Going Legit: The gap between blog and reality

in #steem6 years ago

Since it is Saturday night and all is quiet on the Steem feed, I thought I would write about something more discussion based. @abh12345 mentioned in his Steemfest Journey post a couple of things that I would like to build upon in some way.

Firstly,

You can get all shitty about it if you want, but networking is a large part of the Steem ecosystem. Closed circles is not what I wish to see, but you need some 'regulars' appearing with votes. And Steemfest is a pretty good way to gather up a few.

Secondly,

Why? Because you can sit having a beer with someone, play a game of pool, and seeing how they are as person. I don't want to support money grabbing selfish douche-bags, so the in-person check is good to have.

Building relationships

 
To start with. Yes, no one likes circle jerks except for those being jerked but it is true that having regulars is a necessary part of building a successful blog here and, surprise surprise, that takes networking and it comes in many forms. People don't like the idea of having to socialize which is strange considering this is a form of social media.

Too many would rather just post and not really have much to do with anyone else and then wonder why they are unable to get or continue to get support. It isn't about Steem cheer leading mind you, it is about actually caring about what is going on both with Steem and, with people.

As Asher said, having some regulars who trust you and your content enough that they can vote from time to time knowing it is going to have some value in it is an important factor and, that requires building some kind of relationship. A good relationship doesn't need a lot of words, it needs a lot of trust.

People like to talk about the quality of their content but, it is much more than that as people may like content but, they prefer to support the people behind it. The way people interact holds engagement value as here, it is really the only way you can publicly know what someone is like. In chats and off-chain, relationships can further build and grow.

However, this is Steem, this is the internet, scam is everywhere. Which leads me onto the second point.

Getting into the real

 
We read stories way too often about famous people (politicians/actors/CEOs etc) who have said this and then been caught doing that and, we are surprised and outraged that the reality of the person doesn't hold up under scrutiny of the public persona. Yet, this is how many people approach social media isn't it?

People curate their blogrolls and feeds to show a side of them, not the whole them. They are looking to get something out of their profile whether it be attention, sympathy, likes, love or votes so, they offer what they think will attract what they are aiming to get. But, the difference between their online persona and their reality can be very large indeed. The screen that protects the keyboard warrior, also shelters the keyboard fabricator.

People tend to embellish their positions like fishermen telling a fishing tale when they feel they can't get caught or there is no proof. This is why Asher mentions the "in-person check" because the reality of a person is much harder to hide when face to face. This is especially true for people who have never had to physically hide because the screen hides their true responses.

The gap between

 
For me, this is part of the reason I would really love to go to Steemfest 3 and meet people because I get to spend some time seeing people in their real bodies, not their avatars. This has nothing to do with looks though, it is about the conflicts between what is on chain and what is in reality.

Personally and perhaps tragically, I tend to be much the same in reality as I am at Steem because for me, I can't do this just for votes, I need some authenticity for myself, some self-respect. I keep the embellishments to a bare minimum because of my view of myself and my personal ethics.

This is the challenge for many on Steem though as they have potentially crafted a position and persona for themselves that falls apart if met in person. They talk the talk but, can they walk the walk? Having a game of pool and a chat over a beer, seeing them talk with others, watching how they are around the bigger fish, tells a lot about them and how large the persona/reality gap may be.

This is not about only talking about Steem stuff or whatever content is their niche though, it is just in general. What are they like as people? And, this is a very important question to ask and think about when either giving support or, looking for support considering people will support content short-term but, the person long-term.

Unedited and raw

 
I see it like any relationship, it is the looks (content) that might attract in the first place but it is the personality that keeps people reading and willing to continue the relationship. The relationships that start on lies, generally end as truths are revealed which is why, no matter how weird or freaky someone is, they should be authentic as then, they will attract people who are interested in them, not the persona they play.

Authenticity seems to be a rare trait in the online world and the reality of a person is rarely what is presented. It is like seeing supermodels without Photoshop support, much less wow with many more flaws. When applied to Steem, it is likely that many more are as Asher put it, money grabbing selfish douche-bags, then they let on in their blogs.

I wonder how many will avoid meeting face to face because they are worried about being found out? How many are not what they seem? How many are catfishing on Steem for votes?

The more I think about going to Steemfest in Poland, the more I want to go and meet people. I don't care about the uncovering of those who lie but, I am pretty sure that there will be some very cool people I will genuinely enjoy the company of and that will definitely make the trip worth it.

