Day 026 - Why Do SteemCampUK

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


A little explanation of what I'm trying to achieve. There is magic in this bringing together of people that I love to do, so I guess I've been playing with the idea for quite a while, but when I went to SteemFest2 last year, I realised it was the right time.

Keep watching to the end though, there's some special bonus footage today :)

Go catch up with the news on #steemcampuk at the new blog - @steemcampuk


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That was nice to see you "live" on video, you are absolutely right Steemit reminds me a lot those days when I was a child and we had pen pals that was organized in school to write to other kids in other countries but the same ages. So we were excited to hear every time from our friends and sometimes in summer we had summer camps when we could have holidays in summer camp of other school and got together with our pen pals. That was great. You are right people are different when we are speaking in person. So some of us remained friends for a while but some not. But that was not really important, important thing was to be able to build up a relationship and to learn other people by characters. So seeing your video that immediately emerged in my mind.

thank you :) yes that's just the sort of atmosphere I like to create, most conferences are definitely not like that (although it's getting better). thanks for sharing your memories!

Lovely bonus content ;) Made me smile!

I hope you will do such 'camp' or meetups often. I want to touch base and meet my fellow steemians in UK when I am next there, which will be November this year.

Sounds like it is going to be really fun @lloyddavis. I also love to meet people face to face when ever I get the opportunity.

For a number of years I went to a thing called BarCamp in Brighton. Have you ever been to one of those. They took place over a weekend and people who came from a distance (some came from as far as Holland) used to spend the night in the building.

I went to a couple in London as well. One was in the Google building and I thoroughly enjoyed having a good poke around there. 😁

yep, I use a similar format, but a little more on the mystical hippy side rather than the ra-ra technogeekery you can get at barcamp :) (I love them, but they're usually full of nerds who haven't been out of their bedroom for a while...)

I went to BarCampLondon 3 at Google in November 2007 - was it that one? I also went to 10. I still have the t-shirts, but they might be a bit snug around the middle these days...

I think it might have been BarCampLondon 3. How weird if we were both there!

Until my recent clear out I still had my lanyard which would have confirmed it but I chucked that out too after holding onto it for years. I always gave the T-shirts to my son.

The Brighton ones were less techy I think. One of my favourite sessions I remember was about Marmite! Another one was about whether or not Cornwall should be a separate country.

And then there was werewolf in the evening which was always a good laugh. 😊

I think they fizzled out though as they took a lot of effort to organise and, as is often the case which such things, it usually fell on the same shoulders each tim.

YES. That's me!!!! I regonise the woman behind me and that guy in the corner set up some co-working at one time I think. Jonathan someone. He went to South America.

Small world!!!!!

yes indeed. you stood up! https://www.flickr.com/photos/cubicgarden/2063927184

I was beardless in those days, this is the only one I can find of me, looking on unimpressed while someone gets smacked in the face with an exercise ball.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/kerrybuckley/2060385178

good old Flickr!

I had no idea those photographs were out there. No idea why I stood up either. I recognise a couple of people in the picture though. Wonder what they are doing now?

I would never have recognised you. You're not the only one looking very unimpressed with the ball in the face routine though.

I think it would be better for Steemit and your channel to post your videos here at first and after 4-5 hours to YouTube, so they'll get more attendance here...

doing something that is beneficial to others is something that is most noble and will give birth to peace.

I hope you keep on doing things like that. your contribution will make you comfortable. thank you

Hahaha..
What was that cartoon doing sir?
Your idea is very good sir

Your idea is superb sir.
And what wast that cartoon for? LoL
And sir were you pronouncing that word Tuttle or what??

Grrrr, the video is not loading! I will try again later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61