My Experience During The Visa Application To Steemfest 2 Sponsored By @Stellabelle: There Is Always A New Thing To Learn; The Experience So Far Was Worth It.

in #steemfest7 years ago (edited)

steemfest.jpg

Hello my friends, it's been a while and if you noticed I have not been regular with my posts and only come in to upvote and comment. This was not a deliberate act at all as I have had tons of things in my hands ranging from the preparation and visa application to the steemfest 2 event as regards to the opportunity given to I and @surpassinggoogle for an all round trip to Lisbon sponsored by our dear @stellabelle.

Ever since that day @stellabelle has been more like a mentor. She made sure that every financial and moral support was available for the success of the trip. Truth was that my heart knew no bound at the wonderful opportunity she made available for me. This I would always be grateful for.

The visa application journey

Starting from the international passport to the visa, @stellabelle saw to it all, this to me is staying through to ones words. It got to the visa application and she directed me to so many amazing people who helped me in one way or the other about the requirements needed. The organizer of the event @roelandp gave me the invitation letter and a listening ear to all questions despite his busy schedule.

I had to ask questions and make inquiries and @infovore, @maryfavour, @surpssinggoogle, @mammasitta @jphilipsagholor, @ehiboss, @turpsy and so many people where there to put me through with the visa itinerary. Finally all the requirements were complemented with the immerse help of @roelandp and @stellabelle and then the visa was applied for of which required a 100% of my presence with the travels of which I enjoyed.

The wait, the call up for collection and the result.

I was to wait for a maximum of fifteen working days, within this period I had to run around for my school issues this combined made me really busy. It was difficult for me but I had to keep on because I couldn't have stopped half way. I also did the visa tracking and made sure I kept tab of when the fifteen working days was going to be over.

Finally the waiting was over and I was called on the 13th working day to come get my "passport", this I know was either going to be a positive or a negative one but I kept my mind on the positive. I had to travel and on getting to the embassy I found out the visa was refused. Waw! This shocked me to my marrows as I stared at my passport without a visa.

They had their reasons but I feel there was more.

Their reason was thus:

The information submitted regarding the justification for the purpose and condition of the intended stay was not reliable.
20171020_171041.jpg

20171020_171113.jpg
(no. 8 has the reason)

Prior to the reason stated here, I thought of the possible document that was not tendered as requested but non came into my head as everything was glaring. Then I remembered a chat I had with @maryfavour as to how rigid and tight the schengen embassy is.

According to her, she has been refused a schengen visa once simply because she was not married at that time, which was found applicable to me too. I asked a lot of people and they gave the same answer as to the schengen embassy skeptical about giving unmarried individuals visa.

This is quite unfair I have thought and concluded.

You never fail until you stop trying

During the initial stage when I and @stellabelle was confused about how to get the requirements, we were totally frustrated and coupled with my naivety as at then and the fact that @stellabelle does not really understand the Nigerian system, the only option left for us was giving up. Yet we didn’t, she went ahead and made all the necessary contact she could and we were able to get @roelandp. After I explained to @roelandp and how this could be a 50/50 chance, he made one comment and told me that it was worth trying and that there was nothing wrong in trying it out. Their words of encouragement and those of my friends and loved ones lead and kept me going.

All through the whole time I had @mislasvegas at heart, I wanted to so meet her and talk about the issue she have with the children protection services and the troubles she has been facing. I planned on sharing some of these issues with her because I believe that an issue shared is half solved. I felt really bad knowing that this was not going to be possible anymore. Meeting other amazing steemians from around the world and the knowledge I was going to acquire was something I looked forward to to.

The lessons and experiences so far

At everything that happens in my life I have always found a way of grabbing one lesson or two. Truthfully, the thought of not being at steemfest 2 in Lisbon got to me because am someone who loves exploring places, but all the same I found solace in the experiences I had so far. This opportunity was unexpected and even at that I never thought I could get the amount of love I got on this platform.

This refusal of my visa has made me understand more things I never knew about getting a visa, I am not longer as naive as I used to be before now as to the embassy and how they operate in terms of visa application. I met some amazing people who in one way or the other gave me one lesson or to to take home.

I met @mammasitta, an amazing lady through @stellabelle, ever since she has remained a very good and awesome friend to me. Although at first we wanted to share a room but later didn't work out all that good as she already had a room mate, but still she remained a very good loved one to me.

At the same time, it is also a sad thing that the world has gotten to the point where people are not allowed to move or explore places they love and admire freely when they want to in the words of @mammasitta.

Conclusion

The post would not be complete if I fail to appreciate God for His sustenance and protection over me during and after the application of the visa. Even though I came down with fever and headache once in awhile still He gave me the strength to travel safely all the time.

To @stellabelle for finding it in her heart to give me this wonderful opportunity and backing me up in all ramifications. You didn't leave me hanging for a second and despite the troubles you still went ahead to see that I had this awesome experience. I pray for you every time and am highly grateful. The strong and all round @roelandp who answered and replied my mails, giving me directions and sending every possible document that was requested without complaining at all even when he had a bigger and more important things to handle towards the preparation of steemfest, I say a very big thank you sir for allowing my disturbances especially at odd times...haha.

