A Tinder Date in Goa

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

To its detractors, Tinder is a sleazy sex app. To a solo traveller, it's a fantastic tool for meeting interesting local people. Here is my account of an encounter with an Indian Tinderella.


This is the third instalment of my overland backpacking travelogue from India to Germany.
Part one: Anxiety and Mayhem in India
Part two: India – From Chaos to Tranquility

I'm in Goa, India's party capital and epicentre of the country's electronic music scene. I may have touched down in Hyderabad a week earlier, but from an ideological point of view, this is the beginning of my journey. Goa to Berlin. One electronic music capital to another.

The problem is, it's June, which is off-season in Goa. Blame the torrential summer monsoon; there’s not much on at this time of year. I spend most of my time exploring the Candolim and Calangute areas and enjoying the local cuisines. Goa's best dishes are Cafreal and Xacuti. Cafes sell a sweet lime juice called Mosambi for 20 rupees.

I take a swim in the Arabian Sea, but the swell is incredibly dangerous, so I get out after 5 minutes. During my 5 days in Goa, at least 2 people die in the sea.

Calangute Beach - lots of people looking at the water, but no-one going in it.

Calangute Beach

I do meet a few Indian dance music devotees in my hostel. Mayank hails from Delhi, via Manchester, where he works as an agent for go-go dancers, in partnership with festivals such as Electric Daisy Carnival. He finds a beach party on Friday night, and tries to call me to give me directions. Unfortunately his phone can’t hold a signal, so it’s beers at the hostel for me tonight.

Cleanliness isn't India's strong point.

Polluted beach

During a moment of boredom on Saturday afternoon, I sit in the courtyard of the hostel thumbing away on Tinder, and I match with a tall, slender local called Nu. We get chatting, and I tell her I'm in Goa to experience the electronic music scene. She promises to take me to a club where I can see the “real Goa”, the one that only appears in the off-season when the tourists disappear. Sounds good to me.

I jump in an overpriced rickshaw to the village of Vagator where Nu lives. Goa is quite a remote state; a collection of villages in the jungle, connected only by narrow, poorly maintained roads. I bounce along at a leisurely lick for about 40 minutes before arriving at Nu's apartment complex. Nu speaks English perfectly, with a high-pitched, musical accent, and she tells me that she considers English her mother tongue. From the second I meet her, I immediately sense that there's absolutely zero attraction between us, but oh well. I'm mostly here for the adventure anyway.

We pick up a few cans of Bira, the hugely popular local beer made from Belgian wheat and Himalayan hops, and drive up to a nice lookout overlooking the Chapora Beach and Chapora Fort. We sit up there drinking beer and talking shit for a while, before heading down to a local restaurant for some dinner. I eat Squid Masala, which is probably the spiciest dish I have during my entire time in India, but still quite pleasant and flavoursome (although I do have a very strong spice palate).

Photo credit: bombayreport.com

Bira

Nu takes me to an open air venue called Cafe Cotinga, not far from the world famous Anjuna Beach, so renowned for its parties that there's a record label named after it. Cotinga oozes class, with an airy socialite vibe reminiscent of Pike’s Hotel in Ibiza. A sprawling outdoor dining area features a small stage and a bar, populated by Goa’s young and beautiful, with a smattering of eccentric expats. I meet one girl from somewhere in Eastern Europe with a huge mountain of blonde dreadlocks tied up into a bun, balancing on top of her head like a gigantic turban. She introduces herself to me as “Gorgonzola”.

Cafe Cotinga. Photo credit: TripAdvisor

Cotinga

The drink prices are steep; I pay 750 rupees for a whisky (about £7.50). Despite this, everyone is wasted. Nu simply walks in with her can of Bira, and regularly returns to her car to grab another. No-one says anything about it.

