Attention, Whales: Bitcoin Miner for Sale (for STEEM)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

This one is going to be a huge experiment…



As you probably know, if you have been following my blog for a while, I am mining Bitcoin and Dash at home, with my two hardware miners: Spondoolies SP30 ‘Yukon’ 4 TH/s for Bitcoin and Baikal Cube 300 MH/s for Dash. You can check out my monthly reports on Bitcoin and Dash mining on my blog to see how much I am earning from this operation.



My Bitcoin miner in all its metal glory

My Bitcoin mining journey:

Week 0: ArrivalWeek 1 UpdateWeek 2 Update
Week 3 UpdateWeek 4 UpdateWeek 5 Update
Week 6 UpdateWeek 7 UpdateWeek 8 Update
Week 9 UpdateWeek 10 UpdateWeek 11 Update

As the temperatures in Sweden are now hitting over 20˚C / 70˚F, I temporarily retired my Bitcoin miner until September. September might be an interesting time to mine Bitcoin. If there’s a hard in the Bitcoin blockchain, both alternative chains will need hashpower to produce new blocks. So what is today a meagre lightweigh in terms of the hashpower on the main chain, might turn out to be a heavyweight champion on the alternative chain just two months from now.

So I am going to propose the following deal to any whale here on Steem:

Whoever transfers 20,000 STEEM to me will get my Bitcoin miner (shipping included in the price).



If you have 20,000 STEEM to spare, then you obviously has enjoyed a big success here on Steem and earned yourself a small fortune. Congratulations! If you now want to grow your holdings of Bitcoin, you can mine your own Bitcoins at home – just like you have built up your Steem holdings (I assume).

Let me know if you are interested in the comments section below. Like I said, this is going to be one interesting experiment for me here on Steem.



Sort:  

Great :D

This is interesting. Too bad about summer time. I need to read a bit more about the fork and what it will do to BTC. Hope you can sell it!!

Or even if I don’t – I’ll still be happy to get back to mining Bitcoin (or a Bitcoin, in case if the hard fork happens) in two months from now.

What do you think will happen with the hardfork? Massive difficulty drop?

It will depend on how much support each new chain will get. If they split evenly, the difficulty will eventually drop by half, to account for reduced hash power on both chains. And if one chain get too little hash power behind it, it might die off before the difficulty will have time to adjust (it takes two weeks). It will be interesting to see how the situation develops, no question about it. However, I don’t think there will be a split in August (at least I hope there won’t be). But if Segwit 2x wins, then a hardfork should follow two months later, to increase the block size. It will be a good thing for Bitcoin and hopefully no split will occur at that point either.

Probably the fork cause a price drop as well with a difficulty drop. In this case mining could be not attractive.

Dude, you got it backwards: difficulty drops ==> mining becomes more attractive, because your payout will increase!

20,000 steem thats a lot. How much would you sell it for USD?

I wouldn’t sell it for fiat. If I had to sell it for other crypto, I would probably go for 0.4 BTC or 10 DASH.

good idea. GL

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by oleg326756 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64535.04
ETH 3462.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49