Adding Value to Steem

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

A lot of talk lately has been about what does and doesn't "add value" on this system. While all of us have an initial gut reaction that of course our own posts add value, it is important to look at this from the other side. As @rhondak put it, we need to "think like a whale" (Thinking Like a Whale).

This article isn't going to discuss anything that has happened already. My point is to look forward at what we can do, as authors and Steemians, to help the platform. I hope working on the points mentioned here can help prove that fiction does deserve its place here.

What @transisto helped me consider on a recent visit to The Writers' Block was how I could add value to Steem while at the same time proving fiction is a good fit for the platform. I don't have spare money. I can't be a big Steem investor. But I do have some time and I am willing to put in work to have a place here. The trick is finding a way to make that time and effort translate into value in the eyes of the investors.

@thinknzombie had the perfect summary of the discussion (paraphrased):

Instead of trying only to focus on getting a bigger piece of the pie, focus on making the pie bigger, so your piece will also increase.

Most of the points here are applicable to any genre. It's just my personal focus that is primarily on fiction, and fiction that has been attracting a lot of attention on the platform. Remember that these comments are based on my understanding of the discussion and are not an attempt to clarify the position of others.

Attract Readers

We can add value by attracting readers to the platform. Although the views display isn't fully reliable (it doesn't seem to take all the front-ends into account and isn't saved to the blockchain), the views helps show whether a post is being looked at or has merely acquired autovotes or votes from a feed or a new or trending listing. Comments also show that people are actually reading and appreciating a post.

books-reinhardi.jpg
Image credit: Reinhardi on Pixabay

A lot of people get caught up in trying to recruit new people to use the platform and often push the idea that you earn money for posting. All this is great, but people who are primarily interested in getting rich quick or living off Steem aren't necessarily the ideal fit. The people who get more caught up in money than quality aren't going to help add value to the platform.

But adding readers--this adds value. You don't need an account to read the content. According to someone who tested for me, views from someone without an account still register as views. So getting people from off the platform coming in to check out your work will help with your views to upvote ratio.

Create Quality Content

Readers aren't going to come if there isn't stuff here that they want to read. However, if readers looking for something on the site are constantly wading through junk, they may give up in frustration and go elsewhere.

We can't control what everyone else does, but we can control ourselves. We need to put our best foot forward when we post.

Spend the time to clean up and polish your work, even if it is a trivial post. Not everyone has the same skill set, but do your best and work to improve your skills where you can.

Use art that reflects the content. If possible, use custom or customized art that will attract a reader's attention. Be sure to use only art that may be used legally and to attribute it properly.

Do your best to format your post effectively. Using proper block formatting and using headings where appropriate makes articles more comfortable to read. Avoiding overuse of emphasis and other special formatting helps keep things looking professional.

Choose tags based on the content of your post, not based on what tags seem to attract a lot of upvotes. Tagging your post with something unrelated to your content is likely to attract negative attention. Improper tagging is confusing. If you promise a story with the fiction tag but instead give a political lecture or talk about football, I'm likely to be upset. No one likes to be confused or to fall prey to what they may consider a "bait and switch."

Use Pre-existing Social Media to Push Steem

It isn't about the sheer volume of registered users here. It's about getting attention and views to content that is housed on the block chain. So if you post your original content on Steem first (which is the best way to avoid issues with Cheetah anyway) then share it to other media, you are encouraging your readers elsewhere to check out your work on Steem. You then help to establish the site as a home for great content.

Also share quality posts you find from other users. It doesn't matter if the reader is registered to upvote the post. It doesn't matter if it's a new post or an older one. What matters is to get people paying attention to posts on Steem. Accepting them as a possible resource when they turn up in Google searches. Looking at the blockchain as a resource. Getting curious about everything.

Add Steem Links on Other Sites

Add your Steem profile on your other social sites. Facebook doesn't include Steem as a social media you can link to, but it is easy to add the link to your blog as a website link. Similar options exist on other platforms, and if you have your own blog or website, you should easily be able to incorporate links to your Steem account and content.

If you are using Facebook, be aware that some people are reporting that Facebook appears to be burying Steemit content with their display algorithms. I'm not technical enough to understand what all this means, but I think it means that if Steemit links are posted directly through a page, that post may be lowered in priority for viewing, making it less seen by readers than your other content.

