Steem Bounty: Using it the first time and a guide on how it works

in #steembounty6 years ago (edited)


Source from @steem-bounty

Hello Steemians! I first heard about @steem-bounty from @fun2learn. When I first read about it, I immediately think it is an excellent idea. Why? Steem is all about content and the interactions among Steemians are often based on a post/article. When we see good content, there are 2 ways we can recognize the effort of the author (aka curating the content):

  • By upvoting the post/article
  • By leaving a well-thought comment
  • Or by doing both the above

However, the current Steem incentive system does not reward curators enough. In order to earn substantial curator rewards, there must be sufficient high-value upvotes after you have upvoted the post/article. Even by leaving a well-thought comment, your comment are often neglected by other Steemians simply because they have no reason to care. Hence, the current incentive system creates a very pro-author environment which encourage people to write more posts/articles but not so much on providing good comments. As a result, we see many trashy/spammy posts on Steem and it is starting to cause us problems.

From what I see, Steem Bounty is trying to reverse this situation, by giving more power to the author to decide how curation rewards should be distributed. If you refer to this 3 months old post on "How to create a bounty", distribution of up to 80% of the bounty is managed by the author. The author has all the reasons to encourage good comments and returning readers/followers. Therefore, it makes a lot of sense to give author the power, and thus the responsibility, to decide how to distribute the curation reward. In fact, I think Steem should think about building such a reward algorithm into the native curation incentive system.

Anyway, I should not rant too much about the curation reward system. This post is focus on my first experience in using Steem Bounty and the awesome new web interface that @knircky had built to create posts/articles with an attached Steem Bounty.

Firstly, the new website (https://steem-bounty.com) is apparently still very new. The tested and proven way to create your Steem Bounty is still through this tutorial posted months ago, "How to create a bounty". Next, I realized that there are some issues when I was logging into the Steem Bounty site with my Firefox browser. I could not get the "Create Post" function to work and each time I click on that, I will be asked to login again. Not sure if this is an issue only on my PC or it is an issue across all Firefox users. In the end, I have to write this post on the Google Chrome browser, which is usually not my default choice 😅


Step 1: Logging in

The first step is to navigate to the https://steem-bounty.com site. Click on the icon at the top-right to login via SteemConnect.

It will ask for the following authorizations. Nothing too special.

Choose to connect with your account in the next step. Note that it might prompt for you to enter your active key if you have not logged in before


Step 2: Draft your article

Once logged in, click on "Pencil" icon to start drafting your new post.

Write your post as per how you will normally do via Steemit.com


Step 3: Post the article with a bounty!

Once you are happy with your draft, set a bounty amount and post the article!

You will be prompted for you active key again while you are creating the post, this is because, you are transferring your bounty to @steem-bounty account.

You should receive a comment from @steem-bounty on your post shortly. This means that your bounty has been registered properly.

In addition, you should also see your bounty on the Steem Bounty site.

Simple enough? I hope my little guide helps. Also, this is my first post with an attached Steem Bounty. Let me know what you think about the concept behind Steem Bounty, and the best comment will get the most bounty! Thanks for reading!



GENERIC_banner.gif

Sort:  

I would prefer using a wallet message instead of a third party authorization with steemconnect :/

Haha.. not all are familiar with using wallet message. Perhaps the web UI is a little friendlier for some folks?

Using a third party authorization tool is always a risk in security, no matter what tool you use.
But wallet memos ... isn't it the most natural and simple thing to do? At least in my opinion.

I even avoid using steemconnect with the steemmonster application when i buy new cards. Simply copy the ID that is shown in steemconnect and make a manual transfer from my steemit wallet - and paste the ID into the memo space - works perfectly.

Indeed. If you are very concerned with security, then granting authorization to 3rd party apps will certainly increase your risk exposure. But in this world, there's always a need for balance between security and convenience. So I don't see any right or wrong answers here. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Been using @steem-bounty now since a few weeks and I'm really into it. Just love the way it helps to encourage and reward engagement on posts.

Especially for minnows, like me, it is a really helpful tool to get more exposure on posts. Adding to that it really helps to keep the mood up since as everybody knows steemit can be hard sometimes: you spend hours writing, researching and formatting your posts and do not even get a single comment expect those "a-a-XY" spammy ones. Attaching a bounty will help to get more people to even read the post, engage in it and maybe even gain some new followers.

Thanks for this detailed guide!

It is indeed a great tool. In this first attempt of using it, I am already starting to see much more quality comments on my post. Thanks for reading!

I checked out your blog and see that you are blogging quite a bit on cryptocurrency. Gave you a follow as I am also a crypto enthusiast.

Thanks for the guide @culgin.

