Safe Spaces For Youth. Is steemit safe space for youth?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it.
Evelyn Beatrice Hall

Dear steemians,

I was thinking to write on this topic last week as we were celebrating International Youth Day 2018 with the theme Safe Space For Youth. Is steemit digital safe space for youth? I was just brainstorming to think about it and was looking for my answers. I knew many youths are freely expressing their opinion and their freedom of decision and choice was not interrupted by others here. Many of we don't agree with thinking and thought, but we still support his/her opinion.


source

On 12 August was International Youth Day 2018. The day was celebrated worldwide by youth leaders and youth organizations. Youths shared their opinion on how they want safe space for them both in degital and real life. In general, as I am more active on steemit, I was just thinking if I am safe on steemit to express my opinion? Here we have differnet niches and everyone has their unique followers list. My followers mostly like to see how I am working with my communities and if there is anything they can involve with with support.

On steemit, I was able to ensure my freedom of speech and find my potentiality.

On Steemit, I found a safe environment that can support and guide me to achieve my personal and organizational objectives. Also I am meeting with new opportunities and communities every day on steemit.

On Steemit, safe space means being myself and express myself without being judged just because I am sharing something different

On steemit, we can come together, interact and build up one another freely with confidence. I built a community organization on steemit @steemitbd which is focused on youth empowerment and run by youths. Steemit allows me to speak what comes in my mind freely without fear of being judged for who society thinks I am.

On steemit, we can share all our ideas in confidence and in order to build a more sustainable future.

On steemit, we can take part in social, political and economic development without leaving real-life space

Steemit is a platform where youths can join from different background, culture, religion, nations, races, could come together and engage, discuss and build peace.

A large number of the world population are youths and now it is time to bring them in the decision-making table so their voice can be heard to make the world more sustainable and secured. We have the capability to change our world and ensure peace. Let's ensure safe space for youths on steemit and help them to express themselves without fear and hesitation.

Read More about me and my projects


School For SDG4 is going to enjoy a holiday from tomorrow.

by @azizbd

Missing Royal Commonwealth Society 150th Anniversary.

by @azizbd

Cowfie Contest By @SteemitBD || 1 STEEM For Each Successful Entry By Bangladeshi Steemians

by @azizbd

Crowdfunding Campaign for Our Weekly Fruits Program || Part 25 ||

by @schoolforsdg4

Women Empowerment's Wallmate Order Progress

by @azizbd

My Friday with Women Empowerment ( 17 August 2018)

by @azizbd

Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 54

by @lindahas

Women Empowerment's Wallmate Order Progress

by @azizbd

Ashnara is leaving @WomenEmpowerment and Arman is leaving @SchoolForSDG4

by @azizbd

Opening Ceremony of New School Campus For Autistic Children

by @azizbd

N.B: By upvoting this post you are supporting me @Azizbd personally, not my charity @SchoolForSDG4

Please contact me @Azizbd for any information https://steem.chat/direct/azizbd .

Join @Adsactly Community


Adsactly is a Autonomous Decentralized Society Acting Cooperatively to Leverage You.

|| Twitter || Discord || Steemit ||

Sort:  

I think youth, and anyone really, can come here and share their different opinions. But there are no moderators here to remove harassing content that one person might post against someone else. Fortunately, most people here are nice, and treat others very well. They are willing to listen to all opinions and encourage others with positive feedback. So I think this is a good place for youth to be, but like the real world, it's not totally safe.

I am totally agree. I hope the new members will follow the trends and will have a nice social and community engagement here too. Most of the users are good here. Youths in conflict zone like in Sriya, face challanges more in real life and in Bangladesh, face challenges the Freedom of speech. The safety of youths, who express their well thoughts and speak against injustices, write agaisnt corruption and stand with peace should be protected. I am sure they can use steemit so no one can stop/erase them to express their positive opinions but supported.

I would say that internet became a public place, and just like a public place there are "safe" zones and not so safe. It's no different then letting your kids run around town by themselves. If you prepared them for the world out there, then they'll be fine for the most part; you know, the old "don't talk to strangers" routine, "look both ways before crossing the street". But on the other hand, it you're an ignorant person, busy with your carrier and hope that school or some other outside forces will fill the gap in preparing your child for the realities of the outside world, then you're asking for trouble and most likely the kid will get hurt or at the least get very confused. Oh and by the way, there is no such thing as "safe", it's an illusion, a construct created by people that lost touch with reality. The so called "safety" is very subjective, I can walk downtown most metropolis at 3am and I feel "safe", on the other hand, my paranoid friend, who pays WAY too much attention to sensationalist news, thinks that everyone is out to rape him. But in reality we're both just as "safe".
©Of course, it's just my opinion and I could be wrong :)

thanks for your nice response and there is of course risk of using internet by children. my focus was to mention if steemit is safe for youths who has enough undetanding what they are doing here or if these youths are stopped just because they share something different or have any other opinion. you are not wrong with what you have said. i hope we will able to safe our roads safe for women but over internet, it is hard to ensure such kind of virtual safety.

i hope we will able to safe our roads safe for women but over internet

That's kind of sexist, isn't it? If we're all equal, then anything that's save for men, should be safe for women. Unless you're implying that women are in some way or another "weaker" or more vulnerable, or something like that. But that would mean that men and women are not equal :)
©Of course, that's just my opinion and I could be wrong :)

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.
The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.
For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com/

The internet is not very good toy/babysitter in general, I don't think kids should have access to the internet, at least not alone. Maybe I am conservative but, well I see parents giving their babys ipads to play with...
I wouldn't do so...

Youth? Sure they have to learn about the internet, but the internet is not a very safe place, they should learn about safety first.

/FF

thanks for your nice response and there is of course risk of using internet by children. my focus was to mention if steemit is safe for youths ( age between 18-30) who has enough undetanding what they are doing here or if these youths are stopped just because they share something different or have any other opinion. you are not wrong with what you have said. it is hard to ensure such kind of virtual safety for children. thanks again for the nice comment

Steemit should be fairly safe for youths that age, but there are all kinds of articles and people here, NSFW-articles, phising-scams, alternative news, fake-news etc etc...

But if they learn about these things first and what not to do here, they should be fine, I believe this place is more wholesome then many other social-networking sites.

/FF

Please follow my page. Upvote my posts and comments please. Help each other. I'll do same for you. Your one support can change my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66263.69
ETH 3419.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63