Data is king, so is the interpretation?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

misinterpretation.jpg

@ned has recently undelegated the SP from a couple of Steemians including me. Some curious Steemians analyzed the data and try to reveal something. I do agree that data is king (if the data is right), while the conclusions from people's interpretation are not always the king.

To avoid some people's potential abuse of freedom of speech due to the lack of enough background information, I would like to clarify some points from my point of view.

  1. @ned did not contact me at all, neither before the delegation nor after the withdrawal of delegation. I do know the reason of this delegation is that he was carrying out the delegation experiment to see what would happen from the delegation. The centralization of Steem power is a challenge for Steem as you may be aware. Now the experiment of decentralization seems partially finished.

  2. @ned's main goal was to see how the delegation would help the CN and HK Steem community. That is why five of the delegatees are Chinese. That is also why I spent most of my time on helping the CN and HK Steemians (actually Chinese posts), but I did spend a bit time on English posts from all over the world (I was also trying to help African Steemians).

  3. A lot of STEEM I got in September is from the money I invested (around 50000 CNY, 7000 USD equivalent). I bought 5959.59 STEEM from exchange BITTREX.com, showing my faith on Steem blockchain. I have not cashed out any fiat money from Steem yet, though it is completely up to me.

  4. I did help some Steemians to cash out SBD/STEEM, which is why I received some SBD/STEEM from them. It is not a secret at all if you have read my Chinese posts.

  5. Just like I invested in Steem, I have also been writing quality posts mostly in Chinese everyday. And I comment people's posts as well as promote Steem, and give them suggestions. I upvote my posts as well as other people's. Maybe some best quality posts did not always get well paid, but I try to avoid low-quality posts getting well paid. I am not a machine.

  6. Self-voting is not wrong, as the system allows self-voting, especially when your posts are better than others'. As the SP was delegated from @ned rather than mine own, I always check how high my self-voting rate is, which was fortunately always lower than 10% during the delegation period. This rate is far lower than that of a lot of popular Steemians.

  7. Upvoting takes long time, and it is hard work. Even if each upvote takes ONLY 30 seconds, upvoting 1327 times a day means at least needing 11.05 hours (UPDATE 1 & UPDATE 2: the data 1327 upvotes daily of one delegatee calculated by @paulag is totally wrong). Do you think a single human being can read each post within 30 seconds? and works for Steemit 11 hours everyday without the help of robots (or other human beings)? I cannot. I try to read MOST of the posts I upvote and ask no help from robots/other people. The curation is making outstanding posts stand out.

  8. Memos of transactions showing the links asking for upvotes does not necessarily prove the curators are selling upvotes. I also received these annoying transactions, I just simply ignore them since I cannot stop people doing it. I personally do not believe that @sweetsssj would think the upvote selling is worth her reputation. Sure, I may be wrong.

  9. @justyy has been running a "bank" to borrow SP from Steemians to help CN minnows, that is why @htliao delegated his own 500 SP to @justyy as an attitude to support minnows. What is the problem?

  10. It is absolutely good to find a very trustable person to wisely upvote Steemians with the huge SP delegation. I show my great respect to these kind of people. But a decentralized Steem blockchain should not necessarily rely on GOOD curators. In terms of human nature, MOST of us are essentially the same. At least for me, I am not a person without any selfishness. The answer should be improving the algorithm and system rules of Steem.

I appreciate @ned giving us the chance and trust to contribute to Steem community, and thank you guys paying attention to us (If @ned read this post, you are not necessary to respond, since you have many more exciting work to do).

Money talks, but as a 10 years old blogger, I still love blogging even there is no money, not to mention now happily embrace blockchain while blogging, as I am a BIG fan of bitcoin for more than 4 years.

Steem on.

Image via pixabay.com


https://cnsteem.com 首发。感谢阅读,如有可能,欢迎Follow, Upvote, Reply, Resteem (repost) @tumutanzi 激励我创作更多更好的内容。

Sort:  

Great work! Thanks for mentioning me, as always :)

The most charming thing in blockchain is that data is king, data is also transparent. While the interpretation without any deep investigation just for grabbing someone's attention, it's irresponsible.