Nu had promised me techno music. Instead, there’s a 2 piece rock band on the stage; a bass guitarist and a singer with a voice that sounds uncannily like Jim Morrison of the Doors. He also plays chords on a heavily distorted electric keyboard. Luckily for me, I'm a lover of a vast variety of musical genres. The band is unreal.

Nu clearly isn't particularly interested in hanging out with me, which is fine. She gravitates towards a few of her friends, while I simply absorb the fascinating crowd and mingle with randoms. The people you meet in clubs and bars in India are very, very different to the people you meet on the streets during the daytime. It's chalk and cheese.

When the first band finishes, another rock band – a more conventional 3 piece this time – plays for a couple of hours on another stage in a room inside. They are also amazing, and I dance away happily on my own until they finish at about midnight.

At this point, I haven't seen Nu for a while, and I presume that she's left. So I wander outside to try to figure out how on earth I'm going to get back to Calangute, when I bump into her. She is fucking wasted. “Let's go”, she slurs. I know that getting in the car with her is an awful idea, but it seems to be my only option. I follow as she drunkenly struts back to her car, praying to the road safety gods that I make it in one piece.

The drive is, as you can imagine, terrifying. Bouncing along a pockmarked jungle road in Nu's little hatchback, with her reacting late and subsequently jerking the wheel at every corner, I try to make peace with the idea that I may not make it back to my hostel unscathed. I'd offer to drive, but I'm not the most sober person in the world either, right now; although I do consider it when she almost sideswipes a car passing in the opposite direction. When she finally pulls up outside the hostel, I let out a huge sigh of relief, before dashing out of the car and straight to bed, where it takes me a good while to calm myself down before I can get to sleep.

What a night.


If you'd like to read a more uplifting story about travellers on Tinder, check out this article from my good friend, crypto trader and fellow travel blogger Will Hatton, who married an Iranian girl he met on Tinder - twice!

If this post is more than a week old and you would like to reward me, please find and upvote my most recent post!
Remember, you can find any of my travel stories quickly by searching for the tag #redpilgrim.

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

I am new to Steemit and I have so many stories to tell about life on the road. If you enjoy my writing, please consider rewarding me for my content. An engaged audience makes for a motivated writer!

I'm searching for great content! If you are a traveller, a photographer, or you write about human sciences (psychology, politics, philosophy etc), I want to see your material. Please let me know about it in the comments below.
Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @donnymurph to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=donnymurph
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-tinder-date-in-goa


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Hahahaha yep, pretty much just like this!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

at least you gained a new experience and survived her driving :p

It makes for a pretty good story, I think!

This post has received a 3.01 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @donnymurph.

Good content man, respect. Can't believe I never thought of using Tinder on the road. It always seemed like, as you said, a "sleazy sex app." Sounds like a fun night with platonic friendship

Oh, I've definitely used it for hooking up as well. But I've made more friends from it than anything else, and even if I don't end up meeting up with someone, they can often still give me great inside tips on a place.

I've given you a follow man, you don't post often but you produce pretty good content and you definitely get about! Chefchaouen is a really cool town; I spent a few days there in 2014 with a crazy Japanese guy that was doing a full lap of the African coastline, collecting cannabis seeds from each country so he could go back home and grow different strains. Good times.

Likewise man. I stopped posting for a while back when Steem was almost worthless and started kicking myself when it went up recently. Gotta love that Morrocan hashish (especially the price)!

It's great to hear that you survived. You note that 2 people drowned in Goa, but we have to wonder how many died on the roads those same days.

Having lived in India, I know that the traffic death toll is high. And having driven and been driven hundreds of kilometers on big and small roads in the country, I know how risky it is.

I heard more than a few horrific stories of "accidents" caused by the generally chaotic traffic conditions. And without a doubt, the number and severity only increased at night, and owing to drunk drivers. We often read reports of drivers who were so sloshed that they could barely walk, let alone drive. Sadly, that did not stop them from getting behind the wheel.

Thanks for the interesting travelogue. Stay safe, and keep documenting your adventures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88