Steemit Iron Chef 2017 #02: Autumn Colours on a PlatesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit-ironchef7 years ago (edited)

Filled Pecan Carrot Cake, Carrot-Mango-Citrus Curd, Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip, Candied Carrots, Homemade Carrot Crisps, and Whole Pecans.

You guessed it...

This week’s product is…

Carrots!

I’m so glad I was able to get everything down on one plate!

main pic.png

DISH NAME (Dessert)

Autumn Colours on a Plate

IMG-20170911-WA0011.jpg

Autumn is high season for carrots, and it’s right around the corner here in Germany!! There are five main components on the plate depicting the colours of fall -- the beautiful yellow and orangey-brown shades of autumn leaves. Even in the dead of autumn, you still see snippets of greenery around, so I added two thin blades of green baby chives in the garnish.

Component #1: Filled Pecan Carrot Cake

Our star of the dish is a single-portion-serving carrot cake that is studded with chopped pecans and filled with a Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip. The cake is delicious — very moist, light, an array of textures from the nuts and shredded carrots and a faint citrusy aroma provided by the orange zest.

IMG-20170911-WA0030.jpg

Ingredients Used in the Pecan Carrot Cakes

Plain white flour
Brown sugar
White sugar
Baking soda
Ground cinnamon
Ground clove
Ground nutmeg
Ground vanilla bean
Sea salt
Chicken eggs
Extra virgin olive oil
Apple sauce
Grated orange carrots
Chopped pecans

IMG-20170911-WA0014.jpg

How to Make the Pecan Carrot Cakes

Preheat oven to 180°C. Grease and flour ramekins.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugars, baking soda, spices, and salt. Add eggs, apple sauce, and olive oil and whisk till combined. Stir in carrots and pecans (use a spoon or fork, the chopped nuts like to get trapped in the whisk).

Spoon mixture into ramekins and bake till set (25 min). Remove from oven and cool (5 min). Remove from ramekin and allow to cool completely.

IMG-20170911-WA0024.jpg

Once my carrot cakes were cool, I used a wooden chopstick to poke out a hole in the bottom so I could pipe in some Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip (see *Component #3).

IMG-20170911-WA0023.jpg

Component #2: Carrot-Mango-Citrus Curd

A fruity blend of pureed ripe mango, orange carrots, lime zest, and orange juice, it's no wonder that this curd is rich in flavour, creamy, and refreshing. I couldn't stop licking the bowl after I'd transferred the contents into the saucepan. Mmmm

Ingredients Used in Carrot-Mango-Citrus Curd

Large ripe mango, peeled and deseeded
Orange carrots, chopped
Fresh orange juice
Fresh lime juice
Lime zest
Ground vanilla bean
Sea salt
White sugar
Egg yolks
Unsalted butter, cut into small pieces

IMG-20170911-WA0015.jpg

How to Make the Carrot-Mango-Citrus Curd

Puree mango, carrot, lime juice, orange juice, lime zest, vanilla bean, and salt in a blender until smooth. Put water in a saucepan and rest a bowl in the saucepan (bottom of bowl should not touch the water). Whisk sugar and egg yolks on medium high heat in this makeshift double-boiler. Add butter and whisk till smooth.

Add pureed fruits and mix to combine. Remove bowl from 'double boiler', pour out water in the saucepan, and replace it with the semi-cooked curd. Cook over medium heat, whisking constantly, until curd thickens and whisk leaves a visible trail (do not let it boil).

Remove from heat and strain curd through a fine-mesh sieve. Cover, pressing plastic wrap directly onto surface. Chill until cold (1 hour).

IMG-20170911-WA0026.jpg

Component #3: Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip

Cream cheese frosting is a standard icing for carrot cakes. Adding mascarpone brings the texture up one notch, resulting in a luxurious decadent whip that is as creamy as whipped cream, but with full-bodied feel in the mouth.

Ingredients Used in Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip

Cream cheese
Mascarpone cheese
Cream cheese
Icing sugar
Vanilla extract
Ground nutmeg

Note: The photo shows butter as well, but I didn't add the butter because I was already too happy with my taste test.

IMG-20170911-WA0016.jpg

How to Make the Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip

Using a spoon, whip all ingredients together by hand till light and fluffy.

IMG-20170911-WA0027.jpg

Component #4: Candied Carrots

When you get your hands on yellow and purple-exterior carrots, it's a pity not to make something that showcases their natural beauty. I cut cross-sections, juliennes and two hearts and made some candied carrots with them.

Ingredients Used in the Candied Carrots
Olive oil spray
Coloured carrots, peeled and julienned
Water
Brown sugar

IMG-20170911-WA0013.jpg

How to Make the Candied Carrots

Preheat oven to 120°C. Bring water and brown sugar to a boil. Add julienned carrots, lower heat, and simmer (15 mins).

Drain carrots. Spread evenly apart on a baking sheet (I used a plate because I ran out of baking sheets) and bake for 30 mins.

