Scooting on Steem and added values

in #steem6 years ago

I read a post an hour or two ago from @trumpman bragging about how much Steem has done for him financially and how it has allowed him to diversify into some other coins. I find this interesting and although I am not going to list my own holdings, I think I have done relatively well considering my earned Steem in SP 18,518 and my current SP is 21,162.

This means that I have powered up some percentage of the SBD gains. But, I have also used some of the earnings to diversify and hold some other coins including XMR, BAT, XEL, Smoke, Enjin, TRX, EOS, Iota and a few others. Unlike many though, I have never taken anything out to Fiat and never bought anything with crypto. Still though, it is pretty amazing and one day I hope that I will actually feel the benefits, like @trumpman does as as he feels the wind in his back hair while riding his scooter.

Now, I don't actually have figures on this but, the Steem Blockchain has distributed a massive amount of Steem and SBD to many different users over the last 2+ years of its existence. Sure, it could be wider, have less high peaks and the mining debacle at the start could have been avoided but still, it has provided many with additional income of some sort.

What I am wondering though is what people have done with it. Yes, there are the people who have bought food or scooters, a beer or a block of land like @surfermarly but, what about those who have bought other alts. How much pressure has Steem's distribution put on prices considering that people have been earning it relatively (takes time and effort for most but very little electricity like mining) freely.

If for example we took a baseline number of 100 million dollars worth of Steem over the last two years, what has been generated on top of that through the way it has been used? Remember that this is essentially money out of thin air but when used, it will go into real people's pockets, businesses, other coins. Those other coins for example may be up quite a lot. What about all of those people that took their Steem and bought Ethereum at 10 dollars and held (current price ~490), or EOS at 50 cents (current price ~10). What is the value of that 100 million worth of Steem now?

Considering that people here should on average be investment minded and investments are meant to grow over time, it is possible that people have made significant value gains on top of their Steem holdings. People seem to forget this part of the equation as Steem prices fall as for the most part for the holder of alt coins at least, it will likely still have created larger values than it took to obtain.

The people who have sold out of Steem completely but hold a lot of EOS for example should be very, very thankful to how they were able to obtain it as for most in this Steem world, it would be nearly impossible for them to have the investments and things they do if it wasn't for Steem providing for it. Some of these people who have complained about earning so little now are going to be millionaires if they have invested it well. This is not true for those who only bought food or material items but, at least they got some food and had some fun that they wouldn't have had otherwise.

People tend to look at what is happening on-platform but fail to recognize what is happening off-platform because of Steem. There are people investing like myself who doesn't have the possibilities otherwise, there are people able to pay rents, bills, groceries, medical treatment and there are people helping children get educated. It is really easy to get lost in the shit of Steem and forget that there is a lot of value added that we never really see.

Perhaps it is because I haven't used any of it personally or, because I am looking as long as I can hoping that this will amount to something hugely beneficial for me and many, that I tend to get lost in the everyday shit also. At the moment though, I am getting crushed so hard in the real world that I have to seriously consider selling my holdings to cover it but, even with this, I do have some holdings because of Steem. Without it, where is my fallback position? More debt.

I don't mind people using their Steem as it is theirs after all but I hope that people seriously consider the opportunity to invest into their own future and give themselves a chance to have a decent sized nest egg at some point or, have a safety net to fall back on if life's crush gets too intense. At the end of the day, the people here on Steem should spend a little time being grateful to have an opportunity to make their lives, and the lives of others fundamentally better both now and potentially massively in the future.

In all, Steem has already created a lot more value and cumulative improvement of life than any government could do with the same amount of value and that is something that people really need to consider for the future. The future isn't going to be in Fiat and begging governments to lower taxes or increase welfare payments; it is going to be in communities working together for each other and developing their own social currencies, crypto.

That takes individuals to opt into being a part of a community and pulling their weight though, not relying on authorities to grant their wishes.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Note: I do not know if @trumpman's back is hairy but I took creative licence.

