Analytics and the engagement potential through personal feedback

in #steem5 years ago

Asher (@abh12345) created one of his infamous personal statistics posts and this time had a look at all the votes from 2018 and plotted them on two pie charts; whether they went to accounts with more or less SP and then, to which user classes.

Obviously, the first pie chart is going to depend quite a lot on what the SP holdings are of the voting account being evaluated so I thought I would have a look at where I am positioned in the rankings. I checked this from steemfriends.org which is a fun site to explore a little and found that with 36,646 SP, I am in 447th position when it comes to own SP powered up. That means there are 446 accounts with more SP than me powered up.

and my chart looks like this:

No real surprises there as there aren't that many accounts with more than me but after 2 years on the platform, I know quite a few of them and vote as I see fit. 11% of my votes landed somewhere in those 446 accounts above with 89% going down the list. But down the list to where? Enter pie chart number 2.

What this says is that 70% of my votes go to accounts with less than 5000 SP and almost half of that goes to accounts with less than 500 SP of their own. This is based of course on number of votes, not value of votes themselves but it goes to show something if you look at the numbers in the top chart again.

Some account feedback views

In 2018 I cast 27,964 votes (all manually) on the platform which is, 76.6 votes on average per day. Of course, I don't read 76 articles per day but, I do read a hell of a lot of comments every day from those who like to engage. The vast majority of the votes I cast by number is on comments I receive as I see it as a good way to reward my readers. On a side note, I have also replied to most of those comments as I believe that if someone takes the time to comment, try to comment back something of value at least. It isn't always possible of course but, it is much more possible than most seem to do.

At the moment due to price, I am likely averaging 6-7% voting weight on comments to make sure it goes above the dust threshold. Last week I cast 180 votes on comments (average weight 6%) on 80 different accounts, which means that in the seven days it is about 11x100% votes on comments. This is lower than normal because I have been so busy and have been posting less than average and therefore get less comments than normal too. I can see this as my ranking in this post is 49 but I have been in the top 30 for most of the last year at least for encouraging discussion and engagement. Something I value.

Gamify the numbers to engage

These various charts that Asher creates are interesting for as you can see, one is able to get a better idea of behaviors and perhaps even see some opportunities to improve in various ways. For me at least, this is why I think that gamifying the platform and providing much better analytics for groups and of course personal accounts would go a long, long way in increasing interest in the platform. This in turn would also increase engagement as people find out interesting ways to improve and of course, interesting things about others.

The platform's users are hungry for this kind of feedback and Asher's post from 5 hours ago already has 65 comments on it and, it wasn't a post about some drama or complaint, it was offering personal feedback. This idea of providing services that offer direct feedback to users should be leveraged heavily and hopefully with the upcoming possibilities of Hivemind (the full version) there are going to be more capabilities to more easily develop tools and get much more granular information.

Add personal feedback

Personal analytics should be a key focus of every application and interface that is looking to build a consistent following on Steem. However broken it was, people liked having the view counter (VERY BROKEN) but in this day and age, it really isn't enough when Twitter and Facebook, Google and Instagram are offering much more finely tuned (albeit mostly bullshit) statistics that encourage and direct people to develop and get emotionally invested. Funny how numbers can do that.

What it also does is help users find a path by being able to see what other users are doing as This is Steem and the numbers are transparent, the good, the bad and the ugly. This creates various dynamics and conversations and ends up developing cultures and sub-group communities of various types as they model off each other.

For example, sure there are a lot of maximizers here that want to grow with as little effort as possible but as I see it, not many of them I have observed over the last two years have out-performed my results. Of course, it has taken a lot of work as I haven't taken the 'as little effort as possible' but, the work I have done has allowed me to build a very strong foundation considering I was a zero starter two years ago. Sweat becomes equity and on Steem, it then becomes a type of collateral and along the way, I have developed social capital. It all sounds very business-like but, it has been enjoyable, I have made many friends and likely helped many people along the path.

In my opinion, it really is social media done right although, there is still a long way to go in the way it is done. Perhaps, Social media done increasingly right, would be a better tagline. Earning by being part of a community, offering skills, learning skills, helping people develop their skills, making friends, supporting a wide range of programs, growing responsibility and breaking dependencies on economic authorities... It really isn't so bad is it?

