Spitballing Features | Donations on FrontendssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem5 years ago

So I mentioned this idea when I wrote my post about Fundition, but a picture is worth a thousand words as they say, so I wanted to illustrate this idea that I had for all the "catch all" frontends, so Steemit(SteemPlus), Busy, Steempeak, Esteem, Partiko, Steeve, etc. I think if any one implemented this they'd have a huge edge over the others (wink, wink)

y6n4zdihyl.jpg

So this is actually all based on the support options that @fundition offers. Their platform is what let me know this was currently possible, but I think it should be implemented everywhere. The idea is allowing and showing donations of not only Steem, but multiple other cryptocurrencies as well as paypal.

This isn't just about giving the people who are here more options to earn or even a way to help bring value to Steem, because following the Fundition model the other options of donations are converted to STEEM, but also making the social Steem Dapps attractive options for content creators that already have a following.

gbr5ug5086.jpg

With the current set of options there's no incentive to share your content outside of Steem and we're not really solving any problems for content creators that are already on another platform.

I think we should start approaching what we want to focus on and develop by asking the question:

Who needs Steem?

In my own research the group that seemed the most ripe for the plucking was people who are leaving Patreon and looking for an alternative, but the reality is the best we can offer is stuff that's "almost as good" as whatever platform we'd be looking to get them off of. This isn't a critique on the devs, I know this stuff is hard, time consuming, and therefore expensive, I'm just hoping that as we focus on community organization and priorities we do that by addressing where we can get the most bang for our buck in the shortest amount of time.

zaoiwjpara.jpg

I've purposely focused my brain power on things that could be done by frontend developers(I think) because I honestly feel like suggestions that involve Steemit Inc doing anything aren't really going to go anywhere at the moment. Again, not trying to imply they're lazy bums or anything, I just feel they've already laid out their priorities and a timeline, and it will be several months for them to implement what they have planned.

So overall I think this would make the social apps on Steem more attractive and useful. To be honest if this was magically on all the frontends I mentioned tomorrow, I'm not sure it would make a huge difference currently in this market, but mainly my crystal ball tells me when we have some clear bull movement, all the sudden people will find their creative voices again and want to post on Steem :O I think the work we accomplish now is really for that moment.

What do you all think, would you like to see this feature added to the different frontends? Let's discuss! :D Thanks for looking as always!

Sort:  

This post has been included in today's SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



I think it would be pretty cool. You are right that it would bring a lot of much needed attention and people over here. I also am inclined to believe over time they would want to get more involved with the blockchain too!

Would be a really good bridge to the other crowds :D

Posted using Partiko Android

I will have to check them out. Sounds like a great feature.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.296 which ranks you at #2567 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 23 places in the last three days (old rank 2590).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #168.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@midlet You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79