My New Miner Has Arrived! First Impressions.

in #mining8 years ago (edited)

(Synopsis: it’s ugly as brick and loud as mother******, but I love it anyway!)

Hello everyone!

As I was commuting from work today I checked into the shipment’s service tracking page and – lo and behold! – it showed that my miner had made it to my town and was waiting for me in one of the city supermarkets (yep, that’s how it works in Sweden). Finally! I was very excited and wished for the train to run faster. I biked from the station to the aforementioned supermarket, did some shopping for tonight’s dinner, and then had to stand in a long queue of people, all of whom apparently had some urgent postal errands that afternoon. A supermarket’s employee grumbled at the photo of my passport that I presented on my smartphone. He wanted to see the original document. Fortunately, I managed to convince him to release my parcel to me anyway.

When he appeared from the storage room with the enormous package in his hands, I was a little shocked at its size and weight. The thing was massive! Huge! And heavy!

I was standing  there, with a lost expression on my face, the heavy package slipping from my hands, the earlier traces of happiness quickly being erased by doubts… What shall I do? Shall I call a taxi? I cannot possibly carry this thing all the way home. Nor would it fit on my bicycle… But, as the time was quickly approaching 5 pm, I decided to give it a chance and called my colleague and a friend who had a car. He was just wrapping up the day’s work in the office and was about to head home. I was in luck! He arrived to the supermarket within five minutes, helped me to load the monster into his car’s trunk and off we rode!

Huffing and puffing, I made my way from the parking lot to my apartment (thankfully we have an elevator in our building). And then I tore and slashed at the layers of cardboard and bubble wrap for good ten minutes or so. I was certainly glad the miner was packed so carefully. But, rushing like a fool, I managed to cut two fingers and stained the floor and the packaging material with blood. After some more time lost due to emergency clean up and treatment of my wounds, I got back to it. I documented the whole process on video, so you may witness for yourself – and laugh at – my idiotic shenanigans during the unpacking, setting-up and installation process:

(I keep saying ‘KCPool’ throughout the video. Of course I meant Kano’s CKPool and nothing else. I apologise for this mistake!)

Some first impressions: it’s loud! It measures at 60 dB, which is a legal maximum level of noise in many countries. A loud conversation in a crowded place is about 60 dB. I had to wear earplugs to do some work on my computer later that afternoon. I even had to escape to the bathroom and shut the door tight behind me, in order to type this post and edit the video above. I will try to sleep with earplugs tonight, but I already have a hunch that I’m going to have to keep this thing turned off for the night and only run it during the day, while I’m away.

It’s hot! I don’t mean its external appearance – it’s actually kind of industrial-ugly. I mean it heats up quickly and it heats the air in my apartment amazingly fast too. I am still experimenting with how much I can open the balcony door that faces the air intake of the miner. The temperature outside is near 0˚C / 32˚F (it’s Swedish autumn, everyone) and the intake side of the miner is 13˚C / 55˚F, while the exhaust side is at 62.5˚C / 144˚F. So the miner manages to heat the air very efficiently. A pleasant side effect of this (if we forget the noise for a second, which is kind of hard to do) is that the temperature in my apartment is now quite comfortable, despite the open balcony door. A constant inflow of fresh air from the outside is a welcome bonus as well. Usually I run an electric heater in winter, even with all the windows shut tight. Now I can keep a window slightly open and still enjoy a pleasantly warm indoor temperature.

I am going to wrap up this post here and will come back to you in a day or two, once the miner have run for a while. I will be reporting about its performance, how much it generates in terms of rewards, how I deal with the excessive noise and heat, and how crazy people think I am, when I tell them I now mine Bitcoin at home. We are having our Blockchain Meetup in Uppsala tomorrow (its main topic is going to be Steemit, by the way) and I am eager to share my first steps in home mining with its participants. Stay tuned for more!

Sort:  

It would be interesting to compare rewards from mining and from curation on Steemit.
Curation on Steemit can produce about 0.5% of SP weekly, so, provided Steem prise would be stable, 500$ invested in SP could produce 2.5$ weekly.
I wonder if your miner can make a better performance )

Thank you for your comment! I am curious too. :) I will keep you updated on how much this miner will be making and whether it’ll manage to pay for itself (I bought it for 0.55 BTC, shipment to Sweden included).

Very interesting keep us posted on how it goes.

Thank you, @simonjay! Will do! :)

How many tayahash is that miner? I have a whole room in my house dedicated to Bitcoin with 39 miners. I have had to shut it down though since the block split. I can no longer operate at a profit with the electricity cost. Upvoted and followed!

Thank you for your comment! Wow, you've got yourself quite a powerful home mine, my friend! I'm impressed.

This miner model churns at around 4 Terrahash/sec. Not bad, considering it only cost me 0.55 BTC. As I mention in this post - https://steemit.com/mining/@oleg326756/my-new-miner-has-arrived-first-impressions - my electricity is basically "free". So I have a hope for this miner to break even. And maybe even make some extra money in the end. But it's hard to make predictions at this early stage. I'll keep you posted, however!

Haha dam that thing is a s loud as a mofo. Im curious how much it is able to mine a week. Are the positives really worth the negatives?

We'll see in a few months, I guess. :)

Keep us updated and let us know how well it mines.

For sure, I'll do, I promise.

Sounds good, Good luck on your endeavors!

The noise-cancelling headphones help
It helps… A little… (love the colour though!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44