I just don't know how I am going to keep the monkey that writes my posts hidden from view...

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

In a strange slightly "backwards" sort of way, I think @surpassinggoogle is onto some of that with the "ulog" initiative.

At first, I thought that was going to be an invitation to oceans of shitposts, but there are some pretty sincere more personal blogs emerging from that.

No, it is certainly not the same as going to SteemFest and having a beer with someone, but it's a bit of a stepping stone towards the kind of authenticity we had in blogging 15 years ago. Were people more sincere and authentic, 15 years ago? Nope, I don't believe so... but I don't think the idea of developing an "online persona" had been as developed/exploited yet... so most people were "just themselves."

Asher has an interesting role in this, too. His "leagues" tend to encourage a level of engagement that transcends "just leaving a comment;" people end up having lengthy comment dialogues, as a result of which there is more of an authentic revealing of self.

Much as I would love to go to SteemFest, it's going to have to wait a couple of years... but I would enjoy meeting some of the "real" people behind the posts.

I agree with you on the whole #ulogs thing that Terry has created.

It has opened up a world that people can be real, that they can show who they are and what they do in their offchain life.

Sure there have been people who try to abuse it and we even had people that were plagiarizing and because the community is more involved in curating, engaging and commentinh authentically then people are quick to see this and act on correcting the wrong behavior.

At first, I thought that was going to be an invitation to oceans of shitposts, but there are some pretty sincere more personal blogs emerging from that.

I agree with every word of this. I, too, thought ulogs were going to be awful. (I wade through enough junk every day that I sure don't need more!) And my husband remarked, "It's going to be the I'm-sitting-on-the-patio of Steemit." (A reference to a sarcastic skit about Twitter.)

But I have seen some amazing things published under this initiative. I look forward to seeing the tag -- especially from the good writers I follow. It shows what sincere and creative people can do -- and it all surprises me ... start to finish ... in a wonderful way. That, too, is all too uncommon.

I had a strange wake-up call with Ulogs, in realizing that they were basically what we were doing almost 20 years ago, pre-Farcebook.

Blogs were social. And they were about personal stories. And some of those were very deep and authentic. And people would have substantial "conversations" back and forth in their comment sections... because "comment sections" (aka "interaction") was a totally new gig, in 1999... before that, we only had message boards for that.

So the wake-up call was "This is actually how I learned to blog!"

Except, I realized I had come really far off track, and was stuck in the whole "writing about a topic" in what was almost a "third-person" article style. It actually has taken me almost 18 months on Steemit (and 12000+ posts) to UN-learn that... wow!

I also had to UN-learn being worried about whether a Ulog I might write was (to my mind) "rewards worthy."

And I had to ask myself "Why does that matter?" I mean, I'm mostly writing for my own enjoyment... and if people don't think something is "rewards worthy," then they should just not reward it... but I shouldn't have to censor my own content on that account.

And yes, there's some really good stuff out there!

Were people more sincere and authentic, 15 years ago? Nope, I don't believe so... but I don't think the idea of developing an "online persona" had been as developed/exploited yet... so most people were "just themselves."

I don't think they were more sincere either, just worse at personal branding. These days though, I feel that I see through a lot of the branding now and am more sensitive to potential engineering of circumstance. I am much more on guard when I expose myself to mass consumption type content too.

Asher has an interesting role in this, too. His "leagues" tend to encourage a level of engagement that transcends "just leaving a comment;" people end up having lengthy comment dialogues, as a result of which there is more of an authentic revealing of self.

Yep, it does tend to create better engagers and even if they start off looking for reward, many have shifted to actually being part of the community. He has done well with it.

In a strange slightly "backwards" sort of way, I think @surpassinggoogle is onto some of that with the "ulog" initiative.

I think it has also brought some people out of anonymity and given them a chance to reveal themselves. I haven't investigated it much but from what I have seen, @dlive has grown in popularity because of it too. Good to see.

First thing that struck to me about this post was the word 'legit' in the title. A couple of days ago I used something similar in the free-write post by saying that going to steemfest was like trying to legitimize our virtual contacts here. I was a little worried that people might take it the wrong way. If it wasn't for the 'no-editing-allowed' rule, I would have edited it out.

I previously read Asher's post (also combine this post) and again encountered some thoughts, that I was a bit afraid of vocalizing. I guess I am new enough to have to watch my words more carefully than most. The point was about having a few regulars and yet not allowing that to devolve into a circle jerk.

