From WordPress to Steem v0.1

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

laptop-2557571_640.jpg
This morning I built a quick way to create and edit posts on Wordpress and then publish them to Steem with one click. This is an awesome flow because I'm in Wordpress all day already, I can work on multiple posts at once, and I have all my media in one place. There is a lot wrong with my current implementation and a lot of features that I could add in the future, but I just wanted to get the ball rolling and blog as I make progress.

My first step was to create a private page that lists all my posts, both public and private. I added a button to each post that when clicked, uses Steem JS to broadcast that content which appears as a new blog post on Steem. I mapped Wordpress categories to Steemit tags/topics, my post's featured image to Steemit featured image, title to title, etc.

If you want to give it a try, it was pretty straightforward:

  1. Create a private page and build a template that shows all public and private posts. Set the private page to use this template.
  2. In the template, add a button to map the post's data to what Steem needs and then broadcast.
  3. Use SteemJS to broadcast the content. The post here by @jfollas was pretty much all I needed for this part.
  4. Write a private post, load up your private page then click the button to send it to Steem!

Future Development

  1. Ability to push edits to Steem
  2. Pull in data about the post back into wordpress. How many upvotes, comments, etc.
  3. My categories need some work. I'd like to be able to choose which category is the main one.
  4. Switch to a php library if I can find one that allows broadcasting. Even though the post page is private, I don't like my public key in the front end.
 

 

Sort:  

Congratulations @mcsteemie! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mcsteemie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61634.81
ETH 2971.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49