On Partiko app, what is it with the slider thing when I want to upvote?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I'm writing this post on my phone using @partiko app while waiting @laputis to finish teach her organ student at the Cathedral in Vilnius.

@vanessamidwife recently asked me this question:

I am new on steemit and I literally was just wondering about this! I got quite confused when I couldn't comment on posts anymore. Also on the @partiko app, when I want to upvote it has a slider where I must choose how much I want to give, or something. I'm not sure. When I upvote in my laptop on the steemit website I just click to upvote and nothing is asked of me. So on the partiko app, what is it with the slider thing when I want to upvote?

First of all I have to say, I love @partiko app not only because it has an elegant and fast user experience but also because it rewards me for every action that I make while using the app. Just for checking in I get 17 Partiko points, for upvoting somebody, I get 9 points, for making a comment I get 17 points and for creating a post I get 51 points. This is very motivating. Also combine it to the fact that these points can be exchanged into upvotes from @partiko account and the promise that when SMT's will come out, these points will become a separate token which could be transfered or exchanged into Steem, for example.

These gamification elements in the form of rewards deserve another discussion I think but for now let's talk about the voting slider.

Voting slider gives you a possibility to give less than 100 percent votes to any post or comment. This is very powerful and useful if you vote a lot, if you read a lot and want to support a lot of authors.

If you always give 100 percent votes, then your voting power will diminish at the rate of about 2 percent per vote. But it will regerate after 5 days. So if your voting power today is 0 and you don't vote for 5 days, then after 5 days you will have 100 percent voting power again.

This is useful to know because if you don't let your voting power to drop below 80 percent, then it will regenerate to 100 percent in one day.

That's what a lot of people try to do. And if they vote a lot, they often try to give less that 100 percent upvotes so that their voting power won't be depleted so fast.

As a rule, it's best to give 10 100 percent upvotes per day at the interval of 2.4 hours in order to keep your voting power to the maximum level.

If you use steemit.com for your activities on the Steem blockchain, then voting slider unlocks for you from about 500 SP. His is really limiting for planktons and beginners.

But if you use @busy or @partiko and maybe some other apps, then you have your voting slider from the start.

For example, because my voting power these days rarely climbs above 80 percent, I try to give 50 percent upvotes for other people's posts and 5 percent upvote for every non-toxic and non-automatic comment I get. With increasing user engagement this is getting rather difficult task but I like helping people.

One side note: with the Hardfork 20 upgrade, the optimum voting time is from 15 minutes so if you want to get maximum Curation rewards, upvote posts which are 15 minutes old.

Hope this helps.

And now I have to run because the hour is up, @laputis has finished her lesson and we will go to our monthly book club meeting.

Please let me know if you have any other questions about your journey as a Steemian.

Vidas Pinkevicius
https://amazon.com/author/vidaspinkevicius
https://makersplace.com/store/vidaspinkevicius
https://www.patreon.com/pinkyandspiky

Contests You Can Participate In

@organduo's and @laputis' Pinky and Spiky Drawing Contest

@deemarshall Artstorm, Colourstorm and Butterfly colouring contests

@cobmaximus Steemit Webcomics Contest

@magiccleatus Zen Colouring Contest

@mariannewest's 'Five Minute Freewrite' daily post

@bunnypuncher Bunny Puncher's Daily Giveaway

@marty-art Interactive games

@corpsvalues #Cartoon-Off

SB_new.png

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmhg9HR2zWVCQtbXrqwhoe8hTsx5kQbcvMU7RnaDqrwCD5TMfEQZbC8fyAnBeE.png

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmie87vybvVxpEchNZ8YFLaS2KzXEMv5k8ustZFbtHCtMuNQNoa6MNT8zJxXmv.png

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

It’s fantastic that @partiko gives the vote slider immediately..... it was a tedious journey to get my vote slider by using Steemit and taking months to get to 500SP. Learnt something new! Thanks

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes, I think @partiko as an app has a very bright future. What's good for Partiko is good for Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! This is very informative and helpful for getting the hang of Steemit!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Please let me know if something is unclear about Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Thank you... Love your work with SOS.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

@organduo You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63907.47
ETH 2753.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66