5 Tips to Help You Build Your Account on Steemit

in #steem7 years ago

Hey everyone, I've gotten a few questions related to growing a steem account recently and I decided to make a quick post outlining a few of the strategies that I'm currently using to grow my account on Steemit.

1. Post Consistently

Consistent posting is one of the keys to building a loyal base of fans who regularly interact with your content. Take a look at any large Steemian and you'll notice that they post on a consistent basis. Take a look at any smaller Steemian and you'll notice that they post every once in a while, maybe every 3 or 4 days or weekly... I've found that posting 1-2x a day yields the best results for my account.

2. Comment, Comment, Comment

Commenting on other content throughout Steemit is, in my opinion, the single best way to grow your following. There's a few other tricks, like giving yourself a small upvote so that you appear at the top of the comments section.

Some people frown on self-voting in this method, but I don't consider it an issue so long as you're commenting something useful. Don't don't don't be one of those people who comments "good post" or "good work" or "upvote me back"!! This is 100% frowned upon and you'll likely get flagged.

A comment should show that you've not only read/watched a post but that you've actually thought about the content and then decided to share useful information with the author and to your fellow Steemians.

3. Network on Related Apps

Apps like Discord, Steemit.Chat, Telegram, etc. provide a great way to interact with fellow content creators and Steemit enthusiasts. You should spend some of your time getting to know a lot of people on these apps and work together to grow. Steemit is all about building community! Building a community is best done by working together. Your community will grow faster and stronger in proportion to the people you work with to grow together.

4. Voting Bots

Also a controversial subject on Steemit is the usage of voting bots. I don't consider it wrong to use voting bots, so long as your content is good. I think about voting bots as a tool for marketing and sharing content. If you write a great piece of content that you want people to read, then putting the right amount of money behind it can make it reach a much greater audience.

I've been experimenting with voting bots recently and have found that my posts get a significantly greater number of views, comments, and upvotes when using them versus not using them. This just means that the more "marketing dollars" I put behind each post, the greater the reach is for each post and the greater the reach will be for my posts in the future.

5. Consider a Steem Power Delegation

Steem Power (SP) delegations can be a great way to grow your community and reward your loyal followers. Just like voting bots, Steemit can be a numbers game when it comes to getting noticed. SP is an indication of influence on Steemit, the more SP you have, the greater your influence will be over the rewards pool.

These are just a few quick tips I thought I'd share with you guys, I plan on doing some more in-depth case studies of what I've been doing to grow on Steemit, so stay tuned! Also, if you have a question or would like to see something covered in a future post, let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

I can personally vouch for the power of a Steem Power Delegation! My first post was a huge success because of it!

Wow a $10 dollar upvote, Something is working well for you! Where do you lease your sp? I have been using blocktrades when they have.

We use blocktrades as well, but got most of the delegations a while back before the demand boomed. We've found it to be very helpful for getting more eyeballs on our posts and also being able to reward followers/commenters!

Thank you for the great information! I'm new to steemit and have already seen the results of #5! It was recommended to me to try a SP delegation when first starting out on Steemit in order to accelerate growth and my first post turned out to be a huge hit because of it! I'm just getting started and will have to work on the other tips you outlined here, but I can definitely vouch for #5 and #3 so far. I will work on the others and update you with my progress! Thanks again for sharing this!

I’m glad you found the info useful! Looking forward to hearing from you about your progress! Thanks for sharing your experience using these tips!

Take a look at the #SupportTheNewSteemians movement I am trying to start to help all us new steemians network with each other. Let me know what you think.

Thanks for the useful tips @khaleelkazi !
More tips :

  1. Regular basis Upvote to everyone. Big role of upvote on steemit.
  2. Just give help to others, definitely you will get result soon.
  3. Never neglect newbies or other peoples.
  4. Give your support to build good community.
  5. Share your good thoughts and experience with everyone.

Great tips! The underlying principles of your tips are to help others!!! Helping others is the key to growing on Steemit! Thanks for sharing your advice!

