You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #14: Wild Mushrooms All The Way! - Fomitopsis Tea, Roasted Chanterelles, Deep-fried Elfin Saddles, with Candied Witches Butter and Cats Tongues!

This looks so good. I am sure the forest here houses yummy mushrooms too but mushrooms is not a thing here it seems. they only sell one variety on the market and it tastes like nothing :( As always a beautiful post and I hope we can go on a foraging trip together one day. So much to learn from you ;)

Sort:  

Thanks, @amy-goodrich! I wonder what edible mushrooms are lurking in your tropical forests, too! But I don't have a clue. It would be quite challenge, I think. But some are world-wide mushrooms, too, and those might be in your area, too. I'll have to post about a couple of those.

That would be nice. The only thing, Cambodia has very dense forests, jungles and we always have to be careful with mines and cluster bombs which limits foraging in the wild ... haven't seen any mushrooms on our new land so far.... but then the rainy season ended and mushrooms love moist right?

I had fogotten about the mines and cluster bombs. That changes so much, and I bet is still a problem for farmers, too. Here's to peace. And it will be fun to see any of the mushrooms that pop up at your place. Some kinds are surprising about when they emerge. Bracket fungus and some others seem to tap into moisture from the trees, even when it's dry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60994.68
ETH 2938.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46