4 Reasons why Steemit Users Write Comments!

in #steemhelp7 years ago

Comments are one of the most important (and least appreciated) parts of the Steemit.

In this post, I will share 4 reasons why Steemit users write comments, as well as discuss the short-term and long-term benefits of writing comments.

Seeking Acknowledgement


Steemit is a crowded space, and we all are fighting for the attention of others. We understand that Steemit is an opportunity to be heard. It is a platform to share our thoughts, experiences, and knowledge. So naturally most of us want to become prolific bloggers with countless followers and a growing influence.

But new users soon realize that finding success on Steemit requires time and effort.

  • It can be discouraging to spend hours crafting a quality post and then feel like your voice is not being heard.
  • And for those of us that are still new to blogging, we need more opportunities to improve our writing skills.

So what is the answer to these classic Steemit dilemas? COMMENTS!

A well -written comment is your way of finding a voice in our community. It is a way for you to been seen and acknowledged.
A good comment is ...

  • engaging and thoughtful
  • proves that the reader understands the posts
  • seeks to serve, not be served

But a bad comment can paint a negative picture. A bad comment is ...

  • spammy and self serving
  • generic one-liners
  • asking for follows and upvotes

Don't neglect the power of the comment as you start your journey. You may find that an engaging comment to the right person, at the right time, could launch Steemit journey.

Building Community

You may want to be seen and acknowledged when you first arrive, but you will find that community is what keeps you Steeming (especially when times get tough).

I have favorite blogs here on Steemit. And my most favorite tend not to be chosen based on the information shared, but because of the person who is sharing. Some of my favorite Steemians took the time to reply to my comments, and when I found a blogger who cared I was hooked.

They made me feel welcomed. They made me feel apart of the community and a part of something bigger than myself.

Posts are great, but engagement happens in the comment and the replies. When you have nothing else to say, add value by interacting with a post that someone else has written.

Comment! Reply! Build community!

blockchain-3019120_640.png

Growing Resources

A lot of people came to Steemit because of the opportunity to earn money. But honestly, most of us are gonna have to work hard to make it big (or even little) here. The resources we gain from the Steemit community are not purely financial. We also gain knowledge, friendship, and community.

Let your comments be a way to ...

  • gain more clarification
  • grow deeper relationships through meaningful dialogue
  • add value that helps others

Don't minimize how important comments are to your growth (both socially and financially) on Steemit.

In the early stage of your Steemit journey, do forgot that you might earn more through comments than you do from your posts. And that is perfectly OK! Actually it is a smart philosophy.

Focusing on comments first helps you not get the cart before the horse.

  • 100 Posts + No Followers = Little Earnings
  • 1 Posts + 100 Followers = Some Earnings
  • Many Comments -> Many Followers -> More Earnings

Giving Back

Comments are not just a way to receive, but even more importantly a way to give back!

Find people who inspire you on Steemit and become like those people. Invest in others who are newer on the journey, and let your Steemit heroes become examples of who you want to become.

I am continually amazed by the generosity I have seen by many members of the Steemit community. Their selfless actions are both inspiring and meaningful. Steemit gives us an opportunity to make a difference in this world. And that difference starts with our words.

A thoughtful comment can make someone's day, and it could change the course of their life.

Give back! Make a difference! Change your life and the lives of others with your words!

Your Turn


Let continue the conversation in the comments section. Feel free to answer any or all of the following.

  1. Tell us about a time when you received a meaningful comment on Steemit.
  2. Do you feel that you spend enough time focusing on comments?
  3. Which of the 4 reasons mentioned in this post connect the most with you?
  4. How do you feel when you receive a kind, thoughtful comment?

I look forward to hearing from you.

@sumatranate


Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/blockchain-block-chain-technology-3019120

Sort:  

I definitely post comments to show people who's work I've enjoyed that there is someone out there reading it. As you say, it's about extending a sense of community. I like to think that over time, the relationships you build with those people will help expose both their and your well crafted posts to a broader audience, so why not comment right?

