SteemEDU - Steem's Future Role with Education: Google Hangout with Kieran Nolan and Tom McGann

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I join Kieran Nolan @kdnolan and Tom McGann @tommcgann to discuss the potential of Steem in regards to education models.

Sort:  

I am very interested in this. I come from the education sector and I am getting excited how this is going to work out! I will keep track of development.

I have included this great post into my SteemWiki.info project. It's a section of the Wiki about the future of STEEM and Steemit.com.

Followed you guys!

Great to hear! Here is the original piece I wrote that we referenced in this video:

https://steemit.com/education/@derekareith/steemit-s-model-applied-to-education

Sweet. I added this link to the Wiki as well. Thanks!

We also forgot to mention @picokernel and his great work on https://squeek.io/
https://steemit.com/steem/@picokernel/alpha-squeek-io-twitter-alternative-for-the-steem-blockchain

BTW, great job so far with the SteemWiki project! Just saw a couple things missing off the top of my head that I think you should check out:

@nphacker built http://www.steemiq.me

@good-karma built eSteem
https://steemit.com/steemmobile/@good-karma/finally-esteem-is-on-ios-app-store-other-development-updates

My friend @jbaker585 is just getting into crypto through Steemit and we have been brainstorming so many incredible things we can build to push Steem to the masses just in the past week. Good things are coming from every direction, my friend!

Thanks for these resources. They surely are a great addition to the wiki. I made a review on good-karma's eSteem app on its first releases here https://steemit.com/steemit/@cjclaro/steemit-review-esteem-mobile-app-for-android-full-review-screenshot-by-screenshot . I'm on my way to a follow-up review.

Yes, indeed, good things are coming. It's good to be a part of history of Steemit. Will be stalking you from now on ;-) Looking forward to the fruits of your brainstorming sessions!

Thanks for commenting on the DivvyDAO.org Debate Arena! I am checking out the hangout video above here and I agree in a new education model needs to come from this technology and to counter the wasted resources in public education. 120 million dollar high schools in my opinion is hardly a good use of public funds when there is technology and ability to create online education models. Debate Arena at the end of the day can be used for debate, but also for a classroom, where there can be rewards for educator or moderator and even for students or audience. So for demonstration, show and tell, wood shop demos, battle of metal shop projects or battle of the bands, or even English class, this arena could be used for that as well. And it can break into channels or categories and it should. I don't know if anybody would be interested in hanging out and start laying down the tracks. I am limited in abilities but am playing around in WordPress with some plug ins for building a prototype. Let me know if you care to have fun and see where we can take this? I'm in Seattle

DivvyDAO.org sounds like it has some real potential. The limits with Steem really come down to our imagination. I see many implementations of Steem in the future, and with regards to education, there will be many different models that can compete. Perhaps one "wins" out, or perhaps many exist in tandem and offer students and educators a variety of different paths for education.

Check these out:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@wordpress-tips/steemit-for-wordpress-1-display-your-steemit-blog-in-your-wordpress-website-with-this-free-plugin

https://steemit.com/steemit/@joomla-tips/display-your-steemit-blog-in-your-joomla-website-with-this-free-extension

And @jesta with http://steempress.io/

These are tools that push Steemit posts to 3rd party sites. Eventually, you will see more things like @picokernel built with http://squeek.io - a completely different "window" to the Steem blockchain. That's what we need to build out for education models in order to maximize the potential of the learning environment, in my opinion.

Derek, I discussed incentivized edu with you a week or so back a little bit, but I don't remember which account I was using. Just to clarify who I am: I use @daoine-sidhe for my novel, @libertarianarts for artistic things, and @geke for my geke website (venn diagrams and my economics book for kids). My real name, btw, is Stephanie. Anyway... I love this conversation and would like to discuss this with you further. Wondering if there's a way to use my econ curriculum for kids on a platform like this.

That's fantastic, Stephanie! I can't wait to see a sort of steemedu start to materialize. I think there is so much potential in this idea and the cool part is, that it can actually be built.

In the meantime, I think it might be worthwhile to try posting an optional assignment here on Steemit. Create a tag for your class and see how it goes. They can upvote your post for attendance and then post their answers in the comments. Perhaps it can be more of a creative project so they each have subjective content to add, thus eliminating the cheating factor.

You then review, upvote the quality content, while replying with advice so they can improve where needed. Students can upvote one another's answers and your responses as well. This should help send signals to you as far as what stuff resonates the best with your students.

I hope this helps! I'd also recommend checking out @nphacker's http://www.steemiq.me/education. I could totally see doing this all on Steemit in the longrun with tools like this getting better over time. However, I also see the need to have a specific environment that solely caters to learning. Steem will allow us to have both. :)

I've written up some thoughts here, including a huge h/t and link back to your post:
https://steemit.com/education/@geke/can-steemit-incentivize-learning-for-kids

We touched on Yours Network a bit and I happened to miss another key differentiation between Steemit and Yours. Yours Network will actually have a fee system in place, where Steemit/Steem has no fees.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47