How to increase long term engagement on Steem - The Loyalty Score

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

Rewarding loyalty

In discussions with others on what can be done to provide a reward for long term commitment to the platform I have come up with a possible solution. Each account should acquire over time a loyalty score. This loyalty score would be based a community defined criteria represented by a set of metrics which the community determines is "long term engagement". Those who best meet the standard will have a loyalty score above the standard. Those who just came on Steem for the quick buck will not meet the standard.

The exact formula for the loyalty score should be updated over time so that it accurately represents user engagement. This loyalty score could then be broken down into levels where those with the highest levels could be given privileges down the road. For example bronze, silver, gold, platinum, or a color system which represents an even finer grained leveling.

Steem projects want loyal long term engaged participants

If each account has a loyalty score then the projects of the future can know exactly who will grow their community even when the price of their token drops. Perhaps an SMT could allow an ICO only for the accounts which have a high enough loyalty score? Perhaps the accounts with the highest loyalty scores can get paid moderator status or first access to other income generating roles on different platforms? Ideas for privileges for these accounts can come from the community.

Sort:  

I think this could be a good idea for Steem and also for me because since I found steemit about 900 days ago I've been here just about every day reading, voting, sometimes replying, and sometimes posting. Since all that data except for reading is on the blockchain, once a formula is agreed upon, it can be retroactively calculated from historical data. Steemit Incorporated came up with the reputation score, and now there is a steem-ua number. I'd like to see a loyalty number added to that collection.

Maybe a sum of the weighted averages of voting, replying and posting history. We would just need to come up with numbers for the weights and for the number of days we used for the weighted average. A 30-day moving average might work, and if we weight posts at 50%, replies at 35%, and votes at 15% that might work. Add in a squashing function so that the number stays within a range, and it gets harder to level up at higher levels, but easier at lower levels, like an S (sigmoid) function. Just some thoughts inspired by your post.

Thanks for the link! Yes I think this is similar to what I was talking about. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Join in. You just need to comment on the post. It could be fun trying to reach the top 100.

I like that possible solution. I, in these times I have published more than before, despite the price, I really like steemit and I think it is the best social network ... and that would be an excellent motivation.
I do not publish more because I have many occupations with my daughters and obligations ... if not publish much more hahaha

Can you add me to the list if you get one going. Loyalty is pretty high on my list so when Inertia posted in SS I came to visit. I’ve never seen you in my 13 months here. Happy to meet you!

Wow! I love this idea! The reputation score is helpful but the loyalty score would be a better option or both.

What is it all about? loyalty, to help, to give, to serve?

Does a flower...

full of beauty, light and loveliness say, I am giving, helping, serving?

It is!!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Interesting thoughts you have going on.
Definitely worth considering! It should be some kind of deviation from reputation (switching off building from known bots and similar things).

And yes, if you find "exact" formula, please count me in as a tester :)

I really enjoy reading your views on governance and love your vision/ intro, re: free society.

I don't have your brains and can't follow everything, but have enough to learn a bit from what you write.

I've started experimenting with AI posting with my @wizardzap bot. It's very, very rudimentary, but I'm just learning how to program (teaching myself), its not hurting any body and provides some value by giving a quality photo automatically. People might say hey, this is a bot wrecking the system, but how if people like my photos? what is value?

I'm going to try and have the bot analysis who upvotes and why etc. The whole thing is an experiment as I've always been fascinated with AI. I use to work with a guy who I believe was a global lead and some of the conversations blew my mind, for example which came first computers or humans? sounds matrix but he was on this stuff before the movie came out.

I really like the idea of loyalty rewards and think like me start simple then grow it through machine learning/AI would be critical and stop scammers.

One factor would most certainly be 'thou whom power's down, get's less upvote' for me.

Idea of "loyalty scores" is good, but personally I would encourage to keep implementation of such "loyalty scores" private... and actually have many different loyalty scores.

Otherwise, I am afraid such score/ranking could be easily gamed.

I believe in letting the market use the Darwinian process to select "best fit".

This post has been included in the latest edition of SOS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58085.08
ETH 2337.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37