Really glad that somebody vocalized it because I sure hell wasn't going to, at least not now............ in another six months -maybe.

going to steemfest was like trying to legitimize our virtual contacts here.

Yep. Not that I have ever online dated but, it is like meeting in person for the first time after chatting and working out how much of the virtual is reality. The social (this case face to face) contract will be a stronger bond than the virtual if the terms are met.

Really glad that somebody vocalized it because I sure hell wasn't going to, at least not now............ in another six months -maybe.

I know this feeling and when I started being a little more outspoken on various things some year or more ago, it was a bit scary. I have to say, I lost support but, also gained support. Again, it was about my own authenticity and even though I wasn't always correct in my assessments or views, I learned a lot and hopefully that counted for something.

Put into words that make for much more pleasant reading than I could ever do.

I must say that last year, folks were very legit in person, maybe even more so than their blog represented.

How many are catfishing on Steem for votes?

I'd love to know the answer to this. Got my eye on a few for sure!

Cheers for the mentions, it will be nice to enjoy a cold polish beer in November, providing our 90% hits 100 in the meantime.

I must say that last year, folks were very legit in person, maybe even more so than their blog represented.

I think that this might be because their blogs are engineered for a purpose but face to face (even though different) they can be great people. This is why I am not concerned with the gap in content but, the gap in engagement more.

I'd love to know the answer to this. Got my eye on a few for sure!

Me too :)

Cheers for the mentions, it will be nice to enjoy a cold polish beer in November, providing our 90% hits 100 in the meantime.

Looking forward to it and if the 10% wins, then somewhere else. Spain is nice I hear.

Yeah for sure re:blog and content. I also think people can express a smile or words or self, better in person - I think that is true for me.

Spain is nice, right now - November is a bit more of a gamble 😊

I have to agree about the 'building relationships' part of this. It was less than one month since I joined Steemit that I attended SteemCamp Birmingham and met some influential people such as @steevc and @lloyddavis.

It was a very small event but quite vital to my start of the road, and I almost didn't go thinking it may have been a little cultish.

I'm quite sure Ill be at the Poland gig, but how will people recognise me? Should I print out my avatar and create a slobberchops mask so I don't have the repeat question, 'so who are you?'

Surprisingly enough, that is not the real me, but a real maniac :)

It was a very small event but quite vital to my start of the road,

It is interesting who one starts with affects progress. Tis is why so many who are directed from Youtube fail as they come in with money grabbers, find money grabbers and circle vote each other except, they have no money....

I'm quite sure Ill be at the Poland gig, but how will people recognise me?

I think a name tag will suffice :P

Hi Taraz. Wish I could join you but like you would like to put a face to the avatars. The group I talk to on a regular basis I know are not douche bags but would like to know who to avoid by a bit of networking. People can't hide certain traits and I can normally see a fake a mile off.
One of these days we will catch up and have a drink somewhere anyway.

there are lots of good people here and I am hoping that (if i can make it) Steemfest will solidify my view of them rather than weaken it.

One of these days we will catch up and have a drink somewhere anyway.

Looking forward to it :)

I agree there are loads of decent people on here. Making a connection face to face through a social event would I think help one enormously. I also look forward to it.

You always seem to hit the nail right on the head. I've tried to be honest with my persona, while deliberately not divulging too much for the now. I guess it's just guilt worrying me cause I agree with virtually everything you've stated.

I definitely can't attend steemfest for a few years but we will definitely meet someday Taraz, that's a given

I've tried to be honest with my persona, while deliberately not divulging too much for the now.

There is nothing wrong with the privacy, the cover, the whatever I think. The problem is when the reality of a person is not worthy of the position they profess. We live in a world of virtue signalling by the virtue-less.

This is really an eye-opening post not just in steemit but also all apps in social medias.

This is where I hate the term "personal brand" with the departure of the gate keepers, everyone is free to create their own path and to be their own production studio. the problem with that is so many of these people are not so much letting us into their lives as they are creating a persona and marketing that character on all of the social media sites.

Now I have never been very open with people in my life. I always felt safer as a loner then part of the group and my social media accounts reflected that. Steemit, on the other hand, is the first site where I actually look forward to being open and honest. and I hope to people on the other side feels that too because the last thing I want now is to talk to a "personality." instead of a human being.

the problem with that is so many of these people are not so much letting us into their lives as they are creating a persona and marketing that character on all of the social media sites.