If you've gotten yourself a Steemshelf, this link is excellent for adding to your Facebook profile as a website and to other forums and social media. For those not familiar with the project, the idea is to allow you to create a bookshelf promoting your own best work, which simplifies the process for readers who want to look at your portfolio. If you are working on some sort of series or serial, you can create a subshelf that provides links to each segment in order. For an example, look at my own Misty Vale shelf. If I use this link to send a reader to Misty Vale, they get easy access to each segment in order and I can have the shelf updated when I release new segments. Also notice the bit at the bottom about other suggestions, which might help point my reader straight to the work of someone else, also hosted on Steem.

My Own Actions

I previously posted about thinking more about whether things I consider posting are worthy and making sure I add quality to the block chain. I'm trying to use more original art, even if it is customizations of creative commons art when I can't create something myself.

Yesterday I added my Steemshelf to my personal Facebook profile. I also added my Steem blog link. I've decided that instead of often reposting photographs I've shared on Steem on my Facebook account that I will focus on sharing the links instead.

When some of these topics were discussed on the Block earlier, I resurrected my long-neglected Twitter account. The book reviews I post on Goodreads are shared there automatically, but now I will work more on sharing and commenting on the great fiction and writing articles I find here. My Steem reading has replaced a lot of book reading, so only fair I work to share the great content with others.

I'm working with other members of The Writers' Block to expand the Block's social media presence. I believe we can gain more attention working together than working alone.

In the weeks ahead, I want to add more of my best stories to my Steemshelf and I'll be volunteering some time to help maintain the website. I believe it is a tool that can help fellow authors, whether of fiction or nonfiction, present their best work more efficiently, making it a sort of portfolio. I also want to work more on sharing great Steem posts to other platforms instead of just curating them either myself or through the programs I'm involved with.

I am trying to use my earnings to help power up my account, so I can better support other posters of quality content. A day will come when I need to withdraw some funds, but I hope I can continue to grow my investment in Steem, even if it is an investment of work and time instead of cash.

Finally, I plan to spend more energy trying to understand how the system works and learning more ways I can contribute instead of just gobbling up my slice of the rewards pool.


Please remember that these opinions are my own. Although I am inspired by conversation with Transisto and recent events, I am still communicating my own understanding and speaking only for myself. Please do not attribute my words to others. Also remember that I am not commenting on past events or implying approval or disapproval of the actions of others, but only focusing on ways in which I believe we can contribute moving forward.

Although I am a mod on The Writers' Block, this post is a statement only of my personal beliefs, which may not align with those of the organization or its other members. If you disagree with my statements here, remember that I am speaking only for myself and that no organization with which I am affiliated has any responsibility for my statements.

Sort:  

Great write up and awesome points on how we, as writers, can do what we can to grow both the community and the value of Steem/Steemit.

I agree but it can still be quite the grind for new users to steemit, especially those that are talented authors and generate great content. You arrive and start writing excellent articles, full of original content only to come to the realization that since you have know following the effort was not worth it in terms of exceptionally high quality content. It leads to to just create mediocre articles and comment, vote up etc. Until you can gain enough of a following that when you do put significant effort into a highly informative post that the pay off is worth it. I see a ton of fluff posts on here. One paragraph nonsense, simply designed to get an up vote here and there that actually has no digestible content.

@pawsdog

I totally agree and sympathise. I only joined in May so clearly recall the grind. It is tough to start, I will not lie.

It is recommended that new users comment more than post. This gets your name out there, especially if you provide constructive feedback. You WILL gain a following. Use your writing skills in comments rather than posts.

You can of course still post, just don't have too high expectations and treat them more as training for when you have a following. It WILL become easier over time.

Put yourself out there, engage with the community, join Discord groups - I recommend either PALnet https://discord.gg/6GGP38H - they offer a great resource for new members - or The Writers' Block https://discord.gg/8EgU8Dv - a community of writers and editors helping to polish works of fiction, poetry, screenwriting, technical writing and non-fiction - before they are published on Steemit.

Good luck.

WOW
Great information...I am a new user this information would be helpful to me hopefully thanks

Great article indeed; I am moving onto ways of improving money-making, but the lessons I learned with this read will not fade with time. :D Cheers!

Having just joined yesterday, I've yet to actually post anything myself. The recommendation of adding comments more than posting helps relieve this pressure of trying to hit the ground running with quality content. Being brand new not just to Steemit and mostly the blogging world in general, I've actually been enjoying just searching for quality content first. Getting a taste of what great content is first.

I think the grind can be somewhat more interesting in instance where your a niche writer as well as the audience lacks any appreciable volume. At current I will just keep commenting and be consistent on my daily market report and go from there. Apparently my niche contributions are of value as my reputation seems to be rising.. We shall see, but I do agree that consistency pays dividends. @pawsdog

I totally agree with this, even if you didn't get any upvote... just the people noticing your username can be achievement early on.

