Hospitals and mice...A very productive emergency.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180609_085313.jpg

Prologue...

I love Thai people.
Their all round honesty (if you're 'in the tribe', and not a tourist).
Their selflessness.
Their 'giving' mentality is something 99% of people in the west could really learn from.

Oh, I also don't understand them in the slightest!
Seriously - after over a decade of living here, on and off - I still don't truly 'get them'... Which is fine by me, as I'm constantly surprised.
I love the place.
Here is one of those instances.....

It happened only a few hours ago..... let me set the scene..
(this is true btw, not fiction).

Chapter 1

My girlfriend was at her Mom's house last night, and around 9pm, her Mum fainted !

She getting old. (65 is 'getting old' for Thai people who have had a very tough life).
She suffers from high blood pressure and various other things.

They called the ambulance and off she went.

IMG_20180609_085313.jpg

My girlfriend came back to our house to tell me, gathering up some things quickly, while she was here. (if she had to stay overnight or something, I presumed. Never presume).

She wasn't overly stressed about it, and said it was 'just the blood pressure', so all being well, would be out the next day.
She didn't need (or want, ) me to be with her, or anything like that.

When I woke this morning she was home, and was sleeping soundly. (Outside, on the sofa.)

Chapter 2

IMG_20180614_152913_1CS.jpg

The mouse I use on my computer is a very well behaved little mouse, and I liked it. We were friends.
You know how you just prefer some types of mice than others?
Well, this was my favorite pet mouse so to speak.
But he was very ill.
(I never called the ambulance for him though).

I'm not very empathic to my my mice, it has to be said.
Truth be told, I'm a bit of a callous bastard with them, and when they get too ill, I normally give them a quick burial service into the nearest waste bin, and plug in a new one.

Which is exactly what I did yesterday.

But Me and my new mouse didn't like each other that much.
At all. Which is fine, sometime you have to build that relationship up, over time.
He just wasn't as user friendly as the one that I had just 'retired'.

Chapter 3 - The finale!!!

When I awoke to find my girlfriend sleeping, I made her a coffee for if she woke up, which she did.
It turn out her mum had been admitted for a couple of days, but she didnt seem overly stressed about the situation.

As we sipped our morning coffee, with the sun already up, she suddenly said, "Oh, I have a present for you."
(which seemed a little strange considering where she had been until the early hours).

lklk.jpg

Rummaging in her bag, she pulled out something that was in a white supermarket type plastic carrier, and passed it to me.

My 'retired' mouse!

"Uh?" I said, or something equally legible pre second coffee.

" I fixed your mouse last night!" Lucy said, very matter of factly. "When I was at the hospital, it gave me something to do."

And it worked perfectly!
It just needed some TLC of it's own (and needed the insides emptying of tobacco, apparently- oops)

So while my girlfriend's mum was lying in hospital, she was 'doing electronics' on the bed!

Ya just gotta love this place.

Oh, it gets better.....

" I took photo's while I was cleaning your mouse, and emailed them to you. You might be able to use them on steemit, or you tube, or something,"

IMG_20180622_084321(1).jpg

.....and he's 'clicking fit' again!
I am such a bastard though...I never gave him any rest - I'm working him already, doing this post!

Sort:  

So, you are saying your mouse went to the hospital where he got all fixed up.

I'm sure that if this was in a 'merican hospital, they would have made sure that mouse was dead. Dead, dead, dead. And just for good measure, they would let out the magic smoke.

...or they would have given him a really bad virus and sent him home.

oh crap.......I'm infected then, is that what your'e saying? shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit.........

At least it's not bird flu!

No, i'm sayin that's what happens in a 'merican hospital. And, i think you are just about as far away from a 'merican hospital as you can get.

^_^

So, your girlfriend did electro mechanical trouble shooting in her spare time......does she have a twin sister?

(ya lucky duck)
(hope mom gets better)

...if it involves taking things to pieces and fixing them, just point her in the direction..
(she's pretty good with motorbikes to! lol)

Thanks,
she still in there- but annoying everyone, so she'll be out soon...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57328.77
ETH 3111.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42