It is a scourge on humanity really :)

Steemit, on the other hand, is the first site where I actually look forward to being open and honest.

Even though I have other accounts on FB etc, I feel that Steem is the more honest me and I think, it is because I am actually invested into it. It doesn't take a loss of anonymity though I think (obviously if meeting in person anonymity is lost to some degree) but, there seems to be some authenticity in the people who are actually invested for the long term. Perhaps it the immutability or more likely, they believe there is a future here.

Sure, there are a lot of scammers and a-holes out there, but I figure if you're going to make the effort of going to Steemfest, you must be at least a bit nice and care about the community. Also, I think people are going to be on a good (if not best) behavior, because this is after all largely a networking event. Being nice and likeable can pull you in a lot of big votes, so even the a-holes might be tempted to play nice...
Honestly, I have no clue what it's going to be like...but I'm hoping for awesome. And don't worry about the monkey. Surely, he will find some other monkeys to play with ;)

Sure, there are a lot of scammers and a-holes out there, but I figure if you're going to make the effort of going to Steemfest, you must be at least a bit nice and care about the community.

I would say you are right. Those who attend are likely the ones who think they can maintain their position.

Honestly, I have no clue what it's going to be like...but I'm hoping for awesome. And don't worry about the monkey. Surely, he will find some other monkeys to play with ;)

I am glad you are going and I hope you are able to get some support. I am hoping I can go too, even if the monkey is out of the bag ;)

I'd really be interested to know what people think of me in person after reading what I have to say in posts and comments day in and day out. I think I'm putting out an authentic version of myself, but when it's all text and screen, can it be totally authentic without the flesh and bones, the vocal tone, the nonverbal body language and cues?

I don't know. Can it?

I do have a tendency to be a little more reserved at times. I don't know that I always type exactly what I want to say. I know I end up saying things on the spur of the moment in person that I generally end up rethinking and either modifying or deleting before I let it go here.

So, I've wondered for a long time how I am perceived.

At the same time, I've tried to take people here at face value. I don't even know the names of most people, since anonymity is king. And yet, some of them seem like people I'd like to hang around with in real life. How do I know who they are or what they're really about? I don't.

That's probably going to be the ongoing plague of the online world. We will only see what others want us to see, and vice versa. And at the same time, we can be as authentic as we know how to be, and still end up coming off different in real life. Not sure why that is, but I expect that if I were able to show up to SteemFest 3, I would hear more people saying, "You're not what I expected," even though my face is what people see on my comments, and my demeanor is basically the same.

However, I guess there's the possibility of the same thing happening to me with them, even though they've been as genuine as they know how to be. So we have the deliberate facades, and then the expectations or perceptions that we come up with for others that will probably be off base to some degree too.

All of that leading to your reasoning behind meeting people. To find out if there is more to it behind the authenticity portrayed in words, and likewise, the facade.

I don't know. Can it?

I don't think so but, meeting in person can add context and depth to the writing. reading and then meeting can deepen the view and create a better connection/relationship between writing and reader.

And yet, some of them seem like people I'd like to hang around with in real life. How do I know who they are or what they're really about? I don't.

I find this too and even though I am skeptical in general of most things, there are people who seem authentic and it is hard to be objective. I generally take the position of, I can hang out with anyone once :)

I would hear more people saying, "You're not what I expected," even though my face is what people see on my comments, and my demeanor is basically the same.

Perhaps this speaks of them, not you. Perhaps they expect people to be different because they are?

re: meeting in person...can deepen the view

Hey, @tarazkp. I suppose that's what we hope for, that meeting people will give us the genuine article, or at least closer to who that person is than what we may get from their posts, comments, or messages.

re: hang out with anyone once

Very true. Over the years I've gone from giving everyone the benefit of the doubt, to being too cautious, to basically deciding that regardless of who they are, I'm just going to be me. I don't have anyone else to be. Sometimes that draws out the real them. Sometimes it doesn't.

re: speaks of them

I would say it does speak more about them. And sometimes the real us onscreen isn't quite the same as the real us in person, too. I've seen someone's face or heard their voice first, and it's amazing how sometimes, face and voice don't match up.

Regardless, if I do end up meeting any one that I'm currently connected with on Steemit in person, I will be me, and go from there. Can't really make them be them. It'll be great if it's not awkward the entire time for whatever reasons, but rather, we pick right up where we left off online. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34