Thanks for upvote @khaleelkazi My mistake as the post stated winners would be posted. I didn't see anything written. I saw the $0.27 upvote. That is a far cry from the `~$1.75 amount listed in prize area. I fell for the illusion of the sbd/steem value differences. I have since edited my negative/slanderous posted comments. I hope you will accept my humble apology for false accusations. I am truly sorry.

It's quite alright, I could see how I worded that post in a confusing way and should have been more specific. Thanks for understanding!

Wow. Thank you very much for the upvote. I really do appreciate it. Happy New Year 2018.

I live on 2. I simply stink at writing but my big fat mouth can always get be some good rewards from comments. I would need to devote a lot of time if I were to do 3. Just being on steemit is busy enough. To be on multiple platforms is likely a good way to promote myself but I don't have them setup yet. 4. is the best for ROI on earned rewards. Without them my account and I think many other red fishes would not have grown as much as it has today. All points well taken. Thanks.

haha I love it! 2 is my oxygen! Thanks for sharing your experience!

Thanks for sharing. I am doing a few of these already and tried my first ever bot @minnowbooster yesterday. I think ill check out Steem delegation too as although I power Up everything I get through the platform it's a very slow process.

I do enjoy commenting and find as a newbie. I'm likely to get more upvotes/interest from comments than my posts. It seems to be working though as I wake up with more followers than I went to sleep with. And they say nothing happens overnight. Haha..

Haha, that's funny. It's always nice to wake up with more followers than when you go to sleep!!! Try this website for more about voting bots: https://s3.amazonaws.com/yabapmatt/bottracker/bottracker.html and also check out @blocktrades for SP delegations (they aren't currently offering delegations, but they will hopefully add them back soon!)

Just remember to use bots on good content. Steemit is about promoting and sharing good content! If you have any questions feel free to let me know.

Thank you, I'm loving the community aspect of Steemit and how many other steemians are willing to help each other become successful. But as they say rising tides lift all boats. I'm super excited to see where 2018 wil take us.

Check on all the above. Number 2 being helped a ton by @khaleelkazi of course! :D

Thanks always for being so generous in your upvotes on the comments. Really appreciate it! Oh an of course your time spent on writing great stuff too :D

Thanks for your kind words! Always great to hear from you!

Oh I have a question on #5: I've just put in a bid yesterday on for SP delegation of minnobooster. Is that how everyone gets theirs or is there another way?

I personally use @blocktrades to get SP delegations. They've recently closed orders on delegations due to a large influx of buyers. They made an announcement a few days ago saying that they aren't sure when buying can resume. Here's their post: https://steemit.com/blocktrades/@blocktrades/new-steem-power-delegations-from-blocktrades-still-on-hold

Ah ok that makes much more sense. Hopefully they'll open it back up soon. Planning to start doing what you're doing. Rewarding my followers :D

Thanks for the help!

I hope so as well, I would love to be able to reward you guys even more!!! Anytime my friend, always great to talk with you!

Thank you very much! ill have to save this. Perfect timing really. I made my first post today, so excited! I might have to start writing another one ahah

Thank you for reading! I'm glad you found them valuable! Congratulations on your first post, please let me know if they work for you and what your results are!

Thank you; Im only a few weeks in but have wondered a out this. Im working on being more consistent because I find myself 'exploring' others posts and commenting so much, but then the hoyrs seem to disappear on me! Thanks sincerely for the tips; I love this format where so many people are happy to help!

Glad I could help you out! Let me know if there's any more I can do for you! Keep working at it and you will get there in due time! Thanks for reading!

Thanks again! And uggghh! Im an ex-English teacher and just noticed my spelling errors!

These are all great tips, and I use all but #5 quite a bit! I've been thinking about getting or doing some delegation, but haven't decided yet.

Thank you for the compliment, I'm glad you found them valuable! I highly recommend delegations, I just recommend that people do thorough research on how exactly delegations work before jumping in!

Definitely! I definitely tend towards caution on these things. I'm kind of torn- I don't have the time to manually curate as much as I'd like, so I'd probably be deciding between getting a delegation and following a voting trail and delegating out to someone else in exchange for payouts. Any thoughts there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68