IMG-20170911-WA0025.jpg

When I removed the candied carrots from the oven, I tried to curl them by wrapping them around wooden chopsticks. My candied carrots reminded me of licorice. The result was not quite what I had in mind, but it was still fun to do. =D

IMG-20170911-WA0029.jpg

Component #5: Homemade Carrot Crisps

I wanted to add in homemade carrot chips to add a little crunch to the dessert. Did you know that carrot chips crinkle up and shrink as you bake them, resulting in beautiful flowers? Now, I do!! This was a cool natural addition of 'flowers' to my dish! =D

Ingredients Used in Homemade Carrot Crisps

Carrots, peeled and thinly sliced
Olive oil spray
Sea salt

How to Make the Homemade Carrot Crisps

Heat the oven to 180°C. Gently coat carrot slices with oil and salt using your hands.

Lay carrot slices in a single layer on a baking sheet (I used an oiled plate because I had no baking sheet). Bake till carrot chips crinkle into pretty flowers and the edges start to brown (about 10 min). Place the chips on a wire rack and allow to cool till crisp.

IMG-20170911-WA0028.jpg

Design the Plate

I assembled all the little components around the plate before starting to plate. I was a little nervous to begin. hehe

IMG-20170911-WA0017.jpg

What are we waiting for?? Let's go!!

Spread a strip of Carrot Mango Lime Curd on the plate. Arrange Candied Carrots, Homemade Carrot Crisps, and Whole Pecans on top of and skirting the smear. Add a slice of fresh mango to support the cake, then balance the cake on it. Carefully slide a Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip Quenelle onto the curd and top with Homemade Carrot Crisps. Pipe more Mascarpone Cream Cheese Whip wherever seems like a good place to do so and top with the Carrot Flowers.

IMG-20170911-WA0012.jpg

Finally place two thin chive blades to signify the transition from summer into autumn.

IMG-20170911-WA0018.jpg

I cut the carrot cake in half to show the filling. Yumm.
IMG-20170911-WA0022.jpg

If you enjoy experimenting with cooking, I don’t think it’s too late to join me in 'Steemit Iron Chef Contest' too! Our talented and encouraging chef from Mauritius @progressivechef organises this contest. He is also this week’s Guest Judge of the Steemit Culinary Challenge — meaning he will be all stretched out judging food entries spanning two contests this week!!! Let’s test his limits, shall we? =P

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropAhead Curation Team!
Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead witness account of the dropAhead curation team!

Watch out for the #xx-votesplus tag!

Do you want more earnings?

By doing the above you will give us more STEEM POWER (SP) to give YOU more earnings next time.

Keep up the good work!


Most recent post: Moving #25_votes_plus to Discord

I would love to eat this dessert! It is such an incredible fusion dessert! My family is spread between Thailand and America and so is this dessert. Carrot cake and pecans and the mango/lime filling! This is perfection! Love it!

Thanks @chefsteve! You're so right in saying that this dish is spread between Thailand and America. =P I didn't think of it that way, but now that you've said it, it's very fitting! :) Wish you could have had a slice..but then, I'm sure you could easily make a similar or even better dessert for your next family gathering =D

Ohh wow! This is going to be hard to beat... hehe. Good luck ;)

Thanks dear =) All you fellow contestants create just as mind-blowing entries..gotta keep up! =PP

Where's your entry for Round 2?? Don't forget to make it!! =)

Hehe... made my entry yesterday... life is getting so busy right now.

Hey my friend come on...it's time for you to reveal your true identity! You must be surely a master chef hiding behind this name!
Man...what an entry again! I see that you invest so much time and passion in the contest since day 1! You undergo so many tasks and realize a wonderful final plate!
Wonderful declination of the carrots, beautiful!
@progressivechef

hehe oh, I wish!! I'm normally a very messy cook and eater, really..never actually done any plating of this sort, so this is really new for me!! I was marvelling to myself how these contests stretch me in ways I'd never thought would happen!! It's really an amazing opportunity that we Steemians have access to, that other blogging platforms may not enjoy..

Btw, this plate took me the better part of 5 hours for me to make (I'm slow, I know)!! My father-in-law commented that I'd spent half the day cooking for just one plate of food =DD

Wooooh @foodie.warrior this is too much...

hehe I spent a long time making this dish, that's for sure! But it was fun and satisfying to see the end product! And, of course, to eat!!! =D

Wowzer

Now lemme think super hard to veganize this! 😅😅😅😅😅

hehe maybe soy yogurt and cream cheese for the Whip..I'm not sure what might substitute the eggs though..a soft tofu curd? hehe

There are egg subs commercially, but I don't it would work for your wonderful recipe

Sometimes for egg subs I use flax seed, aquafaba etc

I will have to do some experiments 😁

Not my kind of carrot cake normally 😎 but for dessert i will gladly have this.

hahaha I did think about making Singaporean-style carrot cake..but I couldn't think of a way to plate it nicely =DD

I love the carrot cake from Cedele..it's The Mann's favourite cake (and he's not a sweet-tooth)..he said that the carrot cake and mascarpone cream cheese whip eaten together tasted very much like Cedele's..that made my night!! =D

delicious recype. Thanks for shared!

Thanks @kinimusic26! Have a good day! :)

Yumm! Looks delicious!

Thanks @offoodandart! =) It was a yummy dessert hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68905.09
ETH 3808.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48