Steemgig: 64 SBD Available for Charity Food Drive ๐ŸŒ€ Steemit is Real!

in #steemgig โ€ข 7 years ago (edited)


This third time is gonna be the one!



I'm proposing a #steemgig, to give 7 SBD each, to the first 8 Steemians who do the following:

Donate at least 1 kg (2.2 lbs.) of Fruits, Vegetables, and/or any type of Flour/Grain, AND, at least 1 litre (33.8 fl. ounces) of any type of cooking Oil, to some food bank or other charity, such as a local school or community centre. It would be great, if you also gave a 3rd type of food that you connect with emotionally.

If you will be giving to a drop off centre where they must further distribute the food, DO NOT give fresh, or quickly perishable fruits or vegetables! In this case, please donate at least 5 cans of veggies along with the oil and 3rd food, or just stick with flour/grain, oil and a 3rd.


Take a photo or two of your gifts.

  1. Do something to make us realize you made the donation, like by attaching a sticker, or paper that says Steemit.com onto your gift. Or by taking a photo of you or someone else holding up the current date and the food. You're welcome to do this as @ yourusername or @ anonymously.
  2. Take a photo of yourself or someone putting it in the charity's dropbox, or walking into the drop-off centre/charity with it. (Can combine with no. 1 if you can make it clear.) (No need to ever show your face.) (Most grocery stores in my city have local food bank bins, yours might too!) Please DO NOT show the face of any recipient of your gift.
  3. Make a post on your own blog, with your photos and telling us about what you did, or if you want, about the charity, or who it will benefit. Please tag your post with #steemgig (s). Tag it however else you want too!
  4. Drop a link and a picture if you'd like, to your post in the comments of this article.
  5. Bonus 1 SBD each, and mitzvah/karma/brownie points if you get kids involved in the giving! For instance, knowing the purpose, they could craft the steemit.com sign, and do part of the buying, or the giving. Share the story of how they participated! Do they have something to say about the experience?



To the first 8 people, 7 SBD for 1 litre of cooking oil AND 1 kg of fruit/vegetables/5 cans and/or flour/grain (any kind,) and ideally plus a 3rd type of food, with some sort of Steemit.com label, given to charity according to the details above. An extra 1 SBD if kids participate.



Please see @thatsweeneyguy, @drpuffnstuff and @skye1's posts below for examples of how to do it. They amazingly did the last fully successful charity#steemgig, and donated at least 9 huge bags of clothing, toys, books, and food! You 3 are welcome to participate again, but if there are others, or more than 8, maybe the rewards should go to them first?

https://steemit.com/steemgig/@skye1/steemgig-charity

https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@thatsweeneyguy/participating-in-the-steemgigs-charity-offer

https://steemit.com/steemgig/@drpuffnstuff/getting-paid-to-do-something-i-already-do-via-steemgig-helping-the-less-fortunate


The offer is valid until post payout. If I wasn't clear on anything, or if you have any questions, please ask!


(Giving Peas, Vegetables, Modified Oil Bottle.)




Many thanks to @steemgigs ( @surpassinggoogle ) and to @bearbear613 who donated for Charity #steemgig!


I'm also greatful to @thewineman, @drpuffnstuff, @thatsweeneyguy, @contextualize, @jennswall, @macstyly, @steemgigs, @surpassinggoogle, @virtualgrowth, @kus-knee, @stellabelle, @unmean-stweets, @marieta88, @jocra, @budimir, @hajevoy60, @philippinetrail, @livingwaters, @crisgojar, @karmashine, @anandkphoto, @billytwohearts, @jznsamuel, @skye1, @live2love and @bearbear613 who resteemed and pushed to help make charity #steemgig a success! Of course I'm sorry if I missed anyone, and thanks are also for the voters and commenters! Your effort will literally warm someone up! Together, may there be many more successes! B"H! And if we're up to 9 bags of clothing plus a few lbs. of food already, can our Steemit.com community raise it to 100?!!

We're bringing Steemit and #steemgig (s) into the real world, for Good!

Have Fun! :)




Thanks For Your Attention and Support!

Melech ben Chaya ืžืœืš ื‘ืŸ ื—ื™ื”, @inphiknit


Sort: ย 

Although I'm unable to participate right now, wishing you best with the great initiative. Resteemed so somebody does it!

Thank you very much! You'll catch a future version!~

Hi @inphiknit, this is a great idea! ๐Ÿ’ก I shall take up the challenge by donating to the drop off point at my workplace which is a local authority. I shall provide photos and a verification card on Monday ๐Ÿ™‚

Wonderful, thank you very much!~ I'm looking forwards to it!

I will get involved. And of course give to the ones who havenever won a steemgig before first great idea! Upvoted and resteemed!

You're so generous @skye1! Thanks a million!

Softening it up!~

Great cause inphiknit
Upped and followed and resteemed

Thanks so much! I followed you also cause you make nice work!

I thank you and do appreciate the reply. And again good luck on the food project..... billytwohearts

If you'd like, I can make you a promo image for these charity gigs like I offer via #steemgigs.

Free for such a great cause, of course.

I was just thinking about something along these lines! I was imagining making a steemgig offer for an animation of my "signature."

That's very generous of you to offer. What do you envision?

not entirely sure. I'm about to get to work on a few images for @johnniec, I'll see what I can think of for this while I'm at it.

Here's the first one that I threw together.

Hey cool, that looks really good! Thank you so much! Can I make a couple small suggestions?

Cool, thanks!

Could we;

  • Remove my name and rebalance it?
  • Capitalize the "c" of charity?
  • Since you've offered to donate it, and created it, would you sign it somewhere?!

Could I also change the big X to a version I have of the phi spiral from my signature logo?

Absolutely! I'll go edit it in a few before I go to work

It's very nice of you :)

This will be my weekend project ;)

Oh great! I will be absent here on Saturday, so please forgive me if you post, and it takes me a few hours to notice and fulfill this end...

That's very nice of you!!

I actually go every month to our local food bank to help sort and give out food for the people in need,

I know i should be doing more and i will!

May we all notice this about ourselves and fill the gaps, just as you desire doing!

Thanks :)

A) Awesome, and also
B) Don't forget! Donating money directly to a food bank is a more effective way to give!

That is certainly true of some banks, while others are staffed mostly by volunteers. They also don't exist in all places that steemit reaches. And for some, food is more accessible than money. I also know that there was a time in my development where giving nearly expired (but still good) food would have been a step up in my generosity. Since charity is as much about the giver as the receiver, I think this is good... You're right that everything isn't 100% efficient, but we can still do what we can still do... Thanks for the support and advice^^

You are such a tzaddik!

B"H and l'shem shamayim, one day! But believe me, I'm not. Got angry at a loved one just yesterday for example. Thank G-d for His rachamim and the opening He leaves us for t'shuvah...

In fact, I even wonder if these gigs are too public, as they name donors. Gonna speak with my Reb about them...

a tzaddik is the one who falls and gets back up. Don't forget that.

Pirkei Avot iirc? (I'm so terrible remembering what goes where and who said it...)

It's true, it is easy to forget and get bogged down by habits or past aveirot. Thank G-d for the sages and the tools like vidui, that they gave us...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63422.01
ETH 2688.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58