Steemit's First Long-Term Travel Blog!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit community. My name is Donovan, aka donnymurph, aka the Red Pilgrim, and I am, for all intents and purposes, a bum. I derive stimulation and joy from slipping through the cracks of society on my open-ended excursions across the globe. I also happen to be pretty decent at writing, and I'm here to share my stories and my inspiration with you. Welcome to Steemit's first long-term travel blog.

To begin, here's a picture of me so that you know I'm a real human.

This year in June, I found myself in Hyderabad, India, with nothing but a backpack and a dream: to smash my feet apart on a Berlin dance floor, without using a plane to get there.

Just to let that sink in, I'll say it again. India to Germany - without a plane. Here's a map of the route I took.

Along the way, I made a cameo in a Bollywood film in Mumbai, spent 3 days in a filthy Indian hospital, and a night sleeping at the aptly nicknamed Golden Temple, the holiest pilgrimage site of the Sikh religion. I stayed in a shepherd's hut in Pakistan's Hunza Valley, built a makeshift fjord to cross a melting glacier on a rusty, creaky bus, and celebrated Pakistani Independence Day with the locals in Peshawar. I entered Iran after a gruelling 3 day border crossing, sat in on a boardroom meeting with the Iran Tourism Development Corporation and a couple of surf instructors from Costa Rica, and wandered the desert in search of the last remaining survivors of the Asiatic Cheetah.

In Iraqi Kurdistan I came face to face with Saddam Hussein's atrocities, and witnessed the still-smouldering remains of a former ISIS stronghold. I was chased by dogs along the Armenian border in Turkey, couchsurfed with locals that didn't speak a word of English, worked in a carpet shop, fell for a local beauty, and was scammed for about a third of my savings in Istanbul. I partied until sunrise in Tbilisi, Georgia and Thessaloniki, Greece, played video games with a long-term internet friend in Bratislava, Slovakia, and finally, after a tumultuous 6 months on the road, I set foot in Berlin.

There are few pursuits that put you in a more vulnerable position than cutting off your source of income, buying a one-way ticket to a faraway land, and letting everything sort itself out. Through this vulnerability, I have gained invaluable life lessons about the human spirit, about unbridled kindness and ice-cold callousness, about the desperation of poverty, about resourcefulness and resilience, and the truth about the Middle East.

At the end of it all, I just wanted more, so I signed up for an English teaching course in Guadalajara, Mexico, which is where I'm writing this post from.

In this blog, I solemnly swear that I will entertain you with my irreverent and self-deprecating writing style. I find far too many travel bloggers to be a touch stiff, and many are plagued with a holier-than-thou attitude. That's not me. I'm a sinner. I'm a hedonist. I swear an awful lot. I do naughty stuff. You will experience the world through my eyes. You will feel what I feel. Every eye-opening cultural revelation. Every hangover. Every excitement and disappointment. I will write in the present tense, because it's more fun and engaging to read. I have a beautifully positive message to share about the world we live in, and I will share it in the most candid way possible. I also do photography. It's mediocre as hell, but it's photography nonetheless.

Along with my storytelling, I will be sharing hard-won advice about life on the road, country guides, opinion pieces, and many more valuable pieces besides.

You will be able to find all of my posts by searching for the tag redpilgrim.

SAM_3914-2.jpg

The story begins tomorrow, as I am thrust headfirst into the chaos of India, with a travel virgin as my companion. Don't miss it! It is now available to read here.

And finally, if this post is more than a week old and you would like to reward me, please find and upvote my most recent post!

Sort:  

Love your picture with the world map - really looking forward to more :) Check out @bypaul for example, his travel stories are from enormous good quality! Or check out @czechglobalhosts, he hosts daily picture contest from around the globe!
Greets and good luck :)

Thanks for your support! I have a very busy day today, but I will look at those blogs when I get home tonight.

Followed. Looking forward to your stories.

Welcome !! Nice to meet you. Follow each other and come see my blog and vote.
I will upload beautiful pictures and designs myself.

You seem great, can't wait for your content, just gave you a follow! Welcome :)

Thanks for your support! I've followed you back.

Welcome to Steemit! You will do well here! Lets Upvote and Follow each other! I post about envorinment!
Regards,
@leranion

A very important topic! I've followed you back.

Good on you buddy! Can't wait for the next chapter...!

Thanks for your support! The next chapter has just been posted and you can find it here.

(P.S. Is this Daniel?)

Yup :) not sure if my posts are "upvoting" at all but i hope it helps. Regardless, this is entertaining as fuck and i look forward to your posts.

I explained the system on my Facebook page, but yeah, even if your upvote doesn't visually add value to my post, it's still worthwhile. Also, the posts can only make money for 7 days after they've been posted. Thanks again for being engaged with my content!

Hi Donovan! Welcome to Steem! We're glad to have you here!

I am a Steem curator, and creator of the series "The Fresh 5" where I pick five new Steemians to share with my followers that they should know about. I have selected you as one of my five for today. Your post has been featured in my post you can find here: The Fresh 5.

I would encourage you to come over and visit my post and say hi in the comments to get to know some of the folks reading my daily digest. You are welcome to tell us more about yourself there and encourage my readers to come and check you out!

Have a great day! Looking forward to seeing more of you on the platform!!

Hi Mike, thanks so much for the support! I'll jump on over to your post now.

Hey man welcome to Steem! I just joined today too and found you via the post from @mikepm74

I just followed you and up voted you, let's Steem on!

Thanks for the support Earl. I'll be following your blog for sure!

Adam and I Love reading your crazy storys. Keep it up 👍

Plenty more crazy stories to come!

Welcome to the platform! hope you like it, all the best with your travels. Upvoted!
I traveled for four years and blog about it now.
for now back in Amsterdam thinking about my next adventure

Thanks for your support! Your blog looks fascinating, so I've followed you as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39