I am doing it again: Power UP Steem!

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I have done this too often, and every time it has gone the wrong way. But I am doing it again. I just put another whole damn bitcoin into steem.

japan-138954_1280.jpg

I am a big believer in steem. I have seen it work and I have seen the many great people that steem has attracted and the wonderful content we can find here on a daily basis.

Screen Shot 2017-02-21 at 3.21.15 PM.png

Effectively all of the money I have put into this system so far has evaporated. There are reasons for this. Steem has solved some problems before they were problems and is not focusing enough on its core business model, which is to create valuable content and attract value so that content providers get rewarded according to the value they provide. The roadmap is full of technical details but the core business problems are omitted.

They key issues are:

1. No outside money coming in.

Steem has created a new way to monetize the internet. However it does so by diluting itself which puts pressure on the price. What is missing is a direct way for money to flow from outside in. I have created a proposal to fix this with a bounty system. This would bring direct value to steem and allow to pay curations via other means than dilution: https://steemit.com/steemit/@knircky/the-potential-of-bounties-an-improvement-proposal-for-steem-to-double-its-value

2. Curation

The curation system is made so that people do vote and do care what they vote for. However the problem with it is that it works in a way that one has to vote on what one thinks others will vote for. As a result the most important aspect of how to determine how value is rewards has been corrupted, destroyed and screwed up. This must be fixed. Today voting is a game played best by bots. Voting must be something that is given back to the users.

3. Rewards

The exponential pay out is unfair. Unfairness is something our society does not like at all. Watch this video to understand. Steemit users feel exactly like these monkeys in the cucumber grape video. Fortunately this is already understood and being solved by the steemit team: https://steemit.com/steem/@steemitblog/details-on-proposed-comment-reward-curve

4. Content presentation and voting.

On steem content is visible for a few hours to a day or so. This limits to what can be posted on steem to news type content. Most of the content on steem however has a much longer time for which it could be valuable. Authors need to be able to create content and this needs to be visible for days, weeks and months especially if it is popular. You can see below a video I posted on youtube. I also posted this on steem. The difference is, on steem it was seen a few hours. On youtube it is seen every day still and more and more people discover it. For me as an author this is important because this way I can collect my hits and rewards over long time. For users this is important because there is way more content to be consumed this way. Imagine in the screenshot below if you cut of the first few hours of the life if this vide. It would have 50 hits and generated no income for me as an author. We need to be smarter on how our content is presented to the users.
Screen Shot 2017-02-21 at 3.58.06 PM.png

So dear steemit and steem team, @dan and @ned. Please look at these high level business challenges that steem is facing and fix them like you have shown to be so very very capable of. So that that we little steem lovers and investors can keep buying steem and ultimately everybody will be happy.

Forever optimistic

I am confident that the steem team will prevent the following scenario:
train-wreck-67775_1280.jpg

SteemON!

Sort:  

This was incredibly helpful! Thank you for being so honest in your approach and sharing the wins and follies with the rest of us. Very impressed with your posts!
I've learned much. Thank you and followed ; )
Imgur

Thank you for your feedback. If it brings value to you that is what matters to me.

I've been here a while now and still find the whole thing complicated. I have learned to just enjoy the ride lol :)
You have a new follower

The fact that you just bought some steem makes you a true believer :)
I like and sign the forever optimistic part! Steem on!

Hello, @knircky,

I'm so glad Marly re-steemed your article, which brought it to my notice. Boy, do I agree with all your points! I'm also encouraged to hear that many of those issues are being addressed, and that you are optimistic.

As a content creator, I'm working hard to build up "sweat equity," and I have high hopes for the long-term success of the platform. I have pretty much "powered up" everything that comes my way.

Thanks, @surfermarly, for re-steeming!

Thanks, @knircky, for a great article! Following you now. :)😄😇😄

@creatr

My pleasure darling ;-) One for all, all for one!

Seems we are on the same page, just bought some more this morning. Not nearly as much as you though.

Nice, the price of steem might go down a bit more but I think you will see a return. I'm going to put some money in soon as well.
Do you by any chance use steemvoter.com or streemian. I have a group called content makers that I want to invite you too:
https://steemit.com/contentmakers/@whatageek/update-for-the-content-makers-repost
It is a group of users auto-upvoting each other to help build accounts.

If not, any support I can get would be appreciated, I write original stories for this site.

Awesome post! Yes, it is a great time to buy Steem!
Upvoted & Followed!

Great to see a post like this-- I am a relative newcomer here, but very enthusiastic and hopeful about the potential I see. My interest is primarily that of being a blogger/content creator who really misses that "bridge" between social sites like Facebook and blogging... what we used to call "social blogging."

Whereas the money "is nice," I am really more excited about the potential of crating quality content across a wide range of interest areas, with peer curation creating a venue where the best floats to the top... and where said quality content is the path for contributors to becoming stakeholders in the basic platform.

Yes, I'm sure there will be a sell-off... most new ventures have a group of dump-and-run profiteers who only look at short term gains, but that tends to provide an opening for those interested in being part of creating a long term community. We may not have "invented" the show, but we get to build it to its full potential.

Welcome to steem. It sounds like this may the perfect place for you!

Yep, I echo your sentiments exactly. It will take a while (maybe even a few years) but I think the foundation is being laid for a really great project here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57014.79
ETH 2478.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29