Amazing...300 followers thank you Steemitizans! Crazy Japanese Candy Contest...

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Well, I'm flabbergasted! (Now there's a word I don't type often...) When I arrived, and opened my account on Steemit it lay dormant for a long time... before I finally posted around 22 June 2017. Even then it was with a great deal of trepidation and at the persistent urging of @krystle and @ausbitbank and the dire need for a new washing machine that I finally took the plunge...

Source

So while I may well get RSI and go blind from too much typing on Steemit it will be well worth it. I'm amazed that 300+ of you are crazy enough (no disrespect intended) to follow anything I have to write and I look forward to knocking out another tale or two over the next 30 days...

In the interim just to say a little tiny thank you I wanted to give away something that related to the bulk of my posts, which as most of my followers will know are predominantly Japan related... Now I didn't see a squid ink burger doing too well travelling via Australia Post (or via Japan Post either for that matter), so I went looking for something Japanese but food related that could handle the rigours of any 21st century postal service! (So something made of titanium but still totally tasty and digestible...) No problem!

Source

As always Japan did not let me down...the range of food (which can be posted) is plentiful and more importantly, the range of crazy, strange and even somewhat unbelieveable food stuffs is as bountiful as I recall from when I lived in country...

After due consideration, hours of eye strain on Google and quite a bit of mouth watering research, in a completely blatant, obvious and obsequious (boy haven't used any of those big words lately either) attempt to garner further followers and increase upvotes (or upgoats if your with teamaustralia) I thought I'd run a little 'thank you' contest...

Source

Also, I really did want to say 'thank you' to every last one of the 305 of you that have followed me thus far! You, brave, brave souls...

The Great 2017 Toilet and Washing Machine Candy Give Away Contest...

Yes folks, you read that correctly! Welcome to the great toilet and washing machine candy give away contest...

Who can resist candy (or as we say in Australia 'lollies') that is well also a ...toilet! Yes, these are toilet candies and their best friends are washing machine candies!? And wait for it, they fizz and pop too!!! (Just to clarify that was 'pop' not 'poop'... I mean c'mon, what more could you want in a candy...seriously!

Source

These little guys come in multiple colours have a bunch of expressions that defy explanation and there appears to be a back story that I cannot possibly explain to you without the use of at least two electronic translation devices and a native speaker well over the age of any child that should be eating these things! Hang on I eat these things... OK so not everyone has a poppin' candy problem like I do! That explains so much...

Source

So I will be giving away a quaint little selection of Japanese plumbing related candies (some combination of toilets and washers... eBay vendors change stock frequently so I'm not sure what exactly will be on offer in 7 days) to the contest winner as my weird way of saying thank you to all my wonderful followers for sticking around.

Source

Now to the methodology! Please tell me your strangest overseas/travel related fast food experience...before 24:00 hours Australian EST on 28 July 2017.

Source

I will select my favourite after some input from some other expats and then announce the winner ASAP after voting closes in a post on Steemit and also PM the winner to get address details to forward the toilet and washing machine goodies...via eBay at my cost anywhere worldwide.

Source

I am looking forward to hearing all your weird, wonderful and amazing fast food travel tales...thanks again for coming on this whacky journey with me and good luck to everyone! Happy flushing and rinse cycle...

Sort:  

Hey @aussiesteem. I finally got that toilet candy you sent me! Yeah I know - our post office system is terrible...
My wife and I tried it yesterday and it wasn't bad at all. I made a post about it here. I tagged you but Steemit doesn't seem to send notifications anymore. Anyway, I hope you get this and I just want to say thank you for going through all the trouble to get it to me :)

Oh my! I'm so glad it finally arrived and no I didn't get a notification...bummer. But thanks so much for letting me know. And no problem! I'll pop over know and check out the post. Have a good one and thanks again for checking out my blog. I hope to do a series on 'Toilet Humour' this year... So stay tuned lol

If you think so why don't you tell us why? And at least honor it with an upvote.

If you think the post is great, at least spend some time writing a great comment.
See this as a friendly advice as you could run into troubles being downvoted or flagged for spam.

