Reflecting on my first week on Steemit

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

I'm just about to receive my payout from my #introduceyourself post, which means I have been active on Steemit for a week now; I signed up in November, but didn't post anything until December 23. I thought it would be nice to take this opportunity to reflect on why I joined Steemit and how it's going for me so far.

I joined Steemit on the recommendation of a couple of friends who don't use the website themselves, but know about it and recognised that I could achieve success on the platform with my skills as a writer. Over the last 3 years, I have shared detailed accounts of my extensive travels with my friends on Facebook, with the goal of providing entertaining stories, educating people about the world, and inspiring more people to be curious and discover a world larger than their own bubble.

My stories on Facebook have always been incredibly well received, and I have received encouragement from countless friends, who tell me that reading my stories is a highlight of their day, that I should write a book or somehow try to present my writing to a larger audience. A common refrain is that my writing is a talent that I should monetise. Just today, I had a friend message me and tell me:

I love reading about your experiences, they almost start to feel like my own!

But I've always been reluctant to take my prose outside of the safe confines of my circle of friends.

Enter Steemit

I joined Steemit for two reasons. Firstly, to get my story out to a wider audience, to spread my message of positivity as far and wide as possible. Secondly, to be rewarded for my content. There comes a point in every traveller's journey when the funds run dry. For me, that point is approaching very quickly. So I joined Steemit out of a need.

Expectation vs Reality

Well, it has been more of a grind than I had expected. My first introduction to Steemit was a friend showing me the Trending page, which gave me a skewed view of how much of an audience I would have from the outset. I was seeing posts worth $40, $50, $100, and thought that I would have that kind of visibility overnight.

Obviously, that's not the case. However there have been encouraging signs. When I see the success that people like @world-travel-pro and @sweetsssj are having on the platform by writing about their travels, I know that the potential is there. And especially after reading that @world-travel-pro was only averaging 50 cents a post after 4 months on Steemit, to see his success now is truly inspiring!

I am incredibly confident in my content, and I know that with perseverance, I can build a significant standing on Steemit. If I continue tweaking and improving my content for a different audience (200,000 strangers rather than 2000 friends), and continue to participate in the various projects on the platform, it's only a matter of when, not if, it becomes a viable platform for me.

Already in my first week, I have made some decent progress. My posts have only earned me about $20 so far (which is a terrible hourly rate), however I have gained 65 followers (after a big spike last night) and improved my reputation to 41. Edit: $20 Steem is actually about US$140 - so not too bad at all! I have also received various endorsements from some experienced and respected Steemians. For example:

I have experienced wonderful support from Steemit members old and new, and I'd like to make a special shout out to @jpphotography, another relatively new Steemian who has already managed to hit the trending page thanks to his amazing photography of Cuba. Julian has been incredibly helpful with tips on how to improve the visibility of my posts and grow my standing within the community.

Shout outs also to @ausbitbank, @choogirl and @hr1 for the great upvotes!

Overall, I am happy with my development on the platform in my first week, and I am excited to see how much further I can progress. I am hoping to use my payout from my #introduceyourself post to join @qurator, and I look forward to continued growth on Steemit!

Steemit logo


If this post is more than a week old and you would like to reward me, please find and upvote my most recent post!
Remember, you can find any of my travel stories quickly by searching for the tag #redpilgrim.

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

I am new to Steemit and I have so many stories to tell about life on the road. If you enjoy my writing, please consider rewarding me for my content. An engaged audience makes for a motivated writer!

I'm searching for great content! If you are a traveller, a photographer, or you write about human sciences (psychology, politics, philosophy etc), I want to see your material. Please let me know about it in the comments below.
Sort:  

Congratulations @donnymurph! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @donnymurph to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

You're doing really well for just being here a week. I've enjoyed your posts!

Thanks so much for your support. The truly amazing stories are still to come!

This post has received a 2.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @donnymurph.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47