SteemCampUK - thoughts on meeting people, investing and communitiessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemcampuk6 years ago (edited)

Just over two weeks to SteemCampUK: it will be taking place on Saturday 7 April 2018 in Birmingham and is organised by @lloyddavis.

IMG_1694.JPG
The Iron: Man statue by Antony Gormley, usually in Centenary Square in Birmingham, but currently having a little lie-down while the city is modernised around it. Picture Source: Birmingham Live/Birmingham Mail

I wrote a few weeks ago about why I was excited about going to SteemCampUK and since then, I've found that a few of the people I know on Steemit (and from past lives) are going, which is great news. It'll be good to catch up and find out what they are up to.

IMG_1697.JPG
Picture source: @teamhumble's selfies make me smile, looking forward to seeing him.

I'm hoping there will be some technical help around: @pumpkinsandcats was involved in this session helping people find their way around the intricacies of Steemit, and I could do with a session or two like that (there's also a Steemit UK Discord Server which you can join).

I'm slightly reluctant to say this because of the multitude of posts about the price/future/ outrageousness of steem flooding my feed at the moment, but I am interested in learning more about investing in steem and, again, the technicalities of doing that. I haven't checked that there will be wifi at the event, I'm kind of assuming there will be, but if there is, it would be good to be talked through the process and even starting it. Although a young friend who organises data conferences for the US travel industry told me that my cryptocurrency is only as secure as my computer, so now I'm wondering about that.

I've been fascinated by the way that communities are growing (or not). Some, that seem very structured and well-designed, don't really seem to have any community at all, more a set of hungry baby birds that need feeding all the time.

IMG_1698.JPG
Picture source : Pixabay.com

Over on #needleworkmonday there's more interaction, though a much looser arrangement. This community is stewarded by @crosheille and @crystalize who put in many hours supporting and encouraging participation. This week, we had 26 posters and, three days later, I've just about managed to read them all. There has been a conversation about setting up an account, similar to @runningproject and the #runningproject initiative, which brings together and rewards good quality posts, but the question was how to manage the time involved?

Meanwhile, another kind of community revolves around @steevc's pub, The Geeky Guitarist. During the past 31 days, @steevc's supported a community of nearly 600 people through upvotes and comments. His blog is like popping in a pub, a gentle flow of observations bouyed by optimism and lots of guidance about how to have a rewarding experience on steemit.

I'm curious about how we might grow communities in the future. Is there a set of principles or is it as varied as people? Just a few of my thoughts about SteemCampUK. Other people had lots of other ideas.

Here's @lloyddavis talking about why do steemCampUK, here's his original invitation and you can find out more by following @steemcampuk.

Sort:  

You are not alone :-D ... I also need some time to read all the needlework articles :-D It is great to see this initiative grow, but I need a second pair of eyes and a ghost-writer (ok I am exaggerating)
I am very curious what you will report from this steem gathering (and again I am sad not to live in the UK)

Yes, it is growing and we are getting more ambitious with our "how-to" posts! I'd like to get to Coffee Hour, too. The steem gathering will be interesting, I'm curious about how it will turn out.

I am not sure if I understand the concept of the coffee hour ... ❓❓❓ I am kind of lost I think... sigh

Coffee Hour is a session on Discord where you can interact, by text and by voice, with other #needleworkmonday and #fiberartists. It's hosted on Mondays, 7pm (GMT). I haven't found my way on to Discord yet 😱

Thanks for the #NeedleWorkMonday community shoutout! I do like that we have a looser arrangement but yet from a tag we have developed a tight knit supportive community. We really try to keep things organized and make sure people are not misusing the tag or posting all throughout the week because it is supposed to be just a Monday gathering.

It does take a lot longer getting through all of the posts, most of the time I need two days now but I enjoy every bit of it :D Plus that’s a really good sign that more and more people want to join in the fun with us!

Also I will no longer be hosting the coffee hour or able to join in. I had to make some personal decisions based off the realistic time I have available to be on Steemit and Discord. However it will still be available for those wanting to join in.

Hello there, yes, #needleworkmonday is a really good community and works very well, and it is lovely how it is growing and other friendships developing. It is an interesting example of how to build a community, and a different approach to the other examples in the post. From a personal perspective, it is a lot of fun, and it has galvanised my knitting, as well as encouraging me to try new things.

All of this is so Fantastic to hear!!!! I really love what we’ve got going on here and you all have made it more enjoyable than I could have ever imagined. Like seriously I have really made some great friendships through the community and I look forward to chatting with you all every week! I am so inspired and encouraged from week to week that I feel I can make anything with my hands!! 😄 It is tons of fun! I sure wish we could all have a meetup one day by the world is so big. I do have a goal of making it to Steemfest in person one year and seeing if I can talk about our growing community and invite others to join in.

I am myself completely inexperienced with discord, but @fiberartists wrote a good explanation: https://steemit.com/fiberartists/@fiberartists/what-is-our-role-in-the-steemit-community

That Discord icon looks slightly worrying, it's like a digital Anansi spider (Anansi the trickster and story teller).

This would be an interesting story ...(did you read Gaimans Anansi boys?) I think the official explanation is, it is a stylized game controller... but who knows

Anansi boys - was that the story where the boy's reflection was ripped from himself? I heard a dramatization on radio 4, it was very good.

Thank for mention!

Do let me know how steemcamp goes! And yes UK based people come say hello on the Discord Server = D

A pleasure!

ha! that photo thou! :)

It took me awhile to find - for a bit it was the veggie sausage and egg cob one!

This looks awesome. I am based in London, but might venture outside the M25 for this event! Thanks for posting

It would be great to see you there, hope you make it!

Thanks for the reply, totally forgot about this. Where do we sign up to attend?

Can I just check: you've voted for your own comment, which is asking me to do something for you, but you haven't vored for the original post or for my response to you?
Isn't that a bit like turning up to a potluck supper, bringing nothing to share and eating everyone else's food?

Haha, that is a very good point and thanks for pointing it out.

Corrected

Thank you 😊 Booking info is in this post

Sambil minum segelas kopi saya sangat senang membaca postingan anda

I'm sorry I don't understand this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59