Way to do pal! It is always fulfilling to hit milestones! :D
I feel disrespected! Hahaha
Oh damn I dont have a fast food experience overseas! Even though ive been traveling for a while fast food is expensive and not healthy enough for my meal plan (gotta get the most nutrients our of the less food I get, fast food is a no go for me :( )so i can´t be part of the contest...

Does quesadillas on the streets of Cuba count as fast food? haha

Read you around mate!

Aha... way, way back in Part 1 I fessed up to having the fast food because I was home sick and complained about just those things the price and the health issues...we are on the same page lol Thanks @anomadsoul!

Fizzing and popping toilet candy.... wow! The world can stop spinning now, we have all we need in life. I never would have imagined this one! So long as it's not my real bathroom toilet fizzing and popping, I guess all is right in the world. Thanks for sharing. My kids will love to see this!

Yep we don't get a lot of this down at our local supermarket! Thanks @denisechips...

Hey @denisechips...I was just reviewing your response and being the lawyer that I am I did word this with the intention of allowing domestic travellers to participate too... so your fast food experience can be "overseas/travel related" so the travel does not have to be overseas! So hope you've had a weird experience in the drive thru lol... Would love to see the kiddies slurping fizzy stuff from a toilet and washing machine! lol

Toilet candy? Now I really have seen everything. Where the hell did you find those washing machine lollies?? Talk about "down the rabbit hole". Lol Worst fast food experience. It's going to be a toss up between seeing that Maccas burger in your fridge after several weeks (months?) with lettuce that still looked as crisp as the day it was bought and a bun that had zero visible mould (which sounds great until you realize the rest of the apartment was actually constructed from mould) or being served a basket of freshly fried prawn heads...

Yeah @thinknzombie I'm goin' with the fried prawn heads I had to eat a plate or 2 of those! Crunchy! Yet there are social situations in Japan where you just have to do what you have to do! The burger I was able to pick up with tongs, consider how much radiation was in that lettuce and move on...

Toilet candy? Well now it's decided. My wife and I are going to Japan! We're trying to decide where to go teach English next year and I think this just sealed the deal!

Strangest fast food? There was that time in Thailand when me and a mate snacked on some deep fried grasshoppers. They tasted like onion rings. The legs were especially crunchy.

Or the time my brother and I were in Malawi and we bought some chips (what the Yanks call fries) from an enterprising young chap at the side of the road. They were delicious but we later found out that more often than not it isn't vegetable oil that they are fried in but most likely some sort of automotive lubricant. Now I don't know if it's true but this is what we were told by a couple of expats living in Blantyre.

Absolutely I can recommend Japan for teaching English...OMG grasshoppers! I had bat in Vanuatu that was interesting... Bit worried about the auto lubricant though, hope your digestive system is holding up OK.

They had roaches as well but they looked boiled and not at all appetizing... We weren't THAT drunk. Later on, on the same trip I had a snake curry in the hills around Chiang Mai but it doesn't really count as fast food. Hottest curry I've ever had, also very chewy.
We both survived the Malawi trip in good health and it's been 8 years without any complications so I think we're good!
Bat does sound interesting... I heard they do giant fried spiders in Vietnam that I'd like to try. Doubt the Mrs will though...

Sure you weren't THAT drunk lol... and glad to hear your still digesting... Funny you should mention the spiders in Vietnam someone posted on this but I was scrolling and couldn't find my way back to it...I'm with the Mrs!

Bleh. Lightweights. I'd try it. Why not? If nothing else it's a great story: "There was this one time in Vietnam when..."

Strangest thing I've ever eaten was probably a goat's eye. A mate and I went to a restaurant in Pretoria where we had goat's head stew. Isi-ewu I think it was called. Billed as a Nigerian delicacy. It was pretty good. Especially the cheeks. The eye was just... chewy... Plus you're pretty much just thinking, "I'm eating an eye... I'm eating an eye..."

Yep...I can't imagine you would be thinking about anything else OMG chewy...LMFAO!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56