Sort:  

I tend to roll everything back into SP. I've only just acquired sufficient Smartcash to get the monthly bonus. Otherwise, my only crypto hodlings are Pockets and Steem monsters.
I prefer to diversify into silver, mostly the Steem silver rounds.
I save up for a while then grab a stack of them on release.
It's a handy, each way bet. If STEEM moons, I haven't completely pulled that value out (If STEEM hits $50, what do you think those 2017 coins are going to sell for?), but if STEEM tanks, I still have a fat stack of silver :)

What are steem silver rounds?

https://steemit.com/steemsilverround/@sevinwilson/2018-steem-silver-rounds-have-arrived
Last year, the silver stacking community decided to mint a limited edition silver round. The lovely @bearone here in Australia won the design comp, and 1500 were minted.
It was really popular, so we've just done the same again. 1500, this time designed by @welshstacker.
They're in the mail, which is pretty exciting :)
@coolbowser auctions off 2017 rounds occasionally.
https://steemit.com/steembay/@coolbowser/happy-fathers-day-dads-steembaying-another-2017-silver-steem-round-while-waiting-for-the-2018-edition-to-hit-the-mailbox

Oooo I have the 2017 edition (no 0123!) but didn't know there was a new one. I got to get my hands on one now :D

That's a pity. Sevin organised to have matching serial numbers assigned, so I have #8 of the 2017, so I'm getting #8 of the 2018 rounds.
If you'd known and sent through a photo with the COA you could've ordered 0123 again.

Too bad :( well I'll make sure to buy one, maybe I get lucky again and get a cool number once more 😁

If you did want to match numbers, he was doing a sale, US$70 for both coins (there were a few left over from last year) with matching numbers.
I don't know if it's still an option, but wouldn't hurt to ask.
I carry a 2017 around in my pocket, as a conversation starter :)

Nah, holding a piece of steemit history is more than enough for me. I haven't reached that level of geekyness (yet!) to obsess about matching numbers :p Can you perhaps point me to someone selling any 2018s coins ? Sorry in advance if I am breaking your balls :D

The scooter is actually the only thing I have bought with my cryptos. It definitely hurt a bit to say goodbye to some of my hard earned steems but a man has to treat himself every now and then :D.

I am inspired. When I grow up, I will be a man too. :P

It looks nice don't you think? :D

people are short sighted.
even if you get in the game late, you are in the game and opportunities will keep coming up. Unless of course if your resources are the same as they are now because you stood on the sidelines

Hello @tarazkp I invested my steem earnings last year into other coins and trying out some of the lending platforms. As I teach blogging and content writing, I intend to build a community for my classes on this within the year and hope it will help more students.

I spend my SBDs and I haven't learned how to invest Steem to alternate coins because I don't even have the Steem but the dream is there. It may take longer to get to it but I am telling you it's there... just need to gather my steem.

Hi @tarazkp, I love your articles, every day I learn more, I hope you do not mind the persecution, hahaha; but I want to get very high to help many small fish.

It would be almost impossible for them to have the investments and the things they do if it were not because Steem provides it. Some of these people who have complained about winning so little now will be millions if they have invested well. This is not true for those who only bought food or material items, but at least they got some food and had fun that they would not otherwise have.

With regard to this particular paragraph you are right, the Steem has done much and more here in our country. Many have gone even knowing Steemit, did not give him the value he has and deserves. For my family it has been a blessing since we met, and in reality we do not have the SP that we should, because we must spend on our needs.
Many acquaintances have given up their jobs because with Steem they have found the solution to their lives.

Btw shill me (us) some of your favourite holdings in your next post(s). It will make an interesting read :D

No it won't since I know nothing about how they work or why I hold them. :D

Earning steem has help alot of persons to diversify their portfolio into other valuable crypto coins . I have also achieve alot from this platform because I use my SBD earnings to buy appics token and also EOS . So steemit has created a lot of opportunities and riches for many @tarazkp

the impact of steemit is simply amazing. Am hoping steem someday pays for my masters degree in Canada (about 3 years from now). I really do not have any other use steem money than that

...why do you always make me feel so guilty for buying some food from steem?
😂😂

oh,....A hospital story which might bring a smile to your face....
you need one, I think!
https://steemit.com/blog/@lucylin/hospitals-and-mice-a-very-productive-emergency

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46