Sort:  

I agree but it can still be quite the grind for new users to steemit, especially those that are talented authors and generate great content. You arrive and start writing excellent articles, full of original content only to come to the realization that since you have know following the effort was not worth it in terms of exceptionally high quality content. It leads to to just create mediocre articles and comment, vote up etc. Until you can gain enough of a following that when you do put significant effort into a highly informative post that the pay off is worth it. I see a ton of fluff posts on here. One paragraph nonsense, simply designed to get an up vote here and there that actually has no digestible content.

@pawsdog

I totally agree and sympathise. I only joined in May so clearly recall the grind. It is tough to start, I will not lie.

It is recommended that new users comment more than post. This gets your name out there, especially if you provide constructive feedback. You WILL gain a following. Use your writing skills in comments rather than posts.

You can of course still post, just don't have too high expectations and treat them more as training for when you have a following. It WILL become easier over time.

Put yourself out there, engage with the community, join Discord groups - I recommend either PALnet https://discord.gg/6GGP38H - they offer a great resource for new members - or The Writers' Block https://discord.gg/8EgU8Dv - a community of writers and editors helping to polish works of fiction, poetry, screenwriting, technical writing and non-fiction - before they are published on Steemit.

Good luck.

WOW
Great information...I am a new user this information would be helpful to me hopefully thanks

Great article indeed; I am moving onto ways of improving money-making, but the lessons I learned with this read will not fade with time. :D Cheers!

Having just joined yesterday, I've yet to actually post anything myself. The recommendation of adding comments more than posting helps relieve this pressure of trying to hit the ground running with quality content. Being brand new not just to Steemit and mostly the blogging world in general, I've actually been enjoying just searching for quality content first. Getting a taste of what great content is first.

I think the grind can be somewhat more interesting in instance where your a niche writer as well as the audience lacks any appreciable volume. At current I will just keep commenting and be consistent on my daily market report and go from there. Apparently my niche contributions are of value as my reputation seems to be rising.. We shall see, but I do agree that consistency pays dividends. @pawsdog

I totally agree with this, even if you didn't get any upvote... just the people noticing your username can be achievement early on.

It is recommended that new users comment more than post. This gets your name out there, especially if you provide constructive feedback. You WILL gain a following. Use your writing skills in comments rather than posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42