You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Going Legit: The gap between blog and reality

in #steem6 years ago

This is where I hate the term "personal brand" with the departure of the gate keepers, everyone is free to create their own path and to be their own production studio. the problem with that is so many of these people are not so much letting us into their lives as they are creating a persona and marketing that character on all of the social media sites.

Now I have never been very open with people in my life. I always felt safer as a loner then part of the group and my social media accounts reflected that. Steemit, on the other hand, is the first site where I actually look forward to being open and honest. and I hope to people on the other side feels that too because the last thing I want now is to talk to a "personality." instead of a human being.

Sort:  

the problem with that is so many of these people are not so much letting us into their lives as they are creating a persona and marketing that character on all of the social media sites.

It is a scourge on humanity really :)

Steemit, on the other hand, is the first site where I actually look forward to being open and honest.

Even though I have other accounts on FB etc, I feel that Steem is the more honest me and I think, it is because I am actually invested into it. It doesn't take a loss of anonymity though I think (obviously if meeting in person anonymity is lost to some degree) but, there seems to be some authenticity in the people who are actually invested for the long term. Perhaps it the immutability or more likely, they believe there is a future here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58131.27
ETH 2360.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38