Time for some frozen pizza for dinner... go have some fun, make some new numbers on the blockchain.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

ǝɹǝɥ sɐʍ ɹoʇɐɹnƆ pɐW ǝɥ┴

Well there's something amiss if I don't resteem this one!

Thanks for the write-up, particulary around 'gamifying the numbers to engage'. It's really what it's about, and I'm lucky to have some basic SQL skills to tap into the data to seek items of interest.

...hopefully with the upcoming possibilities of Hivemind (the full version) there are going to be more capabilities to more easily develop tools and get much more granular information.

Yes I'm looking forward to what data will appear here which can then be presented out to those that are interested. It's really not all doom and gloom at present - just a case of surrounding yourself with the positive folk.

Cheers!

It needs to be more accessible an done on the fly for accounts. It is possible I think.

I will have to ask Asher to do mine, it seems everyone else has.

Time for some frozen pizza for dinner.

Watch your teeth on the frozen pizza, it tough stuff to bite through :)

Watch your teeth on the frozen pizza, it tough stuff to bite through :)

This is how poor my wife is in the kitchen... ;D

The charts that he does help to track and improve your steem experience and reward.
The idea of rewarding those who make comments and engage is a good one (building a foundation and maintaining it) something redfish should adapt

Nice chart !! Shows who you are

It is good to get different types of feedback and it is definitely time to leverage it for community growth.

I am far from angelic but I am not a complete douche either :)

Not a complete / total douche

Well at least you got that going for you ; )

Gotta take the wins as they present themselves :D

I enjoy when Asher does these pies and they are great benchmarks to consider over time as to how one engages on the platform. I do see the analytics and their correlation will lead to optimizing our actions here which I don’t think is the best for the long term but it will bring more awareness on how it all works.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I find UA rankings also quite motivating to go forward. My big 50000 SP delegation has just returned and I can give people more generous upvotes now without depleting my voting power too much.

I was thinking about UA just today. When it started I was something like 260 and now I am in position 221 and I wonder what happened to those above.

It is nice to have larger stake to vote with. I paid for 25k delegation for over a year but it was getting way too expensive. I would have had to self-vote at almost 8x a day with it at some point and that is not my style at all and I don't think writing 8 posts a day the way I write is going to be possible and, I don't vote on my comments :)

I know... I also wouldn't want to vote for myself if I didn't want to give donations and contest prizes 60 Steem every week. I have to choose between this and delegating bidbot with some 18% APR. I choose the best bad choice...

Posted using Partiko Android

I choose the best bad choice...

Yep. I delegate to ocdb because they support real content producers (for the most part) and I am lucky because I have delegation from a very generous friend for the last few months so I can keep rewarding. I also delegate about 10k out to other users and communities that I think deserve it.

This is very generous of you. I delegate 10k to @qurator who is a team of manual quality content curators.

Posted using Partiko Android

I also would like to upvote some introduceyourself posts to support onboarding efforts.

Posted using Partiko Android

It helps to some degree but if they get too much support too early, the entitlement grows fast. A little bump is encouraging though :)

Yes, everybody has to earn their trust one way or another. At the beginning giving newbies an upvote is good because of their low RC.

At the beginning giving newbies an upvote is good because of their low RC.

Yep. You might be interested to keep an eye on @steemonboarding with @anomadsoul and @coruscate in coming weeks/months

Yes and last night I upvoted and commented on some intro posts before going to bed. Felt good...

Posted using Partiko Android

It's funny as I know my figures will most likely go the other way.Most of the users I engage with these days have way more SP than me. It is how it has happened and in order to avoid dust votes I normally vote above 40 percent so I don't have a heck of a lot of votes spare per day.

Most of the users I engage with these days have way more SP than me.

There is nothing wrong with this approach at all I think. Larger SPs often also have the things that you in particular are interested in so it makes sense.

Yeah, the dust threshold kills VP :D

This does make sense and is very true. Just got my pie chart and it is exactly that. No shocks really.

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.284 which ranks you at #221 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 222).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Increasing right. I like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46