Beginner's Guide For Steemies | Part 13 - SMTs, Bonus Info, and Conclusion

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

Lessons:
Part 1 - Intro
Part 2 - Registering and Keys
Part 3 - Account, Wallet, and Tokens
Part 4 - Getting Steem
Part 5 - Posting and Tagging
Part 6 - Tribes
Part 7 - DApps
Part 8 - Curating
Part 9 - Delegating
Part 10 - Stat Tracking and Transaction Searching
Part 11 - Key Managing
Part 12 - Steem Engine
Part 13 - SMTs, Bonus Stuff, and Conclusion


Okay, so we are finally near the finish line and just about ready to send you off into the Steem world to explore. This next topic may be on the little "advance" lessons side of course, but I'll simplify it as best I can. Plus if you made it this far, this shouldn't be much to add to your memory bank. Besides, we are almost finished here!


SMTs

If you been hanging around Steemit long enough, you've heard this term thrown around a lot. If you are new, then you have no idea what this is then. I've been here a while and at the time of this writing, I'm still learning exactly what this is. X3 But I'll give you what I know so far and from what I learn, this sounds pretty big and impactful.

"So what is SMTs?"

SMT = Smart Media Token

"What is this for?"

Basically "tokenize the internet". Meaning expanding the rewarding system to other media platforms for them to reward their users. Think Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, or even maybe your favorite website paying you a reward for using their site.

An article I found that super simplifies an explanation about SMTs can be found here: What Are SMTs
If you want a little more detailed info, this article will do: Smart Media Tokens: The Future of the Internet, Explained
And as well, this nice article also explains why SMTs are needed: This is Why SMTs Will Solve the Economics of the Steem Blockchain: “The World is Not a Large Village” - Skin in the Game

Of course if you still want to learn more about this, I would highly recommend researching about this more through Steemit's search bar.


Bonus Stuff

Brave Browser

This isn't related to Steemit necessarily but can be a compliment, and I figured I'd mentioned this among other stuff as bonus especially since you made it this far. :)

If you ever heard of Brave Browser, then you might be one who is using it right now. If not, I would recommend checking it out especially if you currently use FireFox or Chrome browser. Beside being a more privacy and security browser, one of the most unique things for this browser is that you can be rewarded for simply running into certain ads you already normally run into while browsing online through the Brave Rewards feature. You can even tip your favorite content and content creators from Brave Rewards too like tipping folks who enable linking the feature to their Twitter. You can kind of see how this is similar in a way to Steemit and SMTs especially since Brave also runs a cryptocurrency too called BAT token.

Future of Steemit

Just some quick personal thoughts and opinions. We don't know exactly what's in store for the future, but I think Steemit and Steem could play a big role in how we utilize the internet as well as supporting your favorite content creators. It could provide an avenue of support for folks that wasn't there before by simply earning income doing the everything things you love to do and simply support folks by a simple upvote.

I don't have much input at this moment on what I hope to see for the platform in the future, but one thing I hope we see implement here is a reward system that continuously pays outside of the 7 day period. In summed up reason, I believe all content still have value to those who read it and like it even if the content is read a year or a decade or even more away from it first being posted. Plus I think it would provide extra incentive for continuous voting for future folks who read it and like it. If you have the time and would like to see my full reasoning, I encourage you to check out my article here. It's a bit of a good long read though. X3 Steem Wishlist: Cumulative Passive Earnings

If you have ideas on what you think can improve the ecosystem here more, always feel free to share among the community. I'm sure they'll be interested to know.


Conclusion

So that about wraps up this For Steemies tutorial guide! You should now understand much about Steem to get a good handle on it and also get a basic understanding of the benefits it provides not only from a financial standpoint, but more importantly, a community standpoint and what its goals can do for the entire internet and possibly the world. I hope all of this information you find useful and helpful as you begin (or continue) your journey in the Steem world. Feel free to share these articles to help other newcomers understand the platform and apps better. Also, it'll be much appreciated if you give an upvote and resteem on these articles if you found these helpful to you and want to support.

Other than that, thank you for taking the time and reading these, thank you for your support, Happy Steeming and once again...

Part 13.1.png

Previous Lesson

⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜

Bleuxwolf Watermark 2 2020Final.png

If you liked the content, an upvote and resteem will and always be greatly appreciated!

If you like to check out my other content like drawing and step-by-step tutorials, feel free to browse my channel and give me a follow to keep up to date with my postings!

⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜ ⚜

Interested in more of my portfolio of works or interested in me drawing you a pic, feel free to also check out my personal portfolio/commission site. Arts by Bleux

Patreon Cover Picture 2.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86