Your Steemit Market - a guide to trading between SBD and STEEM

in #steem7 years ago

It is so easy to trade SBD for STEEM or vice versa! With the new user growth in the last couple of months, there are many new users that don't realize how easy it can be. This is a brief guide to help newer users improve their Steemit experience.

It starts with the STEEM wallet:

I use this drop-down a lot. It appears on your Wallet page. The Market feature is the bottom link. In my opinion, the Market page is the best and most efficient way to change an SBD balance into STEEM, or vice versa.

Clicking the Market button brings up this page:

The graph at the top you can mostly ignore, unless you want to trade a very significant amount. It shows the total value of open orders (market depth). Here you can buy STEEM using SBD, or sell STEEM for SBD. Never again does "I have SBD, but your enrollment requires STEEM" have to be a problem for you!

Even when I'm not trading between the two, I use this page to identify the SBD value of every post payout. I take the SP received, type it into the amount box and see what SBD value appears in the Total. I add that to the SBD reward to identify the total. It's a rough estimate, but accurate enough to determine whether promotion costs on a post was actually worthwhile or not.

Cost Efficient!

In this screen-shot, you can buy STEEM for 0.785203, and sell it for 0.783493. The difference is called the spread. The spread is how much you would lose if you bought 1 STEEM and immediately sold it. You would start with .785 and end with .783. That's only 0.22% lost!! That's less than you would pay for commissions on Bittrex or most other exchanges.

I have seen the spread run as high as 2.5% on Market, but it very rarely gets higher than that. This is why I always recommend using the market to exchange between SBD and STEEM!

Posting at 50/50

Even if you want to power up, you should post at 50/50 and then use the Market to buy STEEM and Power Up. Here is my most recent post reward:

If I had posted at 100%, instead of 4.662 SP I would have received 9.324. But look at how much SBD I received instead! I could take that 19.379 SBD and buy 24.68 STEEM on the Market page. That's a total post reward of 29.462 STEEM for posting at 50/50, versus the 9.324 STEEM I would have received at Power Up 100%. @sndbox posted a great explanation of this 2 days ago: https://steemit.com/steemit/@sndbox/how-much-is-your-post-worth-a-steemit-rewards-guide

All images are screen-shots taken from Steemit. Feel free to translate this post into different languages and keep the post rewards, as long as you link to the original in your translated version!

Sort:  

Just traded more SBD for STEEM this morning. That's what I did! Good guide.

That's what I did! Good guide.

Thanks, it sounds like you're on top of things then!

I get a lot of comments at @steembasicincome that indicate many newer users struggle with this. That's why I created this guide.

It took me weeks to figure out why it's better to take 50/50 so long as SBD is well over $1 USD. Thanks.

Yeah, Steem has all this arcana that makes it a difficult place sometimes.

"This is a brief guide to help newer users improve their Steemit experience."
Am new on here, thanks for sharing.
"Posting at 50/50"
alright advice taken. thanks, kindly do well to post more help for new intakes.
Kudos to you

Thanks for your support. I have typically posted much more complex posts with analysis into the game-theory, incentive mechanisms, etc. Over time I have come to understand that there is much more need for basic guides and "help for new intakes," as you see.
I will think about what other topics I should cover.

thanks for explaining it so well. wish i had known this when I was a newbie here

This post has received a 6.16 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @josephsavage.

Good job! Thanks to @sneakyninja you have planted 0.50 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14508.28. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @sneakyninja
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Thank you @sneakyninja for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 4.34% on this post! Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem! The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me! For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily? To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Release the Kraken! You got a 39.96% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @sneakyninja!

You got a 17.82% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @sneakyninja!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16