I didn't know steem-bounty now has a working website, last time I checked you still need to send your link through a memo so I didn't bother much checking it out lol

Do you know if they take any beneficiary rewards for using their platform? Seeing as there are only around 80 total active bounties right now, I do think that this one is great if you want to get more visibility as there are only a couple of posts that you need to compete too.

Also, if you send say 5 Steem like what you've done here, what happens when you only got one comment or upvoted only one comment? Does that person get all the 5 Steem? :)

Thanks for the comment! Haha.. I also got to know about Steem Bounty very recently. On their platform, they do not seem to take any beneficiary rewards, however, you can choose to give them some if you want. For now, it does seem like it is quite an affordable way to gain some visibility.

I believe if there is only 1 comment, then the person will get the entire bounty. You led me to wonder, what will happen if there is no comment at all...

@culgin I hope you have a good experience using @steem-bounty. I have used a total of 3 times recently on my articles. I am right to say that you are able to explain about the rationale for having @steem-bounty. @knircky must have noticed areas that he wanted improvement in the steemit platform. This led him to create @steem-bounty. I must agree that @steem-bounty does encourage more participation through comments related to articles. I can only imagine the amount of effort @knircky has put in. You have definitely put in a great deal of effort in writing this article as well as using @steem-bounty for the first time with an attractive bounty of 5 steem to your article. I hope you have a pleasant experience in using @steem-bounty. Thank you for your great effort in writing this article.

Once again, thanks for introducing @steem-bounty to me. I will start to use it more and see how I can incorporate that with the @steem-oracle project that I am running.

I like bounties a lot. It can be used to distribute small tasks to the community. It can also be used as a way of advertisement for the post. And that it does so much better than the bidbot system that is deeply flawed. I think there is big potential and hope that there will be healthy adoption and maybe a further development directly with advertisement in mind.

Thanks for your comment! The bidbot system is quite flawed, but it is what is available now. Until we see more adoption of Steem Bounty, many people will still continue to use bidbots for post promotions.

Anyway, I noticed that you are a keen supporter of my Steem-Oracle project. Thank you! I have given you a follow. Hope for your continuous support!

I am really interested in using steembounty. I commented on an article last week, today I got a bounty reward. Very happy. I am going to comment more on steembounty 😃

Yea, I also love the concept of Steembounty. Hope it will become the norm later on.

Am new to this stuff
I don't get it

Free Resteem For Steem-Bounty Users

  • Your Post Got Upvote
  • Your Post Resteemed To 800+ Followers
    How it Work You can Check Here

Untitled-2.png

@culgin has set 5.000 STEEM bounty on this post! logo_for-light-bg_1000.png
What is a bounty exactly?

A bounty is money sent to a post to be distributed to the users commenting on it. It provides a way to reward users directly and works in addition to the steem/sbd they receive from the blockchain. It works independently of SteemPower.

You create a bounty by sending any amount of sbd/steem to @steem-bounty together with a post-url in the memo.

How can I earn a bounty Users are then competing for the bounty by writing their answers to the post in comments that will achieve upvotes from the community and especially the bounty creator. The money of the bounty gets distributed to all top level comments of the post at the same time when the post is paid out (7 Days after it was written). How much everyone gets depends on the votes the comments received. The sender of the bounties votes are weighted higher so that she decideds where 80% of the bounty money goes and all other votes determine the rest.

@steem-bounty does all of this for you automatically. You can use this service to automatically pay out a challenge, ask a hard question or simply to reward the people that interact with you.

Read more about how it works, even in different languages here.

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

  • @tsnaks has earned 0.757 STEEM. 0.242 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.515 STEEM from the community!
  • @elleok has earned 0.935 STEEM. 0.606 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.329 STEEM from the community!
  • @vijbzabyss has earned 0.242 STEEM. 0.242 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @celinavisaez has earned 0.242 STEEM. 0.242 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @darrylnyk has earned 0.242 STEEM. 0.242 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @lippycruz has earned 0.398 STEEM. 0.242 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.156 STEEM from the community!
  • @frdem3dot0 has earned 0.485 STEEM. 0.485 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @fun2learn has earned 0.606 STEEM. 0.606 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @jlordc has earned 0.606 STEEM. 0.606 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @antonioprado has earned 0.121 STEEM. 0.121 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @rentmoney has earned 0.121 STEEM. 0.121 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @putu300 has earned 0.121 STEEM. 0.121 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!
  • @sparkofphoenix has earned 0.121 STEEM. 0.121 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.000 STEEM from the community!

@steem-bounty seems to be a really good idea, I gonna have to try it! Thank for this well explained article buddy!

Thanks buddy! Hope to see you posting a bounty soon. Haha..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19