To @infovore, @surpassinggoogle, @ogoowinner @ehiboss, @jphilipsagholor (my mum), @mammasitta, @turpsy, @maryfavour and all my loved ones on here and those that are not here on steemit I really appreciate all the kind and moral support I got from you all. I would also like to thank @coolhenry though have not started blogging yet, who heard about steemit for the first time in the course of assisting me with my visa through the travel agency I used; steemit is too good not to be preached around.

Steemfest is in a few days time and I say am happy to have had an opportunity of going. I am still going to follow the entire event happening. I am positive and hope that @suppassinggoogle makes it there, as I have been offline for a long time, I haven't asked him how he is preparing but I am positive he will make it there.

However, I only wish that the opportunities I get do not end here as I look forward to seeing that the next steemfest coming up is in a more flexible and travel -friendly country; as I would still not hesitate to come if I can for steemit community has turned more than family to me, I love you all and wish all that will be coming form around the world a safe trip and a wonderful festival. A big thank you to @misslasvegas who has promised to get some pictures and videos for me... hahah, I would really appreciate that too my friend.

IMG_20171023_170832.jpg

IMG_20171023_170732.jpg
rocking my steemit vest

Never let your fears make you, rather do that which you fear the most because to everyone, you only become a failure if you do not try something. I love you all and I am back and better. My love still remains with you @stellabelle. Thank you for everything, for all you do for the young and rising of this great platform. God bless seemit!

Thank you steemit community for having me and thank you for being a wonderful family to me. I remain a true and strong member of this great platform. Also the Steemit in Nigeria (S.I.N) is in day’s time and I wish all those coming for the event as well a great trip to Osun state. All is for the growth and development of this great community. God bless Africa. God bless Nigeria.

DQmetUumyu4JUudfKNzCizLBXkBy5mQxtQvzfnoiyEoFxGg_1680x8400.jpg

generic.gif

Sort:  

Hello, @gloglo. It's really sad to know that the schengen viza was not issued to you at the end of the day. That was my fear from the very beginning, but I just told you to give it a try. Not to worry, one day you will get a viza.

Then I remembered a chat I had with @maryfavour as to how rigid and tight the schengen embassy is.
According to her, she has been refused a schengen visa once simply because she was not married at that time, which was found applicable to me too. I asked a lot of people and they gave the same answer as to the schengen embassy skeptical about giving unmarried individuals visa.

Please, let me correct 2 misconceptions here.

  • There are 26 countries in the Schengen zone, including Portugal. Any of these countries could issue you a common viza know as Schengen viza, based on the Schengen agreement of these European Union (EU) countries in 1995. So, there is really no one Embassy that is Shengen Embassy.

  • There was a misunderstanding when I told you that I have been denied viza before. It's true that I was denied viza. However, the viza I was denied was not Schengen, but Canadian. That happened in 1997, while I was still pursuing my masters degree at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN). I applied to the Canadian High Commion in Lagos for a Viza to Canada to enable me do a training course in HIV/AIDS for which I got a scholarship at the University of Winnipeg. The grounds on which I was denied viza was that I had no family ties, which was understood to mean that I was not married.
    I have NEVER been denied schengen viza. The 3 different Embassies I have applied to for Schengen viza; Germany (2012), Switzerland (2014) & Hungary (from 2015 till date) have always issued me vizas. It is also important to note that all my Schengen viza applications made till date have been from Serbia, not Nigeria. Besides, most of my viza applications have been with the purpose to attend academic conferences.
    Usually, when one applies for viza to go and study or for any academic purpose, they will not deny viza. However, the Embassy will still consider if the applicant has sufficiet funds for food, accommodation, travel insurance, tuition, health insurance etc. to cover for the period of stay in that country. I understand all of these considerations better now, having worked with our Embassy, the Embassy of Nigeria, Serbia for 4 years (2012 to 2016).

@maryfavour for @redfishpillar

Hello @maryfavour

Ma'am I am very proud of you for you don't just comment for commenting sake, you go extra length to educate, providing useful url links in the process. This a good way to contribute to steem blockchain which I have to sit up and learn.

Thanks for this exposition.

@eurogee

Thank you for the clarification. Your encouragement helped as well. I wish you well in all your endeavours. Bless you always.

This is rather sad... But in the spirit of never giving in to melancholy, I want to appreciate you for not bemoaning your fate but rather seeing it from the positive angle of learning..... One or two things about visa application. Well there are many steemfests ahead of you and by God's grace, you will attend many. Just keep hope alive. And thanks to all these wonderful people who have made dreams come true for you.

Edith! Such beautiful words! @gloglo We will meet one day!

Haha surely my friend, very soon at that.

Thank you very much ma. I really appreciate you so much.

The wonderful experience was just too much for me that I can't help but stay happy. I really appreciate you all.

Am here because of the love in this platform. It is only good that I see the positive in the whole thing and hold it dear in ny heart. Thank yiu once again for the kind words and best wishes. We all are here and there are many steemfests for us all. Thanks ma.

