#steemgigs: I want a new "home" interface, with categories I can create to put users and tags insteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemgigs7 years ago

I just found #steemgigs! I've been discussing features that I'd like to see with others, for several weeks. One major pain point for me with the Steemit website is that when I click the "home" link, I'm overwhelmed. So much so, that I made a post about it a month ago.

Perhaps I've followed too many people, but I don't want to unfollow or mute anyone, merely as a means to find those I want to see more easily.

Extend the five links with user-created categories

Right now as I'm typing this, I see just under "Steemit beta" a list of links, "home new hot trending promoted". I would like a sixth link after that, with a box around it to indicate it's different, labelled "create".

Click that, and the user is given two fields: one to name the new category (normal single-line text field), and one to specify what goes in it. The second field will be a full text field. Now, since tags and usernames can't have spaces in them, it doesn't have to be "one entry per line", they can be separated by any whitespace, so keep that in mind when writing the parsing algorithm. Also, the category name can have spaces in it, in fact can have any characters, since it's just something the user enters in order to remember what's in it.

For instance, I'd want a category for my wife, so I would put this text in both fields: "@countrylover". There are several people I follow who help others with their gardens, so for that one I'd use something like "garden helpers" and for the second field, "@grow-pro @aunt-deb @bchick" etc; or:

"@grow-pro
@aunt-deb
@bchick" etc.

Once the category is created, it'd be added before the "create" button. So, for instance, with the above two additions, I'd end up with "home new hot trending promoted @countrylover 'garden helpers'" -- I put single quotes around the one with a space in it, but they're separated by something like 5 spaces in the display, so it'd still look good in the interface.

Each category should have a number next to it

That number should indicate the number of posts that were created since the last time I clicked that link. The number could be in a circle, similar to one's reputation score in a comment header:

libertyteeth large.png

Other pre-defined categories:

  1. "Number of comments to me by follower" -- a way of seeing who is most interactive with me, and continuing that.
  2. "Frequency of comments to me by follower" -- similar to the above, but the number would be calculated such that someone who commented to me twice yesterday would be higher than someone who commented once, even if those were the first commenter's only comments to me (i.e., so they'd be at the end of the above list).
  3. "Total upvotes given to me by follower" -- similar to number of comments.
  4. "Frequency of upvotes given to me by follower" -- similar to frequency of comments.
  5. "Total resteems" and
  6. "Frequency of resteems", just like the above pairs.

Technologies? I don't know!

Now, I don't know exactly which technologies will be required to make this happen. I would like the result to be open source, that way anybody can make use of it, and there won't be any ownership questions in case others combine their funds with me (not sure whether #steemgigs has a provision for that; seems like it'd be useful).

Will this require a full steem node? I don't think so. I've looked at the steempython tutorial but alas, am recovering from concussions and can't write code (hopefully, temporarily) -- but when I found #steemgigs, I realized that I can pay someone else to write code for me! :)

Anyway, from the look I gave the steempython tutorial, I saw that it could download the blockchain with a fairly short program. And, while running it wouldn't need to have the entire blockchain saved to disk -- only since the last time it checked. It could even, when it starts up, only look back a week in time to get the initial "circled" numbers -- thus, never needing a large portion of the blockchain. Once it calculates new numbers, it could then discard the beginning portion of the blockchain -- meaning, we'd want to save it in separate files or something so that operation is easier (because normally, deleting something from the beginning of a file means writing out the entire rest-of-the-file, which could take a lot longer).

Local implementation?

With that in mind, would it be possible to make a local implementation, so that users can run a script on their machines which is constantly gathering from the blockchain, and updating what they'd see?

It's also possible that this should be implemented at http://steemit.com instead of as a plugin or something.

If it's a plugin, I'd want it to be widely-accessible, in other words, not only for Firefox. I've heard of greasemonkey and tampermonkey, not sure if those are cross-platform or not.

Server implementation?

Another way to do it would be to have a server, which is configured with the users to watch, and it'd update its database, and then the local implementation would pull from there, rather than pulling from the blockchain. This might reduce the total amount of blockchain download -- in other words, it only downloads it to the server, and then shares a tiny subset of it with each local implementation.

What should this cost?

I don't know; this is my first #steemgigs post, and I haven't bought code before.

I'm willing to spend 50 SBD on it right now. If you can do it for that price, let's talk. If you think it'll take more, let's also talk. And if you like this idea and want to aggregate your funds with my funds, leave a comment as well! :)


Sort:  

Oh boy, you sort of make me laugh with your concussion talk. You are so far over my head on this I feel like I have the concussion lol! I will try to check out steemgigs, I am a little afraid I may get lost and never find my way home again... the internet is BIG! I do agree that custom tags would be good, I feel the same way. I have 3 actual friends on here (including you) and apparently I have been missing most of what you all post. a "personal favorites" kind of thing would help a lot.