I am happy to give some background information.

Yes, raw data is always available but not everyone can get the right value out of it. Being open, there is always a risk of people eyeing the 'assets' that you have and it always a two-sided event (supporting and vice versa). I do agree with that posts to some extent but making such critics and using free-speech right as the defense is just childish. Nevertheless, I believe the community that you helped will be there backing up for you and all others Steemers too :)

Google translator got sad today as @tumutanzi posted in English. just kidding. Probably the 3rd English post i have seen from you.
Wow, you used your own 6-7k $ for steem, this is unbelievable.
Undelegation or not which is not matter at all, I just love to read your post and it because these posts help me to know what steemit is and giving me so much tips about writing.
I am so happy that you and your posts help me all the time and will be in future.

Thank you for your support, which helps a lot.

I can write in English, but I do like to use my own native langauge, because most of my readers cannot use English very well. For myself, writing is a kind of my life style. It has nothing to do with language.

It is impressive you are trying use Google translate to understand my posts. I may try to give a bit summary of each post in the future if I have enough time. My future job is very busy, and luckily I will get well paid too. :)

Stay in touch.

actually , I should thank you and your huge support.
I know about that. Even you can speak fluently , i heard it from that clip of you posted on street music.
so there have no doubt on that.

There has no hard work actually by using the translator as google translator is much better than the past.
Especially i love to read your post, so obviously i will be in touch with you.
So happy to heard about your new job, congratulations and best wishes for you.

Maybe @ned has sent the delegation as a gift to reward the people who made great contribution to the community. And you are trying hard to make this community bigger with this power. A lot of your readers have joined Steemit after your recommendation, including me. I didn’t know anything about block-chain or bitcoin before, but now I am trying to introduce them to my friends and readers. I can see @surpassinggoogle are up-voting more people from the data but I can see you guys are reading my posts carefully when up-voting. I really appreciate that I could get better payout when my post is in better quality. And sometimes, I also receive the comments from you. I feel so honored when others are reading what I write and expressing their opinions. Now I feel this community is like a big family, and I will keep on posting, promoting and supporting #steemit community.

I know you are a long-time blogger, and most of your posts I like reading. That is why support your posts.

And thank you for your support. But you are not necessarily support me, what you need to support is the rightness and truth. As a human being, I may make mistakes too.

感谢坛子哥对中文社区的奉献与支持,特别是对我这样的许多新人,没有坛子哥和其他许多热心的前辈,很多人不可能加入和坚持写作。公道自在人心。Money talks, but we may not follow the money only.People talks,but someone may mislead others. Time will tell.

这是有喷子出现了?
所以蛋糕要做大,还要不断变大。

倒也不算喷子,就是有人瞎分析,然后乱扣帽子,不客观,所以我要摆出更全面的信息。

This is so nice of you to explain in details. and thanks for doing the community. I also wish one day @sweetssj would notice and check out my posts since I regularly post about my travels. But still forever grateful for this community!

一如既往支持、拥护谭老师!
Thanks so much for your time and effort spent, to help us CN Steemians.
So, to those “curious Steemians”:

这配图找的,厉害!

哈哈哈~ 谢谢o( ̄▽ ̄)ブ

感谢,拥护正确美好的东西即可。

hi @tumutanzi. This is a fantastic post, people have no idea what goes on behind the scenes. I can vouch that you do read the posts, in fact you have helped my on occasion by pointing out spelling errors.

I do not believe you to be selfish or anything of the sort and I would invite you to read my post today where I send kudos for what you have done
https://steemit.com/@paulag/is-it-right-or-is-it-wrong-my-thoughts-around-steemit-and-message-to-my-trolls

This is what Steemit is all about!

Thank you, I have read your posts, and do appreciate your effort to dig the data. I know blockchain is transparent, but we need someone to visualize the data.

However, there is probably some miscalculation in your analysis. As far as I know, I usually upvoted 100 times daily during the delegation period. Each day I had 20% voting power and thus 1000% voting weight, so on average 10% voting weight for each upvote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64781.14
ETH 3119.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53