Getting paid to do something I already do VIA #steemgig (helping the less fortunate)

in #steemgig7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170527_155720.jpg

@inphiknit posted a #steemgig offering some SBD's to someone if they went and donated clothes,toys,or books. He also offered up some brownie points if we got kinds involved and donated sardines as well... Shhh, nobody tell him its not REALLY donating if I'm getting paid some SBD's! I have donated a lot already though. Something my parents have encouraged since I was a little kid. I have some interesting experiences doing charity work and donating. But nothing I will share here today. I'm here to tell you about the first time I made something for donating the things I wont use to someone who definitely will!

My nephews are out of town enjoying Memorial Day weekend and I couldn't kidnap any other kids to get help, well I could have. But it wouldn't have looked good for steemit haha!!

I started by piling it all up on the floor, which took an hour or two of looking around and gathering things together...
IMG_20170527_154107.jpg

Then I tossed it into garbage bags.. I don't have green garbage bags and I've never even seen them mind you :) !!IMG_20170527_154428.jpg
I took the 3 bags to the closest clothing donation bin I could find on the internet. Its for big brothers and sisters, which is a good organization in my state.
IMG_20170527_155503.jpg
And then I tossed all the bags in signed from steemit with love (and one of them I wrote my name on for #steemgig verification)
IMG_20170527_155712.jpg
And in the end, it's good to have 3 less bags of clothes taking up space. Knowing that it probably helped a few people at least temporarily! And magically I was able to transfer old things that I don't use anymore into SBD's supposing I didnt a good enough #steemgig job.

And to appease @inphiknit who posted the steemgig in the first place... I went ahead to the grocery store. Bought 4 cans of sardines, and a few dollars worth of top ramen (for the people like me who don't like fish). Tried to put them in a food donation bin at my 2 local grocery stores, neither had food donation bins (no buenos)..
IMG_20170527_162617.jpg
Then I went to the local food bank, which was closed. So I wrapped the bag around the door handle assuming they will find it when they come to work.
steemitsave.jpg

And that's my steemgig story of how I got paid to do something I already do for free (negative the sardines)!

While doing this if you look at one of the pictures above it had a bunch of books in it. I couldn't give the books to either the food bank or big brothers and sisters organization. And it inspired me to do my own #steemgig. So when I get paid for this steemgig, I will be posting my own gig for others to do offering probably most of my reward for doing this to someone else willing to help promote steem and donate to a worthy cause!

Thank you #steemgig and @inphiknit for encouraging this little adventure I had. And thanks @dantheman for making all this possible in the first place. good luck on your future endeavors, and goooooo EOS!

Sort:  
Your display of love is exemplary!

Thank you very much.

Thank you sir. I will add this to my #steemgig when I do it. You are appreciated!

Most welcome and thank you for joining the charity initiative.

You are also amazing and no doubt you must be one generous person as well! You took note of another person's generosity!

Thanks for the kind word @unmean-stweets and I appreciate the vote(s) a lot too 🤘

Ahh, well thank you sir

Nice ! followed. I have the clothing donation bin in my building. It was always flooded with clothes people dont wan't and I always wonder where are they gonna send all these clothes to. Has anyone wonder how they will distribute the clothes we donate ?

No real idea but its all good! Hopefully, it serves use to some in need some day or brings tears to someone's eyes. "The good deed already done!"

I know all the clothes end up in the same spot. And whatever is not wearable gets sold in bulk to a textile place for money to help , and I'm not sure how the spread the usable clothes around. Thrift shops, homeless shelters, and churches probably all help too..

Many places have "free stores" nowadays, that makes it very easy to donate in a single location everything except perishable food, and you KNOW the stuff gets to people who at least WANT it (need is a truly subjective value, many times), and you can hope, quite reasonably, that want is not simply whimsical.

You make us shed so much tears! Thanks! @papa-pepper see! @kus-knee @sykochica @stellabelle @fisteganos @infovore @anotherjoe

Thanks for the opportunity!

Highly inspirational, I will definitely be taking this into consideration in the near future ;)

Can't wait to see you participate! @onetree @dana-edwards @giantbear @surfermarly @dreemit @aksinya @thecryptofiend @uwelang see where we are reaching with this.
@inphiknit is now a core part of the team!

Hi buddy - will have to jump in this again - so many other things around - lemme check this in more detail soon!

Yep understood! It is just the same here! Drained!

Will approach you on discord later

Thank you sir. Always good to see you in the comments. Thanks for bring a homie!

This is a classic and glamorous deed on your part! Gorgeousness! Keep spreading love

Thank you sir. The love will keep being spread!!

Thank you alot really! For a next round, we will try putting it "steemit.com" so they also know it is a website but really thankful ones will search! The charities themselves will get on steemit!

Yes yes. My bad. My first time trying to promote steemit.com . I will do better next time!!

Wow! This is so amazing! You and @thatsweeneyguy exceeded my hopes! I'm genuinely thrilled how you went all out! His post is here: https://steemit.com/steemgigs/@thatsweeneyguy/participating-in-the-steemgigs-charity-offer

I've resteemed this, and am making a post to give an update on the remaining rewards and what you guys did. I'll send the couple bucks in a few minutes.

Thanks so much for this, you've made my day!

Ya I found @thatsweeneyguy post earlier yesterday and followed him already. I'm glad another person did it too. Thanks for posting the #steemgig and giving us the opportunity!

Honestly, was my pleasure, but yw and thanks :)

Hey good, job. keep it up buddy. I guess I gotta keep a lookout for the #steemgigs and find one I can do, or see what you have for us to do when you post!

Be on the look out! By your means, by our means, we will fix lives in the real world. This is the height of steemit marketing and top things, they get on steemit.com and fix their lives even more! @anotherjoe, see more eye candy!

Thank you for support #steemgigs. We will go place together!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66930.79
ETH 3268.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64