^.^ Joker Project ^.^

in #steemartists6 years ago

Joker_Anim.gif

Banner_01-02 (2).png

Today I got special permission to post another one of my recent works.
This is a Joker from a poker card deck I made for one of my clients. I've been working with him for the past year and a half and created quite a lot of things, but can't really show you much, because it's still in development.
I hope you don't mind, but each of the WIPs will also have a watermark on top... ^.^'

Border_01 (2).png

First I started with couple of different sketch compositions and poses, before he picked this one.
Joker_01-02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

From here on all I had to do is add colors and details. The previous sketch was too rough.
The first part was the face (obviously, hehe). Had to look for many beautiful male model's faces, but at the end made some compilation.
Joker_01-03.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

One of the hardest things was the part around his neck. I remember it took me literally a day to polish it. XD
But as far as my research went, almost every joker or jester had one (it was quite fashionable at the time).
Joker_01-04_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And my favorite part - the sleeves. ^.^
At this point I wasn't very sure what colors will be used for the rest of the clothes, but kept going.
Joker_01-05.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

After another bit of research found that the red and golden colors were usually combined with more cold and dark shades of gray and blue. So finally my color scheme was complete. All I had to do now is finishing the folds and gloves.
Joker_01-07_01.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

With this I thought my piece was done. And my client also liked it a lot... for only a day... XD
Joker_01-07_02.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

One of the funniest stories about this piece is that my client asked me to make some alterations.
He wanted bigger arm and a smile. Easy to say than done. It's a lot harder when you already painted everything. At least I tried, hehe. XD
Joker_01-08.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

Everything was fine... until the next day when he said: "It wasn't enough. I want more muscular arm and wider smile. You can do it. If you can't, just learn how to..."
So this Pet here gives it all and here's the last version. ^.^
Joker_01-09.jpg

Border_01 (2).png

And here's the GIF... It's so funny, I just had to make it!
In the end Size does matter! XD
Joker_Anim_Full.gif

Border_01 (2).png

Well, I hope you like it.
Have a great day, everyone!
Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Congratulations on the curie upvote @katalinaooma

You did an excellent job with this piece, as usual. I knew this took you hours to make. I'm guessing it was more on the client preferences that posed a challenge in rendering the piece.

I'm just gonna name drop @kothy here since she's also inspired by your works and also got a recent curie vote. :D

Ooooooh! It's the one for the online poker game!

The same. ;))) I finally got a permission to post it on Steemit. ^.^
Congrats on your curie, dear! I'm so proud of you! <3 ^.^

Thank you so much, @adamada! It was a great surprise for me - I just posted it before going to sleep and after I woke up... WOW!
Yeah, my client had a specific idea of the Joker so i had to try and adjust my skills to his vision.

I'm so happy about @kothy <3 - she had a huge improvement for the last couple of months! ^.^
I'm a bit overworked right now and haven't been active enough. XD

Well you deserve the recognition after being consistent about posting good content here. Both of you. :D

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much, @c-squared! Much appreciated! ^.^

I think I saw your sketch of him a long time ago ? :D It is great to see this finished, Katalina ! The colours are very lovely, rich and bold, the red and gold really brings a jesterly and festive finish to the piccar :> Good work !

And congrats on curie \o/

Thank you, dear! Yeah, I showed it couple of months ago on the Steemartists' chat. Only recently got permission to post it on Steemit and even my client read the post. XD He liked it. ^.^

Thank you so much! I'm really surprised but happy that they like it. ^.^ <3

This is fantastic! The gif is the best part, I love how the bulging bicep breaks open the fringes on the sleeve!

Great story/commentary, thank you for sharing your work and life (worklife?) here with us on Steem! I found you on @c-squared blog, they do some incredible work there curating art ;p

Thank you so much, @ecoinstant! Really glad you like it! ^.^ Yeah, the growing arm and the changes on the sleeve was my client's idea. It was a bit hard to repaint it on already finished illustration, but hope it was worth it. ;)

@c-squared is amazing! It has amazing curators there and incredible artworks! <3 ^.^

It is this fabulous story arc that so enhances your post! Blessings!

This picture has certainly gone through quite an adventurous journey until it reached its end form. I think you rendered the picture excellently, and though it is understandable that your client wanted something different for the final look, it is also quite vexing to change the expression of the man into becoming more and more grinning and muscular. Hmm... it might be a reflection of his own personal desire? :)

Congratulations my dear.

Thank you, my dear! It was a week (or maybe two) filled with exciting moments. XD Did I mention I made another version of the Joker - one with flat colors. I didn't want to bore you to death. XD

Haha, he is quite demanding person, yeah. I wasn't angry, but rather a bit concern whether or not I have the skills to change the illustration the way he wanted it. That's why didn't make many changes on the face, only the mouth and parts around the eyes.

Hi katalinaooma,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, thank you very much, @curie! It's such honor that you like and appreciate my work! Thank you once again! ^.^

This is really nice @katalinaooma I had to laugh clicking on the post and seeing the gif image :) You did a great job here on the details, and I can imagine your client is very happy with these cards if they are finally done after the waiting :) But good work takes time, and it will be worth the wait :)

Thank you so much, @anouk.nox! <3
Yeah, he's quite demanding, but waited patiently until the whole deck of cards was done. ;) I'm really glad that the other cards don't have illustrations, only symbols and color. ;)

This is an exceptional piece. Your client is right...the smile becomes him and emphasizes his mischievous eyes. The gif is indeed funny.
Your work is so good that I wish I had your artistic talents too. I am glad I found this though...made me smile this morning!

Thank you, @cheekah! I'm really glad my pieces can make people happy and laughing. That's the best gift for me!
Don't worry, if you want to improve your artistic skill, just focus and make something every day, even for couple of minutes. I didn't go to an art school, had some drawing classes but only traditional methods. I'm a self-taught digital illustrator. ;)))

Wow! Self taught and you are so good! I am so going to take your advice...who knows someday, I may be as good as you. Thank you!

Ha! Ha! that Gif put a smile on my face. You must have a lot of patience to put up with clients continuing to ask for changes from a finished piece. I glad you we're able to satify him in the end for it is extraordinary art . I appreciate you showing the step, its great to see a picture come to like. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much, @porters! I'm really glad you enjoy the steps. ^.^
Yeah, patience is a key when working with many clients (I've known this one for a year so he's also a friend of mine), because everyone is different and has unique vision (or no vision at all, it happens sometimes XD) of a certain project. I'm always trying to think like a designer, and the designer's job is to visualize somebody else's idea. ;)

Cool! Thanks for the insight on designers.

I watched that gif for ages looling at all the didferent changes you had to make between versions- it must have taken a lot of rime and some serious skill to make each change ao seamlessly! Especially having to add an extra row of teeth in the last one!!

Massive congratulations on the Curie vote- exceptional work.
E x

Thank you so much, @eveningart! ^.^ Yeah, I tried to make changes as minimum as possible. It's really hard to make alterations when the drawing is finished. I had a lot of layers and folders for every part of the body. ;)

Thank you very much! I'm really glad you like it! ^.^

Oh yes- I can imagine each change was super-complex to achieve - I'm so impressed, I think I'd have chewed my arm off in frustration!!
E x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64