This should help: when you write a post and include a hashtag and a name, like #steemgigs, it turns it into a link you can click on, and then see all the posts which included the tag "steemgigs". Neat, huh?

So, you don't need to wander off into the Internet -- just click that link in my comment and you'll see the posts. Or open it in a new tab and getting back to where you were is even easier! :)

Thanks for your kind words. I did a lot in my software career and can still remember how to describe things -- but, doing the actual work escapes me. Writing, gardening and now digitally painting; hopefully I'll recover quickly but this most recent one was 6 months ago and I hadn't healed from the second one, which was more than a year and a half prior.

I'm glad you see the humor behind what I write though! Seriously, I tend (without really trying, lol) to put humor in almost everything I say, or write. Comes from the extra neurons I got to play with since the left eye didn't work. That also makes me pass the neuro-psych eval tests with flying colors, although if they asked me to do a programming task, they'd see the issue.

But instead they use the same damned script as the previous doctor used, they only have two freaking stories in existence? One about a lady who was robbed and went to the police and they took up donations for her; the second about a man watching TV, sees it's gonna thunderstorm, decides to stay in. I told her I had already been exposed to these, but she couldn't even be bothered to grab a different book. I can't believe that's the only one she has! And thus denied for SSD. I get a second chance, which will also be rejected (the attorneys say), and then I'll get a hearing which generally is granted.

I realize they're fighting fraud, but it still hurts. Like after the first concussion, I had to get an attorney to get the short-term disability company to pay my benefits! Meaning of course I had to throw 1/3 of those benefits away (i.e., pay the attorney). At least the second time I was out of work, the company did right by me.

Anyway, hope you're recovered from the wedding! Take care! :)

Thank you! That is cool!
That is messed up about the SSD, though. It is a little like the way rape victims are treated... Well, what did you do to DESERVE to get injured...? I am sorry they are hassling you, hope it goes through for you reasonably quickly. When I was saying "It is a drug reaction! Someone help me!" They said I was crazy as fuck and put me on disability ASAP, no hearings, no follow up, permanently and totally nuts. That is what happens if you say it is Pharma's fault. If you can figure out how to work that in, maybe it would help - lol!

Ouch again about the rape as well. At least they're not accusing me of taunting that construction vehicle (or the second, the board; or the third, the door frame). That's just messed up and, again, I want a better future for the both of us than we've had in the past.

So I actually did figure out what steemgigs is about, and that is awesome! And I will help chip in for funding but you might have to take me by the cyberhand and teach me how to do it - lol! So far the only way I know to reward someone is by writing tip!

Certainly! Go to the "Wallet" link (click your profile in the upper right, and it's one of the menu items). Then to the right of "STEEM DOLLARS", there's a dollar amount and then a downward-pointing triangle. Click the triangle to get a menu which includes "Transfer"; select that, and it'll look like this except with your username in the "From" field (and your balance):

Steemit transfer dialog, 2017-09-02 Sat.png

Just enter the user you want to send it to, and the amount, then click Send and you're done! (Well, you'll have to log in again, since it's moving real money around.)

Also note that I've temporarily stopped upvoting everyone's comments (I tend to do a 5% upvote for anybody who replied to one of my posts, unless it's negative; and a 100% upvote for my close friends including you, and also to rather helpful posts and comments), as I mentioned here, because I want to do another "story giveaway" which was a lot more fun than the work I needed to do to verify people had upvoted, resteemed, etc. :)

Awesome! I look forward to your next "thing." Working up my courage to try doing my own "thing" soon!

Well those jerks are involved. They kept prescribing me different forms of, my term, "suicide pills", none of which helped. I'm glad I've rejected them all and agree with my doctor that "time" is what's needed.

Perhaps they caused it to be worse. But, there aren't any interactions at the moment, so I likely won't be able to work that in. Thanks though, I remember you telling your experience years ago, and I am so sorry for what you went through.

But then again, I wouldn't be me, and you wouldn't be you, without those things that we went through! :)

True. And that is what forced me to get serious about eating right, living a healthier lifestyle. In the end they may have added years to my lifespan! Glad you are not on the suicide pills, lost a brother this spring to them. He shot himself in the head, and of course the fact that he was on "anti-depressants" is just glossed over.

Oh my God, I'm so sorry to hear! My father lost a younger brother several years ago, and I lost a cousin to cancer this past May -- my first younger relative to pass. Really motivates one to reflect...

