[Steem talk] Dark side of curation

in #steem5 years ago

For the past 24 hours, I had experienced one of the darkest day in my curator life, in #steem blockchain. I've seen some good, but mostly bad intentions going around spreading the "good" vibes.

I dare not to say I'm a good curator, neither am I claiming I'm a profitable curator, but I do read articles, provide feedback to the author, at my best days I cast up to 300 votes a day manual and auto. Hence I applied for a curator role in #esteem, and gotten in and help benefit the community to reward good authors. Yesterday was no difference, as @cardboard allowing new curator to chip in their contribution in helping @tipu to continue curation project so it can stay afloat.

What surprised me come not long after the curation started, I got a vote! Wohoo! That was the happy moment when a close friend of mine sent a curation to my alt, and I'm happy someone finally found my work valuable. But the happiness didn't last long. Immediately I find more curator is rushing to "utilize" their curation power. Some decided to self curate immediately after a post, some less smart fella went to trending page and blast their curation vote to the already high payout posts.

Came the midnight before sleep sweep when I was doing my daily routine curation for #esteem, to my surprise most if not all of those high payout posts has been awarded with @tipu curation. Best of all, those post being curated with 0.02% vote, which means the author is only getting a very small chunk of @tipu, and it lost an opportunity to obtain a full curation. I did a small research and find these action has been automated.

I totally get the idea, I can't do it doesn't mean it's wrong. If I can't curate before others, that simply because I'm less competitive. It's not about should or should not curate the post. It's about how people reflect themselves when comes to monetary rewards. One willing to setup a huge fan base curation and cast small curation to high payout author, so they can earn higher curation point. And they self curate themselves with 100%. So, what does it mean to you?

Once again I would like to emphasize, it's not about right or wrong kind of curation. I'm merely stating the fact that, people can get really nasty when comes to money(and this is not even money yet). You leave other people with a 0.02 curation, take away their rights to earn an upvote at 4 minutes,and you do a full curation to your own alts with your own account, if that is not selfish, tell me what it is? Sell fish?

I know I know. Things will be changed. And the changes already taking place, thank you @cardboard for looking into this. Initially I thought cardboard will allow this to continue, because despite the way of casting 0.02 curation would mean higher profitability to @tipu, but a new set of limit now taken place by using voting mana. Kudos to that change and believe the current situation should be minimized due to limit of number of votes going out. But still, it just take one opportunity, and we saw the dark side of how people who play by the rules suck big time compare to people who play WITH the rules. Dark side does not necessarily mean bad. Dark side of the moon do see the sun during eclipse, it's called dark side simply because moon always facing earth at the same direction.

Rest my case here. No picture today. Not a rant. No personal attack. No intention to offense anyone. Let's see if anyone curate me with @tipu and how many percentage I'm getting if this really pull any attention from the like minded people.

Sort:  

!thumbup
恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2019-10-11) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。
@justyy 是CN区的见证人,请支持他,给他投票,或者设置justyy为见证人代理。感谢!@justyy的主要贡献:https://steemyy.com

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2019-10-11) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

SteemIt 工具、API接口、机器人和教程
SteemIt Tools, Bots, APIs and Tutorial



If you believe what I am doing, please consider a spare vote voting me here, thank you very much indeed.

@justyy - the author of https://SteemYY.com and I have been a Steem Witness for more than a year now.

七刀也中?谢谢大佬😅

Posted using Partiko Android

100% upvote for you although my value is small. Keep up the good work buddy. =)

Thanks buddy! @tipu nominate

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

哈哈,我呼叫了tipu,我尽力了,这是真的好文

谢谢孙波满满的爱心。

The fact that there is no vetting on the curators and which post is upvoted meant this would be a disaster from day one and there are so many free riders and abusers on Steemit. Allowing self vote just shows how bad the situation is

Using alt to vote other account is not self upvote 😂😂😂 I know what you mean babe. Just having fun pulling your leg. Enjoy the dark side babe 😘

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted 👌

你已经是英雄了😂

Posted using Partiko Android

为了让分数更高吧,0.02或许是个保险的投票,减少负分的情况,可以更多的点赞。我也想用tipu给自己点赞,哈哈。 !shop

Posted using Partiko Android

没有对错。个人做法不同,不过对于被审查的人会有什么影响呢?自己想吧。分数,我一直没有看。重要是被点赞的文章是否值得。

Posted using Partiko Android

我发现你这贴和我的一样,用的是full curate,但得到的是1%的点赞

Posted using Partiko iOS

样子出问题了😂

Posted using Partiko Android

我看他们说,tipu的VP低于90%就会变成1,高于就是我们常见的5%

然后偶发的情况下会变成10%,当然,所幸的是,听说0.几的percentage被叫停了,理论来说不太会再被坑

Posted using Partiko iOS

没关系。反正我是打算直接送出去了🙂 也不是点赞自己,都不在乎的。我只在乎别人为啥给我点零点几那种不切实际的垃圾审查。要什就好好审,不爱审就别审😑

Posted using Partiko Android

1%2%5%都有,不清楚怎么回事。

Posted using Partiko Android

没有办法规则在那,只点小数点的赞,tipu的审查收益更高,审查员分数更高,如果审查员分数不升,分得的收益就要少,甚至既然不能带来收益(或负收益),会不会可能被踢出审查员。至于帖子值不值得可能就不那么重要了,对被点赞的贴可能会有的高赞而不是有小数点的赞也不那么关心了。现有规则下只能看情况调整点赞比例了。

本问题要,没有对错。加油,审查员。我的今早上全数挥霍了🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

确实也没什么对错。开开心心交流就好😁

你不好来给我弄个0.02,不然把你踩死😏 要嘛不给,要给就给像样点😏

Posted using Partiko Android

那就0.2吧,哈哈。其实倒也不一定要点小数点,排第一的都是满的赞,值得学习。

Hi~ 金鱼佬!
@also.einstein has gifted you 1 SHOP!

Currently you have: 50 SHOP

View or Exchange SHOP Please go to steem-engine.com.

Are you bored? Play Rock,Paper,Scissors game with me!

another question, how much kg did you lost in the "look good and feel great" time?

That time was 4kg loss. But haven't keep track for 2 months now. I'm still working out, but did not measure my weight. Will take a measurement and do an ordinary post since my post doesn't meet #sportstalk curation requirement.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45