Some pies for you on this fresh Monday morning

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

The accounts distributing stake have changed a lot in the past year or so. Early on and prior to the rise of the apps, which have been kindly fueled by Steemit Inc and @misterdelegation, most of the stake was distributed by a handful of early adopters who had either bought in early or mined their stake at the beginning.

Nowadays we have the apps. Many early adopters or large stake holders delegate to these apps, but for the most part this stake currently sits in the hands of the Bid-bots. So in the past, to get a nice vote for your content you needed to get spotted by a whale, whereas nowadays, you can either buy a vote or get involved in an app like @fundition or @utopian-io.

However, if none of these apps fit your Steem-style, the other option is to steadily make your way by engaging with fellow members of our community and hopefully pick up some friends who will support you along the way.

As a new user starting with little to no investment, you are 'looking up' to almost everyone. As time progresses, and hopefully your SP grows, new users arrive and are in the position you once were. This is where things start to get interesting, especially if you are trying to be a good Steemian, and distribute stake to a variety of content and accounts, in the hope that the good authors (high and low SP), will stick around and in turn help grow the network.

At the beginning of last year, I reached 5000 SP, and found myself (easily) in top 1%. At 16000 SP, I'm now somewhere in the top 0.01% of accounts by SP on the Steem blockchain. We are seriously bottom-heavy, but it is what it is.

So now what to do?

In reality, the only accounts that can seriously impact my earnings are those holding around the same SP as me, or really, those above. I've just checked and I'm the 850th largest account on Steem. Frightening really. Anyway, so without seeking an app, and with much whale stake out to the Bots, those wanting to grow their account need to attract the active community members still holding the majority of their SP, who are still looking out for new and interesting content/authors.

However, what about the the new people? I was a new, 0 stake-holding account once, and I was fortunate in gaining support from accounts much higher than up the tree than me who knew that i'd never be able to support them in the same way they could me. I should be seeking to support new, keen, engaged people too, right?

This is the end of a rather long introduction to a pie chart :) A pie chart i'm willing to provide to anyone else who's still awake at this point.

The chart shows the number of votes I gave to accounts in 2018, grouped into those with less SP and more SP than I/they currently hold today.

There are a couple of large caveats in that my SP could now be higher than it was when my my vote was cast, and there is also a chance that the account I voted on has now grown larger than mine. Also, if you are a 400,000 SP account, the pie is probably going to look rather skinny on the votes to larger accounts - not many accounts that large actually produce content.

I was hoping though, that the chart would still give me a little insight as to whether I'd been supporting lesser accounts, whilst still doing a bit of 'looking up' at the same time. Although now, I'm at the point in the blog where I'm considering trashing it going for a shower. Oh well, let's continue...

So this is my chart for 2018.



19% of my votes going to larger accounts. That seems 'OK', but considering there are only 849 larger accounts (by own SP), perhaps it's not that great?

This is another chart I produced for those that asked 4/5 months ago, and this time it covers the same period at the above graph - all 2018.



Well it's more colourful than the first chart, and perhaps a bit more interesting?


Is anyone interested in having one of these produced for their account?

Is this content at all interesting, or should I be sharing something else today?

What do you think about the idea to try to 'look up' and down in order to grow your account and help support the new people?

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

Hi Asher.I would love to see a pie chart that would show the influence of the dapps on our accounts. What percentage of votes comes from Steemhunt,Musing and so forth.

Vote value isn't really my thing, it's a pain to work out. However, this might be of interest: https://steemfriends.org/contributors.php?author=cryptoandcoffee

Thanks Asher. Looked there before and don't know why they don't show up. Wasn't after vote value but percentage. Just a thought for future pies.

hmm, utopian-io and dtube show up for me. Do you think musing should appear for you and isn't?

It's easy to do a vote count, but tougher to tally 'how much' each account has given.

I thought it would be at the top and isn't on the list. Just weird that it doesn't show at all. Steemhunt doesn't reflect either.

I wonder if that site only looks at posts, and not comments - which is where there partiko value came from i guess?

That would make sense. Would have been interesting to see as I reckon dapps counted for over 30 percent of rewards, maybe closer to 50 percent.

Hey, @cryptoandcoffee.

Guess I'll just chime in and add an observation to concur with Asher's possibility. I just checked my list at steemfriends and musing does show up on the two answers I actually made into posts. So, apparently, comments aren't being counted at all, which is a shame, since musing turned out to be around half my SP earned last year. :)

That's a good idea. It looks like @actifit gave out 256 votes yesterday - a further reach in one day to more smaller accounts than I could do on my own (I delegate to @actifit).

I do love me some numbers if you got the time. Always great to see how my longer term habits of voting is fairing.

I have some time, although need to get to the shops as the cupboard's looking a bit bare!

Yes, hit me up with a (chocolate) pie!

Looking up is good if you want to 'reward' those who have clearly been sticking with the platform, and the fact you CAN reward them means they apparently are still posting :-) That in itself is worth an upvote no matter the wallet size.