I've got this psoriasis on my face and scalp. I posted about it a while ago, and got some good suggestions; one was this Chinese cream which has cleared up my face, but my scalp is still flaking.

I can make snow pictures like Ally Sheedy's character in "The Breakfast Club"! :) or :/ ...

I've tried coconut oil, and neem oil mixed into it once (nasty smell), and also have a 3% salicylic acid shampoo.

Do you have any suggestions? I know this is an odd conversation to be carrying out on a "feature request" post. :)

Well, you already got used to stinky so here goes: I would use baking soda scrubs, just a teaspoon or so mixed into 1/2 cup of water, then scrub like it was shampoo and rinse. Then take about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, water it down a little and rub it in, leave it set for a minute or two vefore rinsing.
Then take that coconut oil and put it inside you. 3 tablespoons a day is supposed to improve cognitive function, it has helped me and I know Ron put Carol Paul on it. It also ensures you are getting enough high quality fats to produce healthy oils for your hair follicles.
Thanks for the kind words about my brother. He battled depression his entire life, he would never do what I did (mushrooms) because he was a "good guy" and took what the doctor ordered. And alcohol. Lots of alcohol. He made it to 70, that is pretty good. Still breaks my heart to see his kids and grandkids try to juggle that sense of loss of a dearly loved and and that anger for what he did. They are doing well, no one is actively angry but one cannot help but feel it among the tidal wave of emotions.
It is so fun having you to chat with again. HUGS!!!

I agree very strongly with your last paragraph! :)

Yesterday and the day before, I followed your instructions. How often should I be doing this? More than once a day? It seemed to help the first day, and a little less yesterday, but now my scalp is back to flaking everywhere... :(

Also I had a spoon of coconut oil three days ago in the morning, and another in the afternoon. So, two days ago I decided to increase, and had a spoon in the morning, and another an hour or so later. It went right through me, and I couldn't leave the house all day -- so, there's a happy medium to coconut oil consumption, for me at least.

Yesterday I had a small spoonful with no ill effects, and today one in the morning, and another just now.

I think mushrooms should have far more investigation, I've read about them helping many people. It would just be completely shocking to me, my siblings and their children (and my mom!) if my dad were to do that. I'm glad to hear they're coping. Take care!

great idea ,it will be cool.

if there is an option to see who is more active that would be the best

I think steemit is a work in progress. They will come to that at some point. But am sure you want it fast?

Well I figure if I can help add value, then we can get more people on board! :)

Yes. It is a good idea you have here. I wish it sees the light of day.

very nice post @libertyteeth, you gave very nice suggestions and i hope you will get your required developments soon, i really like your other pre-define categories that's something really needs to be created and it's also benefits the whole steemit community, thank you very much for sharing.

You're welcome, I hope to interact with developers who can make my vision a reality. Cheers!

Hey @libertyteeth you name it. Im here for not very long and I have the same issues organizing. There should be favorites, bookmarks, custom auto filters.
The standard steemit webpage does not allow good filtering.
I also recently unfollowed some ppl because they resteemed tons of articles.
And I started using python to process steem api.
I made some small scripts, its actually pretty easy to access. But the problem comes here. If u want to share that functionality u cab reach only very limited ppl with python scripts. Sure u can host it somewhere e.g. herokuapp but the main thing is that the steemit page should provide more functionality. Theres too many external tools already.
Once ive found a post here with github link to steemit devs. But ive not had the time to look into it and check their technology stack.
J

Yes, I agree that it'd be better to be built-in to Steemit.com rather than be an external tool. Is Steemit.com open source -- is it something I could pay someone to write code for? That'd be cool.

I'd really like to be able to work with steempython but I just can't, the irritability symptom from my concussions makes me swear at the computer, and the forgetfulness doesn't lend itself to productivity in that endeavor. At least I can write, although I tend not to remember much of what I've said...

There was a post about steemit development here:
https://steemit.com/condenser/@timcliff/calling-community-developers-let-s-polish-the-steemit-com-mothership

I did not have the time yet to look into their github account.
J

Thanks! I'm starting to feel overwhelmed reading through that post, but I have bookmarked it.

Dunno if you heared about this one:
https://steem-tag-search.herokuapp.com/tagsearch
It's not exactly what your looking for but it might be something... Steemit could really use some more implemented tools to help categorize your followers.

Nice, seems useful, thanks!

Some really good ideas, hope some of them get implemented.

#steemgigs! seems a great project :)
thank you

Great. Thanks for sharing. I'm starting to follow you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59