Mining Bitcoin at Home: Week 3 Update

in #mining8 years ago (edited)

Week 1 update here
Week 2 update here

Hey everyone, how’s it going?

I am one day late with the regular weekly update on my mining adventures and earnings. I had to wait for the earnings from yesterday’s blocks on Bitcoin.com’s mining pool to arrive, to make my reporting more accurate. Sorry about that!

This past week has been filled with continued experimentation, a few new useful findings, as well as a few frustrating moments.

New things – and a few screw-ups that came along with them — that I tried in the past week:

  • Mining on NiceHash. It started great, with mining rewards almost double (0.008 BTC per day, in my case) compared to what I could’ve gotten on most other pools. However, after the first day the reward fell back to more “normal” levels of 0.004 BTC per day. Meanwhile, my usual pool, CKPool, found 6 blocks in one day — on the same day as I was mining on NiceHash. Which meant that I missed 0.002 BTC on that day…
  • Trying to keep the miner on at nights. I decided to try to increase my miner’s productivity by keeping it on during the night. I got a pair of new premium-quality earplugs and tried to sleep despite the white noise from the miner. I must admit that it worked only so-so. I did manage to sleep, but the sleep quality was poor, I would wake up for brief moments throughout the night and in the end I would turn the miner off after 3 am. After two such nights I had decided it was not worth it and now I’m back to the 16–17 hours/day operational cycle.
  • Switching back to CKPool. As soon as I had done it, it stopped finding blocks, of course. The pool’s collective hash power has fallen dramatically since the last Saturday. At the same time, Bitcoin.com’s mining pool has been smashing its previous records in terms of mined blocks per day. All the while I have been wasting time mining on CKPool. And all that night-time mining was for nothing. So frustrating!!
  • Reducing the fans speed. I tried to fine-tune the miner's fans and managed to bring their speed down to 40 RPS. It significantly reduced the noise and brought it down to a level that is tolerable even when I’m not wearing my stylish turquoise ear defenders – without compromising the miner’s productivity. I am very happy about it. I observed increased temperatures on the miner’s air-exhaust end, but simply opening the balcony door a little wider than usual helped mitigate this problem. (Yay for Swedish winter!)

So now I am back at mining on Bitcoin.com’s pool. As long as it keeps finding 4–6 blocks a day, I’m a happy miner. 

Here’s the summary of my weekly earnings for the past week:

0.019655 BTC in Week 3 earnings, of which:

…which means that the miner has so far earned about 9% of the cost I paid for it. Yay! 91% to go! ;)

Stay tuned for more updates on my mining (mis)adventures next week!

Previous Updates:

Sort:  

Thanks man! I appreciate your support!

I like your ideas

Thank you! :) Most of my ideas are stupid, but slowly I'm stumbling forward by making lots of mistakes and learning from them. :D

И спасибо за комментарий и за комплимент. :)

Ваших тупых идей я не обнаружила, видимо надо поискать внимательнее

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.48 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 17 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44