It is recommended that new users comment more than post. This gets your name out there, especially if you provide constructive feedback. You WILL gain a following. Use your writing skills in comments rather than posts.

Instead of trying only to focus on getting a bigger piece of the pie, focus on making the pie bigger, so your piece will also increase.
EXCELLENT point.
It's true in the microeconomic ecosystem of Steemit.
and true in the Macroeconomic system of the WORLD.
and every point in between

a rising tide lifts ALL boats

Well said sir!

All great suggestions.

I think one thing that is not talked about nearly enough each of us using our allotted 20% each day to upvote other people's work. This is a community and people like to be recognized. With all the discussions about low retention rates, that is a way to get it up. We all are allocated so much voting power, use it. That is what rewards others for their valuable contributions. It also serves to motivate them to write more.

To me, this is a fine way to grow the platform.

I tend to have the opposite problem--overvoting. But I have a companion article coming out tomorrow about improving the quality on Steem and some ideas for how we, as individuals, can contribute. One of those points is upvoting quality posts. If you have trouble finding enough stuff to upvote yourself, an option is to follow a curation trail or a human curator who goes after the type of quality you want to support.

I hear you...I have that same problem...many times I put myself in comment only mode because I blast through my allotted vote amount.

If you have trouble finding enough stuff to upvote yourself...

On here I rarely find that to be a problem...there is a ton of quality stuff that people post. It really is amazing. If one isnt finding quality stuff, he or she simply isnt looking.

Or perhaps he or she has a different definition of quality than you do? Or is looking in a different tag category that is so swollen with garbage that hours are wasted without finding things that aren't already hit by curie?

I always keep my voting power in check so I don't have this problem.... it's sad because voting someone in the morning means I can't vote for someone better at night if I used my 10 upvotes...

This is the perfect content for all steemians.We have to learn from your post.Thanks giving more valuable adding tips for us just makes us more active making the steemit content..Thank you so much.

You might want to get in the habit of considering it Steem content. I got the differentiation explained by a whale today. Steemit is just a single front-end. So unless you are talking about the UI, it's Steem. I found that information very useful.

Thanks for the great information! Having just signed up a few days ago this is incredibly helpfull!

Welcome to Steem. Check out the @minnowuniversity account that I also recommended to another new user. Lots coming there that I wish I knew when I began!

Great post Bex. Many talented folks out there with stories to tell. You've given a nice framework to follow. For those just starting it can seem daunting, but keep with it, socialize on the Discord channels, get involved and evangelize Steem and more will come on board. Our whole pie will grow.

what happens if i link a busy.org or chainbb link on fb? Does fb dump it too? interesting article

I honestly don't know. Someone would need to do some testing. If I understand all the stuff I heard properly, doing it as a private person doesn't impact anything--whether you use as steemit link or something else. The issue arises when you share a link as a page. For a long time, people with pages have been finding FB has a weird algorithm that determines how much your followers see the post... mostly intended to encourage us to "Boost" posts by paying for advertising. It sounds like if you have a link to Steemit, this increases the likelihood of your post not appearing or being buried in your followers' feeds.

you reminded me of how cheesy the fakebastards are... spot on!

good job, I'm new and I learned something reading you up!

It is important to learn a lot. I recommend you check out the @minnowuniversity. The account is just getting started, but the articles I've seen so far cover a lot of the stuff that I wanted to know when I was your size. I will be posting another article tomorrow myself. A companion of sorts to this one. You may find it useful as well.

Great post @bex-dk . Thanks for taking the time to write and edit it.

As a brand-new Steemian, I've found that just reading through a lot of content/comment threads and commenting/upvoting(always with intention) I'm learning so much valuable information that will help me when I start publishing content. I'm really glad I didn't start just rapid-fire re-steeming every post I came across and rapid-fire posting my own value-less posts just in the hopes that I'd "make money" from the upvotes. Sadly I've noticed a lot of this going on already :(

As for my own actions:

I'm still just trying to figure out what direction to take my blog in so as to not be adding to the noise. I'll do my best to make sure that I'm consistently adding value to the community through my future posts, comments and upvotes.

Take care,
DE

Very well written and some excellent advice within this post. People would be wise to take heed. Bringing in more readers is among the most important things we can do for this platform right now. If only there was a way to reward people for doing that, but I don't know how that could be achieved. I suppose we should all settle for increased steem value that would initially follow as the reward.

One thing is for certain, people not doing this will slow the growth of the platform, slow the growth of post payouts, and slow the growth of the wallets of every user on this site.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47