Want an upvote from me? Don't ask! Don't upvote yourself either!

in #steem6 years ago

I hate when people beg/ask for upvotes from me... I KNOW where the up vote button is.. If you want one from me, make a good post/reply that DESERVES the upvote! You don't need to ask me, I will provide the up vote to your content that I feel it deserves!

Want an upvote from me? Best thing to do is stop up voting yourself! I look at people who up vote their own posts/comments as taking from the community and not giving. Very VERY rarely will I ever up vote someone who has been upvoting themselves. If you want to spend you SP/VP on yourself, WHY should I bother? You didn't contribute it to me or others in the community.. So WHY should I contribute to you?

Most people don't realize how the WAY they act and behave long term effects them. Most people are just looking for a quick payout and do not realize how something like self upvoting, can make the bigger fish not want to up vote you at all.

If you can't contribute your votes to the community, WHY should we contribute to your posts? Just think about that the next time you want to up vote your own content instead of providing up votes to others in the community you should be supporting!

Sort:  

@bigdeej , Yap, u say very right thing. Actually your concept is good. I think u have a great creative & different mind setup. In this way we can build up our community & make it stronger. Thanks.

Glad this helps you, just remember the key is engagement. If you say something of value, it gets rewarded. Up voting yourself, personally to me, just is desperation for earnings... I wouldn't do it..

I know that. I also understand that u are a big thinker. Thanks for sharing your good concept.

If you aren't already part of our community check out @shadowbot! we are about to expand to the next level this next few weeks!

Ok I am going to check it out now & also seeing how to participate on it.

Let us know all your feedback! We grow every day expanding our community working together to as we like to say "Learn and Earn Together"!

Can u share any link where I can get the details about @shadowbot like how it is operate??

Check the faq and read through some of the posts on @shadowbot. If you have any questions just ask.

I understand your point and many times it is frustrating, but by making kind comments to the people, they will feel more motivated to get ahead, I think it makes more education and less flagging wars or aggressive attitudes. I have always thought that helping and making a nice comment can achieve better things. at least I've seen good users here in steemit.

Agreed, the key is engaging with people and expanding the conversation. So often I see 3 word replies that add no value. Creating a conversation and showing the new people they can engage without worry is the key to the platform expanding!

Just to support your consistency:
http://steemreports.com/outgoing-votes-info/?account=bigdeej&days=31

It's way more better to upvote someone else then self upvoting. Someone is getting an upvote that makes him happy. With that it's way more probable that he will upvote someone else instead of himself. Increasing the activitiy on steemit, raising its value. Practically a win-win situation.

Yes you see 26% of my votes go to "other" which are people I find on here and deserve up votes. You will notice I am not in that list since I do not up vote myself!

I usually only vote about 10 times a day, so I’m choosy about using those votes.

Yes I only up vote what I believe is worth up voting. The rest of my upvotes are given out automatically via @shadowbot!

Ok, just joined shadowbot. I’m off to tree planting now, although it’s next week is the actual national tree planting day.

I totally understand what you mean. It is always good to upvote others. If our comments are good, we can easily get upvotes. I am in no favour of upvoting those who ask for upvotes as well since steemit FAQ does state that it is considered against the rule. I support your stand for sure!

I love win win situations. The value lies in us sharing our votes with eachother not hoarding them for ourselves. The white paper goes into this pretty well actually: Page 11-12 https://steem.io/steem-whitepaper.pdf

I never voted for my own comments or posts until recently when I found out that posts/comments with less than .02 earning don't pay out and are considered"dust" votes. Now I have occasionally been upvoting my own comments, but only when someone else did too, and the payout from their vote is .01, knowing my vote will at least push it to that.02 threshold. My reasoning was the other person voting didn't waste their vote on my comment that way, but, maybe I'll stop even doing that.

@dustsweeper can help with that one.
https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

They will upvote every comment under the dust threshold so you can keep the dust, without upvoting yourself. Also you don't have to check for it all the time.

I'm just explaining my mindset. If you want ME to up vote you, don't expect me to by begging "Please up vote me" or up voting yourself. Both are huge "turn offs" to me wanting to upvote you myself.

I used to vote on like 50 posts a day when I first got into Steemit, I still find it hard to not burn all my voting power each day if I hang around on here too long lol

Get above the FVL and be able to fractionally vote. Once you can vote with less than the full 2% VP per vote it makes life a lot easier to balance!

@shadowbot term join us if you want to really expand!

Looking into it all now. 1065 SP is a long way away, at the rate I'm going now it'd take me around 8 years lol I'm confused though,if I join before I reach that threshold, wouldnt my voting power get killed every day?

We ALL contribute our VP (look at my accounts they vote too). The system is designed to allocate your extra VP when you aren't using it, and while you are active a percentage of your VP each day to the pool. For that, you get back from others in the pool.

I agree with not being greedy. However self promotion is not bad. I make sure to upvote others posts first before a self upvote as long as I feel their post is worth my upvote. I'm still just not sure on where I stand on self voting... especially when you make a quality post that receives no attention. A lot of votes are worth 1 cent anyways. So what is the damage done if there is a healthy balance between the two? Is there even a healthy balance?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66