Thanks for the post ;)

@holothewise, I completely agree. When we start reaching out to others, our own network begins to grow (in ways we often did not expect). Thanks for the comment about comments.

I appreciate you stopping by!

Hello @sumatranate,

Yah steemit is a social media and so you need to be free with people so, Comments are very important on steemit, because it makes you get free with people, especially if they are strangers.

For me also commenting has made me earn a lot though i still like posting.

@yaanivapeji, you are correct. Comments help us to get to know people.

And sometimes when we add value to someone, our comments help us earn as well.

@sumatranate a very well written article on an interesting subject. I think that comments are a fantastic way for followers to give constructive feedback and for users to tailor and improve their content. Always great to receive a kind comment though!

@kuranrati, I always appreciate it when people comment too :)

Thanks for your kind words and encouragement. Comments are both a way to receive and to give. So wonderful!

Solid post, as usual. One of the main attractors for me to Steemit has been the community engagement. Receiving comments back here is significantly different than other platforms because people seem to show a deeper appreciation for your content and they engage in a deeper way with well thought out contributions. Glad to be back and I hope all has been well!

@freemrktfarmer, welcome back. I took a 2 month break too, but am glad to be back in the community.

The comment engagement is much greater than other platforms. Totally agree! Seems like when you find people on Steemit that you connect with, you really connect.

Well, this article show us a very good topic. I'm quite new here, but I start to understand how it works.

I think that not only the comments are important, but the post are equally important. Look at this, example, if you only have post with pictures/videos and no content, you just can give a standard comment like "Great job", "nice picture", and others. But, if you have content (like this post) you can give your opinion and start a discussion where both sides get knowledge. So, I believe that to get good comments you need to have good posts, in order to be a win-win.

@criptomaster, thanks for commenting on this post. It is exciting for me to hear that you are starting to understand the basic parts of Steemit. It can be very challenging when you first join our community.

Posts are very important, but a lot of new users are not ready to write posts, so comments are a great place to start.

I completely agree with the following statement

I believe that to get good comments you need to have good posts, in order to be a win-win.

This is an excellent observation. I hope to continue to write quality posts so that you feel comfortable sharing your opinions and so that we can continue our discussion.

Thanks for this reply!
Additional, another observation that I made is that is easier comment than write quality content!

Best Regards :D

As i heard about steemit this seems to me a plateform of earning. But soon i realise that it is not so easy. When i spend some time on steemit i realise that it provide us knowledge and an exposure to present world about all areas.
Comment are piller for start a conversation and sharing of knowledge.
This post gives me an idea to improve my blogging.
Thank you @sumatranate

@irrahul, you are correct. It takes time and effort to earn on Steemit. But while we are waiting to earn we can continue to

  • grow
  • learn
  • and meet new people

Keep up the hard work. Keep on Steeming!

Commenting is great for building relationships with people who have an interest in the same kind of content as you. If you're interested in cryptocurrency, you're going to have a much easier time than if you're into numismatics.

@penston, you bring up a great point. I rarely write comments on articles that are not interesting to me. It is too difficult!

I prefer to find blogs that share topics I am interested in and/or find bloggers who are very interactive. That way I enjoy writing comments.

I always try to write comments that give some indication that I’ve read the content, too. I suspect that there are a number of bots that say “great post”, etc. just so they can collect rewards and then the author upvotes them.

Since I am a minnow, I value the comments I receive and Ias always I am very thankful that my post was noticed. What I love to do here on Steemit is read post and articles and share my idea on the post and I am always thankful for Steemians/Whales/Dolphins who appreciate the comments I gave.
I totally agree with you that we want to be appreciated and somehow gain friendship as well.
Thank you @sumatranate for this very informative post. Resteemed!

@leahlei, thanks for stopping by. I am the same as you. It is nice when people write thoughtful comments.

Thanks for the resteem. Looking froward to connecting more in the future.

Well written article :)

This post has received a 0.24 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51