Looking down is just as important though, I see amazingly loyal Steemians still earning shit and I might just give those a bigger upvote from time to time because it might make more of a difference.

No idea how my pie looks like though, might surprize me, it might not.

Yes, good points :)

Wallet size shouldn't really matter, but in reality, it does. Remember hearing at Steemfest about the people scanning bar-codes and heading straight to that persons account? SHAME!

Lots of small account support :)

Well it looks like you are super supportive of the little guys, great job!

Ha, YES, I laughed hard about that 'check the wallet' behaviour :') People can be so transparent.

Well, I'm indeed quite happy with my upvote behaviour! I think it's mostly in the percentages I give to different 'classes': giving a 10 cents upvote to a 10 dollar post... Doesn't feel that powerful. Giving a 10 cents upvote to a 50 cents post... That actually makes a difference.

Thanks for sharing these with me!

Yeah, ridiculous behavior!

Your charts stand out thus far - go treat yourself to a real slice of your favourite pie :)

As always, I will have one! I imagine I need to make more adjustments towards lower as many have grown this year! Thanks!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's it. New folk arrive, although not at the pace as certain periods last year, and so these need some support too.

More votes to those below, not quite at the %'s of the few charts I've produced so far but hey, it's only pies :)

Not as bad as expected! I guess Inam so lroud of us Dolphins! But I will need to adjust for sure as the redfish and minnows are an important element of the ecosystem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oooh, the only thing better than a nice chart is the actual spreadsheet that generated it. I love spreadsheets. I make them for everything, just ask @mrsbozz. I started (and never finished) a spread sheet the other day where I was trying to determine the percentage of votes on my posts that came from actual people vs what came from groups that I had delegated to. I think it was only about 20% or less of my post rewards came from actual people. I don't personally buy votes anymore, but I understand why people do. If it wasn't for the SP that I have delegated out, I would make practically nothing on my posts. That's pretty crappy for the amount of work a lot of us put into our posts.

I hear you @bozz, it is tough going these days. Have you ventured into the apps (while they still have delegation!)?

There are not many large accounts manually curating these days. I think it says a lot when I'm the 850th largest, yikes!!

A bit more looking up than down, can't really fault anyone for that though. Cheers!

Yeah, I have actually started to delegate away about 70% of my SP because the rewards are just better. Everything I make gets powered up to SP so I don't really feel bad because I am still supporting the blockchain. There is the occasional time I will take some Steem and delegate some SBI shares to someone or buy some Steem Monsters cards, but that is about it. Like I said, everything else goes to SP. I was pretty involved in Musing before during and after their delegation. I am just now starting to get into Steemhunt and I have been using Tasteem for a while. I'd love to do more on Utopian, but I continue to see it as pretty intimidating and although I have been working in technology for 20+ years I don't feel my skills are good enough for Utopian. I am doing some exploring with Dlike as well. I am still on the fence about it, but I have delegated some SP to them. Thanks for making these charts for me. It is very interesting to see where my votes are going!

Me want to see 😆 though I know it will be less colourful than yours @abh12345 😊 my votes seldom on comments while most plankton friends are my great supporters too

Btw, why is the percentage of the first pie are so big in number?

:)

The number is the number of votes and a comma, and the %. Make sense?

Very even looking here..

But the vast majority to small accounts :)

Thank you Asher 😊 I love my plankton's friends .. I don't really vote on many orcas or whales, because they don't need my dusty vote and they don't have a time to check on me too😂😂😂 better stay with my fellows and grow together if we could.

Uh, I'm in - can I have some pie, please? :)
I have a rough feeling on how this distribution will look, let's see if I'm right...

Certainly :)

50/50!

I think I account for a few % of those dolphin votes, thanks!

thanks! "Better" than I expected, actually... You certainly have a well-deserved spot in the dolphin section. I guess I have to work on my whale support, lol ;)

:)

As do many, but they need to create some interesting content first - blocktrades one of the few doing this still I think?

98% to haejin and sweetssj? :p

argh, you know me too well and the blockchain can't hide it... :p

Hmm. Perhaps I should have taken self-votes out :D

May I have my votes please? Thanks upfront.

Certainly can sir :)

The 25/75 split between larger/smaller accounts quite common, and a nice spread amongst the redfish-minnow-dolphin there.

Was a bit what I thought and "hoped" for. Hope that with the rising value of Steem, more of the lower class comes back and starts posting again.
Thanks again Asher.

Yes that'd be good - we need people, unique individuals and less shit-posting alts :)

I remember that second pie chat.

All interesting stats to me. Thanks for sharing.

Yes I thought the pie today was a bit weak so thought I'd better bulk up the work a bit :)

Seemingly pretty focused on the little guys ;)

Thanks for the charts :)

Hit me.

Just to clarify, these are up-votes only :D

Haha I imagine my downvote pies would look very ugly.

The bigger the better with those pies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46