Do you have your Elevator Pitch ready for Steem Fest2? [Creamy and Delicious]

in #steemfest27 years ago (edited)

This is an expanded form of our introduction.

We will learn how to concisely explain what we do in a short amount of time.

The introduction is a brief sentence, relating "what we do" when first meeting someone. Our intro is meant to be general and inspire curiosity. "The Elevator Pitch" gives more specifics, but will still be short enough that you could relate it while on an elevator with someone for a few floors.

First of all, it is important to be enthusiastic, even if the details of what you do are not very exciting. If you start off by down-playing yourself, people are just going to tune you out. We want to relate what we do on an emotional level.

(photo by: @shello)

Considerations while preparing:

  • Your Qualifications
    • How long have you been doing this?
    • What are your achievements?
  • Your Wants and Needs
    • What type of connetions will benefit you?
  • What type of value do you offer?
    • How can you help them or people they know?

Remember, we are not trying to give them our whole life story. Instead, it should be simple enough that they could easily relate this information to another person. Maybe you don't have something to offer them specifically, however, they may well know someone who could benefit from a relationship with you. Unless you are brief, and relatable, it will be very difficult to make the type of connections that we would like to.

If "what you do" involves highly technical terms, that are unavoidable because of your field, be ready with the layman's version. I imagine that most of the people at SteemFest2 will be fairly familiar with the jargon surrounding the Steem community. However, I also expect to meet people from a wide variety of backgrounds. One of the beautiful things about our community, is that there are so many ways to contribute to it. This means that there will be people with roles that might be difficut to convey in plain english, to anyone who isn't already "in the know". Keeping it simple makes it easier for that person to relate your information to others, and increase your ability to make good connections.

(photo by: @shello)

The Pitch

  • Emotional Impact.
    • How do you help people?
    • What benefits do you offer?
  • Your field.
    • What type of customer do you work with?
  • Examples.
    • What well known company, industry, or person offers a similar service?
  • Who specifically are you hoping to meet?
    • Who are you wanting to help?
    • What kind of help do you need?

This is an expansion of our introduction, and could easily follow afterwards. If you havn't read the post about How to Make a Good Introduction at Steem Fest 2, you'll want to check that out, also.

Right now the "draft" of my introduction is:

"I help people to connect with the resources that they need."

(photo by: @shello)

Notes to help me get started:

  • I write to learn, and to practice writing.
  • Services I offer:
    • Creative Consulting
    • Editing
    • Promotional Services
    • Copywriting
    • Mentoring.
  • I work with Developers, Bloggers, and Community Leaders, to find the resources, ideas, and help that they need.
  • I help people make higher pay on their posts.
  • I started @newsteam to cover topics for the benefit of the community.
  • I'm part of the @MSP-Waves Ops team. We are looking for: DJ's, People experienced with Wordpress, As well as PHP Developers, who can Donate their Services to the Station.
  • I help the developer of SteemPi with creating posts. SteemPi needs:
    • Translations
    • Developers to implement new features and feedback how to implement .
    • Testing on other devices
    • Make it in a live boot
  • I'm looking for:
    • Copy Writers to work with @newsteem.
    • Artists who would like to showcase their work on my blog.
    • Developers to work on ideas with me and my other developer friends
  • Most of, and my best work is collaborative.
  • I Love What I Do, and I'm always making friends who can help each other.

Now that I've got a list going, it will be easier to make progress, over the next couple weeks, on working out my "pitch". As I get closer, it may, also, be helpful to take an audio recording so that I can hear myself and make sure it comes out right, and also practice with a friend. This way, if I end up in an elevator with @ned I'll have something I can remember, all prepared and polished. I'm not assuming that's going to happen. However, this preparation will help me with every interaction I have, regardless of who I get into the elevator with. Our intro and elevator pitch can be different depending on who we are talking with, so it will be good to have a few variations practiced.

Steem On to Steem Fest! Can't wait to see you there!

References and Resources

Sort:  

I am always working to improve my original rough draft in this department:

"Imagine if Reddit upvotes were each worth $1. Then imagine that the more upvotes you had, the more upvotes you could give. Then imagine that the people there were less stupid than Reddit, and abuse was more difficult. Further, pretend that you understand that's it's not a pyramid scheme if it takes no money in and is merely a token that a buyer sets a price for on an open market. Voila."

worked on me

My pitches usually do. Ahem.

<3 Love it! I've been meaning to go to reddit to recruit bloggers and writers.

Yeah, they aren't exactly big fans over there, from what I can tell...

I posted in the Steemit Reddit there with some good results though...

that's how I found steemit. I would be targeting specific genres and offering onboarding \ mentoring.

Nice work my friend. Did all the doots, and you are on the right track. Keep up the good work.

Thank You @SirCork!

dude, i cant find you in my email list. please drop me a dm.

Great post, great advise and thank you for helping the community.

thank you friend!

Great tips thanks. I'm heading to steemfest and looking forward to the boiling pot of ideas.

:D I know, right? :happy-dance:

My favorite Alien, tonight 4:00 am I will put my faith in my Illustrator CS5

I believe in you, my friend!

Big ups on your win for the Free Ticket to SteemFest 2017 at Lisbon!

Thank you!! <3 I love that middle minion! <3

It's a great idea to walk into each time meeting someone short, sweet, and memorable. Especially something like SteemFest, you don't want to be selling yourself short!

Thank you so much for making the art on such a short notice! <3

No problem, make sure to have an awesome time at SteemFest!

DO I HAVE AN ELEVATOR PITCH???? HECK YES!!! Its right here https://steemit.com/steemfest/@basilmarples/please-fund-me-to-got-to-steemfest-heres-why-watch-now and I think you'll agree, its TOTALLY FOOLPROOF, WATERTIGHT, INGENIOUS and set to make me millions! haha gets on knees please pretty please, I REALLY want to come to Steemfest!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52