys to - http://steemcleaners.com/

How do you downvote? Do you mean just flag?

Yes downvote/fun with flags/Bitch slap - We all have our own terms

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

They clearly didn't beleive in the community or the tech and were just in it for the rewards.
It should be believe instead of beleive.

I like your post. I agree you and I think greedy destroy many cryptoprojekt.
Good work (full upvote from me) I have notice MANY people has left Steemit but as you say - maybe it is the people that Steemit do not need to grow.
Have a nice day !

Thanks @minimining I agree. Personally I found steemit like everyone else thinking of getting some free money and was and am i greedy little shit, but since then ive worried less about the money and just had fun with it! There are greedy users on all levels of steemit big and small and while it may keep them here it may not be what we need. Greed can only motivate you for so long before you find something new to feed your greed. We need to show people this isn't a get rich quick scheme but a fun way to interact, earn a bit for your contributions and help build something awesome

"You need to feed your greed..." I think that is a good sentence for some people at steemit. I have a question to you. If I put Steem at "savings" what does that mean?

From what i've read its more of a safety mechanism than anything else. So your fund is locked into a savings account, you get a little bit of an interest return but not much. Its mainly used to keep liquid funds safe so if you're fucked it first takes 3 days to power down funds so you have enough time to stop it should someone try to hack you

Ok. Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think also it is a great way to "thin the herd". I was part of those who were in the herd that got "thinned" and I left 4 months ago because I was only in it for the money. However, I realised that I have to be willing to make good content & network regardless of price an I am back with a fresh new perspective.

Yes I remember you, I asked you if you were keen to submit a guest post to our east Africa travel blog and you just went MIA! Great to have you back! The way I see it is the ones who stick around regardless of price will grow into big accounts and then be responsible for supporting the content they like! Say your niche is travel you would be the one creating communities and supporting up and coming travel authors, do things to get them noticed and engaged! You would almost market Steem in that community and help retention rates!

I’ve yet to decide on my niche but I have time since I’m not a big account yet

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey @chekohler thanks for the warm welcome. I was (I am)really keen on this but I got a heavy 3 month project which keep me so busy I even unintentionally left this platform. Now I have some time and will be hitting you up real soon.

  • I love the ideas you put across in terms of powering through and building.

How have you been and how did you deal with the SBD price tanking?

Cool you have my email addy hit me up when you have some spare time. Well I've been pretty relaxed to be honest and just trying to focus on finding cool peeps. Since everyone left most of my 1000 followers arent worth shit, so i've been engaging and trying to find new authors to follow.

As for the prices i'm actually pretty stoked, when i started becoming active STEEM was 3 dollars and way to pricey to buy in. NOw that i could, i was able to do some cool delegations and get into projects. Set up some SBI shares and run comeptitions, its been fun! Steemit is by no means profitable for more its just a hobby lol Luckily I still have a job to keep me going

I think it's awesome the niches that exist on here. There are the obvious ones like crypto and technology but there are so many others. One of the newest ones that I am excited about is @naturalmedicine which highlights how we can heal our bodies naturally without the poisons of the pharmaceutical companies.
I as well don't particularly have a niche. I guess my niche is just being a comment whore lol. I wonder where it will end up taking me when I start making more posts.

LOL i rate you should start your own movement the comment whores and reach people how to grow their network. I've also been trying to do more outreach because my followers are mostly dead so I'm trying to find new people to engage with lol

Thanks for the recomendation on the medicine account, keen to check it out!

Welcome back to the platform! I think it's great that you came back. We need more people who bring valuable content rather than just promoting junk. Having a fresh perspective is important, it is how innovation happens.

i think with the low steem, people are having sitbacks.. i mean for those who are already high.. but for us the little ones, steemit life has never been the same.. we still strive more to get things going. We have no issue at all, because we only earn a little. But hey we are still happy.. and if by change it soars higher, the better!! We all can benefit to it in the end..

i think steem is testing us, how well and how long can we handle his lowest points! Maybe then there will be rewards for those who had stayed with him depsite everything. I am anticipating for a big change though..

It is definately testing us but its all perspective. When Steem was 20 cents last year and went to 70 cents people were happy now its 70 cents again and people are sad. One of the main ways to increase the price is for more people to pull STEEM off the market and hold it in STEEM power! In order to do that we need more commited authors with skin in the game, keeping the platform fresh and exciting

Yessss true! People who write great contents, such as you, should be soaring high! It is your your time to take the spotlight.. now is the time to get good reads to put into use. I believe these kind of post are being noticed somehow because a lot is pushing on curating great quality posts and writers.

Posted using Partiko Android

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Outlook not so good

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Thanks for adding my post into your review @chekohler. I have to agree with you on this point.

I've found it much easier to find good content and engaging authors on the site during the fall.

I've noticed so much more engagement on my posts in the past few weeks. The people who have stayed around are more involved, more committed and more active on the site. It's given me great motivation to do more myself.

This is the ideal time for Redfish and Minnows like myself to power up and starts building a sustainable middle class and help redistribute the wealth so we have a more viable base for users who would not walk away from the platform as easily as before.

You can see the people who have been pushing themselves lately and even from my own experience I have been able to earn more sp than I used to. I think it's great that we can bump up our accounts so much right now. When I started first I though that the people with over 1000sp were massive accounts.

I know differently now but want to get to dolphin status and keep going. @paulag has started a minnow power up league for anybody trying to move from 500sp to 5000sp. It should be interesting to follow peoples progress week to week and see what is possible. I'm joining anyway to see how much I can do.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was just telling @mimismartypants i can hardly keep up with my moderate internet fame, I've had so much engagnemetn in recent weeks I can hardly keep up. I don't know how big accounts do it, i'm already flustered.