After reading this post I'm kind of both happy and sad. Happy in seeing you coming out of a potentially depressing experience with a huge smile on your face. Happy that there is a huge Nigerian Steemit community. Happy that you all are actively engaging your minds in something positive for the sake of humanity. However I'm still sad that there are restrictions to where an average Nigerian can go or cannot go. Sorry you missed the Steemfest 2. We will get it next time dear. Nice name @gloglo !

Thank you very much @nairadaddy. I really appreciate these wirds. They mean so much. Thank you very much for the kind and positive words.

You are absolutely welcome.

My dad never got tired of telling stories of how you can walk into an embassy same day and get your visa same day without all the hoops they make people jump through today. I believe we would have that Nigeria of those days back.

Special thanks to @stellabelle for being such a great sport in sponsoring the ticket. Sometimes, I feel the visa refusal or issuance is based on a whim of the personnel you meet. No matter how experienced you are or how genuine your proposal is, they could still refuse issuance of the visa.

You could chalk it up to things that did not work, was really rooting for you to be our eyes and ears there. Better luck next time. Keep hope alive and keep steeming.

Thank you for you words. This is a lot to learn from. Am happy I did. Their reason could be based on anything but their are lots of factors.

All the same their is more to be thankful for my friend. Experience can not be bought, am glad I had this experience and I call it tge positive experience. 🤗 thank you for stopping by dear.

There is always a next time @gloglo
There will be many steem fests in future and I hope you be a part of all of them.
It warms my heart to see such people who are dedicated towards the growth of steemit.
God bless you! 😊

Thank you very much my friend 🤗

You most welcome. I've had a very close experience and all I could say is they just don't want to give you one. But it's all good. Let's keep steeming. 2018 version would surely see you there. 😎

Hello @gloglo

How I wish everything was successful and you were able to be their live at steemfest in lisbon. But nevertheless, Though the visa was refused but thank God the experience you had cannot be retracted from you. Thank God you have the opportunity to be cherished by people of high esteem like @stellabelle , @infovore @surpassinggoogle @misslasvegas @maryfavour and many more of them that normally you wouldn't have had the opportunity if not for this incident. Well all i can say is that, never dwell on those things that didn't work out the way you expected but try to learn leason at everything that cross your part. You will one day sponsor people to go places, that i believe.

I love this.

At everything that happens in my life I have always found a way of grabbing one lesson or two. Truthfully, the thought of not being at steemfest 2 in Lisbon got to me because am someone who loves exploring places, but all the same I found solace in the experiences I had so far.

Keep sower higher for the sky is your stepping stone and not your limit.

@maintain4real-eu

Thank you very much my friend. I would sponsor one day and very soon. Thank you for your kind words. They really mean so much to me.

Hello @gloglo

This has put me in a very sad mood, I don't even know where to start commenting from.

My only advice to you is that you should know in Life that there are good days and bad days, but we learn more in the bad days.

Keep being who you are, the excellent spirit that made you win the contest in the first place will open up other great opportunities for you.

Steem On

@ogochukwu

Thank you my brother. I claim your best wishes for all of us. Thank you once more.

This news really hurts my mood when you told me. I would be on the side that, you are prepared for a better experience. And thank God you didnt give up at those trying time. More better places are awaits you. @gloglo.

Thank you so much . You did a great job too, at least your assistance went a long way. You were there all the time. Thank you very much.

Truly it's so painful but I know it has a reason and purpose which is best known to God. please take care of yourself dear and thanks to @stellabelle,@mammasitta, @maryfavour and all that have been there for her thanks so much.

Thank you very much ma. I appreciate you kind help and word of advice all through those times to. You were also there for me in my rough and busy times. Bless you ma.

Hey @gloglo,

This is rather sad, I can't even imagine the courage you took to pen this down...... Chai!!! Nigeria my Country, what has happened to travelling opportunity, is it the way we are preached?...... Sincerely, I kniw how it feels, something relates happened to my brother ( a more longer story which hasn't made him balance till now), but my dear. God knows the best, and believe me dear, it is never over....... I wish you LUCK from now on.......

Please stay in touch with my blog.... I may share something interesting and related in days time.

Thank You
@honourmaus

Thank you very much dear. I will be visiting your blog more often since am back now. I appreciate your words of encouragement. Bless you real good always.

Hello @gloglo
I'm sorry about your visa refusal. I hope you make to the next steemfest. It's really painful. You are really strong as you did all you did being a novice at the visa processing and may all those who helped you be pleased in all their endeavors too.

I saw on the form of refusal, a chance to appeal against the refusal. Can that be done? Please are you on Nairaland? Some Nigerians with experience with visa issues are there too that can help.

I wish you all the best and more of God's blessings in your life.


@learnandteach01

Thank you so much my brother. Bless you for the kind words and wishes. But time for the steemfest is already close so it was goibg to be difficult. All the same thank you alot.

You are welcome. God bless you too. If you'll go through the process, may it be less stressful and be a success.

Amen... thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50