You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The first phase of the Steem FAQ and Wikee: Consolidation of Knowledge

in #steem8 years ago

A few I think new users will have:

  • Why does my post say "pending payout"? Why is it my post is losing value over time?
  • How do I tag my post appropriately? Why do I only have the option to tag five items?
  • Why is it I see someone voted my post, yet when they also voted for another it is worth more than mine?
  • How do I receive push notifications when I get votes?
  • What are Whales? Dolphins? Minnows?
  • What are vests?
Sort:  

I'll give it a go on 2 of these

-1- (whales/dolphins/minnows): Each voter has a different level of power depending his Steem Power holdings. Very large stakeholders of Steem Power are called "Whales" due to their big impact when they vote. Minnows are typically new users whose voting power is very small. Dolphins are somewhere in the middle.

-2- A post may be losing value (or increasing in value) due to fluctuations in the price of steem and/or the voting occurring in other posts - as all posts share a common reward pool.

Here is an answer to your last 2 questions, read the comments in my post, thanks.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@elyaque/how-many-steempower-you-need-to-have-to-be-a-minnow-dolphin-or-a-whale

Why does my post say "pending payout"?
First of all, it's changed to potential payout. Potential because it's what you're about to be paid if that's the final payount. It's now a final payout yet because it can go up or down.

Why is it my post is losing value over time?
Partly because of the price of Steem.

How do I tag my post appropriately?
Ask yourself, what is this post about and narrow the answer to one or two words. Or what category of topics this post can placed in.

Why do I only have the option to tag five items?
One reason is to prevent spam. Another reason is that, most tags can be merged into one and therefore redundant.

Why is it I see someone voted my post, yet when they also voted for another it is worth more than mine?
One possible unsure reason is because perhaps when they voted on yours their voting power was drained and when they did on your friend, their voting power was fully recharged or high. Also there's a new slider where people with significant Steem power can adjust the weight of each vote each time they vote(Not sure how this affects the upvote value you get).

How do I receive push notifications when I get votes?
There are currently no Steemit notifications. The closest thing is a third party developers progam called Steemification on Steemtools.com( https://steemit.com/steemit/@fleuri/steemit-notifications-browser-extension-download-now ). The link to Steemtools is in the top right corner on the Steemit website in the menu. It's labeled "Steem app center" when you click on the menu. There's the possibility of a notification system implemented on the Steemit website.

What are Whales? Dolphins? Minnows?
Think of these names as names of Steemitans holding a significant amount of Steem power from the largest(whales) to still large(dolphins and minnows respectively) but less comparatively to whales.
Think of vests as just another token on the Steemit network. Whatever vests you hold is a Steem power equivalent. There's a conversion rate to view the conversion. I wrote a post on it here.
What are vests / 7-26-2016 / @kakradetome / https://steemit.com/steemit/@kakradetome/steemd-how-to-track-your-activity-on-steemit-a-behind-the-scenes-look-at-steemit / A behind the scenes look at Steemit and a bit of information about vests.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84