Oh totally, I tend to skim articles that catch me with the headlines and I've found a certain richness in the quality. People aren't writing as much for Steemit but for themselves, I too was guilty of writing the way I think people would want to read but now I just don't give a shit, read it or not I'm going to write the way I feel.

Oh man i've been waiting for the Minnow Power up league thanks for the reminder, I've just signed up now. 14% in and I'm ready to get to 5000SP, Myself and @fullcoverbetting are already in a race to dolphin hood, I hope he joins the league too!

Before I can become a dolphin I first need to catch up that extra 3% you have as a head start! This handicap will only motivate me more. Indeed the dolphin league is going to be a lot of fun. All likeminded people, trying to give the best of their selves . And you know what is the best of it. If we all would start to support each other we will get there much faster!

That is something we often do forget! Supporting people with the same or lesser SP. But it is important to support the ones who are supporting you. It will give their upvotes much more value. It is a vicious circle!
@niallon11 you made it to my list! Be prepared for some opinions about everything :)

@fullcoverbetting, @chekohler ...........Now i want a nice clean fight, no biting, no scratching........stick to the rules and we will all be watching.

Looking forward to the dolphin league myself. I had been watching the redfish one and was very interested in seeing the accounts every week and how they were getting on. Now that we can get involved ourselves it is going to be so much better.

I'm glad to make the list and will be waiting in anticipation for your wise and valued opinions. I love meeting new and active members with the same goals as myself. Other people pushing towards dolphin status and further. Like you say if we all help and push each other then we will get to there much faster. And since the people in the league will all be roughly the same level it will give us a great chance to get in contact with more of these people.

I can promise a clean fight. I can promise no blood but I can't promise no tears :)

It indeed is. Curious how many will participate. I did participate in the red fish league, but that was different and hard. The prizes were handed out based on % increase of the account, which did give the smaller fishes a huge advantage. Still it did motivate me to get on the hall of fame!
If it involves and there are a lot of participants, I will offer a sponsorship for the lucky number 25 just like I do for @abh12345 engagement league!

And yes it is great to follow other active accounts, all with the right mindset and good people!
Looking forward to it!

Cheers,
Peter

Well this one will be divided into four seperate levels depending on your sp.

Level 1: 500SP to 1500SP
Level 2: 1500SP to 2500SP
Level 3: 2500SP to 3500SP
Level 4: 3500SP to 5000SP

It should make it a lot more competitive since we will all be operating off a fairly similar playing field. The difference between 600 and 900 wouldn't have the same effect as the difference between 40 and 300. In theory anyway but it will still be up to all the accounts to push hard regardless.

I think we will get a good few. Minnow to dolphin would tend to be the most active group as we are all invested in here and have good contacts and an idea of what we want to do. I'm hoping for big numbers anyway to make it more interesting.

I offered Paulag a sponsorship. It is only a small one, but most of these are active posters so an SBI share could always come in handy.

I don't care how big you get. It's never a bad thing to earn more shares of SBI. Anything that's adds to your value on here is great and I'll be a lot happier when I have a thousand of them. I'm sure paulag will feel the exact same.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've had so much engagement in recent weeks I can hardly keep up. I don't know how big accounts do it, i'm already flustered.

I wouldn't know since i'm not one of the big accounts and work full time so i can only do so much. What i have found absolutely brilliant lately is the new partiko app. It gives me notifications for any activity on my account. It's really easy to use on my phone and beginner friendly and has made it so much easier to reply and respond to anybody who is trying to talk to me. Since i joined the engagement league a while back i would say my activity has increased about fourfold on the site and there is no way that i could keep up with it if it wasn't for the app.

When i started i was the same and tried what i though would be the most popular but a lot of the time i was just rambling about topics that i didn't even know much about. People who know their stuff can see through that kind of stuff straight away so it never did well. Now i'm writing about what interests me or what i know and people are responding because they like my opinions or like to tell me why i'm wrong :D

Hahhaha!! Look at you bigish fish comparing notes!! Too cute!! Good luck to all of you!!

P. S. I will moderate your comments if you pay me in steem thanks!! Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

ok dude youre fuckin 2 funny for steemit.
''So as I finish moms spaghetti, I'm now ready to drop bombs!''
like no joke, before I realized this was a reference to eminem, i was thinking to myself: ''wow he still lives with his mom'' LOLLLLLLLLLLLLL omg i legit died😂😂😂

maybe you do LOL omg then I'd look like a complete fool

LOL, Your reaction is the best! I'm glad you're enjoying my posts as much as I enjoy yours. You get to be the intellectual deep one and I get to be silly, I think it works well for both of us!

I tend to speak in sarcasm, movie quotes and song lyrics I simply can't help myself you will always find an Easter Egg or two in anything i write.

Awwww you’re too cute and sweet!!:)
I love it it’s the best! Keep it up!🤩🙏🏻😘
What is your name btw? 😂☺️

Nice to know I've got a fan so if i don't write back dont think I did that intentially just to diss you (The Eminem refferences today are glorious )

LOL my name is Ché. Didn't see the sense in having a handle when your name is already that short!

HAHAH omg that's funny. wow that almost sounds like a french name.
You live in south africa tho!! that's crazy! Are you born there?

Lol I’m named after Ché Guevara and don’t ask my why my surname is German! We’re so mixed I don’t know where my heritage comes from! Yes I live in SA and 100% proudly South African born and bred!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow I just had to google his name!!!
That's crazy, you have special blood then;)
It's funny because in your tiny picture I can swear you don't look African 🙊 🙈

LOL that’s hilarious! Don’t worry I get it quite a bit when I’m traveling, but yeah we Africans come in all shapes and sizes! Here’s a better picture

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05