You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Fix Steemit For Communities & Viral Engagement

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

In spite of the following, I think my blog is still important for the community to read, because we are brainstorming and discussing the very important design characteristics of Steem.

The important flaws in my proposal were pointed by @alexgr, @sunjata, and @smooth:

  • Verified accounts can be sold.
  • Desired connections between communities dilutes the metric for motivating unique communities.
  • Users don't have a strong enough motivation to be verified.
  • Intent of following is not a public metric.

I have deeply analyzed in my head (and various writings sprinkled over Steem and Bitcointalk.org) numerous facets and ideas for reducing the top-down effect of (the natural) power-law distributed STEEM POWER w.r.t. to voting for rewards taken from a pool of debasement of the collective, and I can't find any solution that isn't a degenerate outcome that rewards unproductive or winner-take-all behavior. The fundamental problem (design choice) is the rewarding of a collectivized pool of funds via a popularity contest. It is a Tragedy of the Commons. As far as I can see, there is absolutely no way to spread this out to motivate the investment in creating diverse communities.

We can observe recently the whales (or at least apparently @smooth) are spreading their voting out more, so that now the top trending posts typically have much smaller rewards. The only big paying rewards now seem to come when those whales (and perhaps a large contingent of dolphins) who vote less frequently, decide they really value a post such as Dogecoin creator's post today.

But that isn't necessarily motivating community building nor finding (ranking) content relevant to each user's communities. It is a top-down managed effect, and not driving diverse user actions w.r.t. to building followings. The follow and tags features aid somewhat these needs, but it isn't very monetary (mathematically the typical user can't earn more than ~$5 a month on Steem even if rewards of uniformly distributed) as compared to the reach a user can attain on a larger network that doesn't pay anything, e.g. Facebook.

The value of a social network is in the network connections and network size, not in the content. Users (even content producers such as bloggers) go where they can reach their audience (followers/fans) and friends (fans). There won't be viral penetration into the masses (excepting those ones who have a cryptonerd begging them to join Steemit) given there is no compelling reason for them to be on Steemit, i.e. the rewards paid out on average aren't compelling and the network is small with no incentives to drive network connections and no viral engagement paradigm.

In essence what I see on Steemit, are many people joining due to enthusiasm about the idea and thinking that others will too. They view their votes in the site-wide popularity contest as important for influencing this grand "we are changing the world" enthusiasm. It seems to me to be backslapping, but the masses won't see it that way. They will simply ask, "what is the advantage for me".

Edit: the above doesn't necessarily preclude other features and use cases for the Steem blockchain and token that might come to fruition. The onboarding gimmick of voting from a shared pool of debasement could be perhaps just enough to jumpstart an ecosystem, even though it might not (probably won't) virally spread to millions itself. I am skeptical though.

Sort:  

The following blog post quotes are confirmation to me of my idea that the relevance of community is essential to viral adoption:

I had bugger all Facebook friends, and most of them were “lurkers” (they never posted anything or even “liked” anything, let alone made any comments. So meaningful interactions were few and far between.

About half of what few friends I had left on FB disagreed with much of what I really wanted to post about, so if I got into subjects like conspiracies such as false flag shootings or “climate change”, or health subjects like low carb diets or the vaccination con, its safe to say I rapidly had less FB friends.

That giant pool of Facebook users don’t post much worth seeing, so to me FB was like a giant sponge that soaked up every creative urge in my mind and replaced it with a giant sea of shallow distracting crap.

The biggest reason I quit FB was that I wanted to see new ideas and be inspired by intelligent discussion. That wasn’t exactly coming thick and fast on FB

The following appears to incorporate some amount of "we will change the world" backslapping because he doesn't even mention having tried Medium for comparison:

Steemit has already amazed me with the quality of the content. I’ve only been aware of Steemit for 48 hours, but I’m already inspired by what I’ve seen here, and I’ve learned more in two days surfing Steemit than I did in the past two years feeding my FB addiction.

What I think is inspiring him is he sees some of his interests are shared by the community on Steemit. The Steemit crowd is probably into the specific idealistic issues he mentioned. And there are some smart Steemians. But I believe this sub-community can also be found on Medium (but perhaps not as highly charged and massive)?

Any way, the point taken is that communities and size of network (connections and engagement) within the communities is essential, which is my point also.

but it isn't very monetary (mathematically the typical user can't earn more than ~$5 a month on Steem even if rewards of uniformly distributed)

Maybe a small point but perhaps not since it relates to near-term growth. The current content reward pool is about $64000 per day. The current daily active user base is about 6400. If all of those posted daily and split rewards equally they would earn $10/day. That might be enough (even if not equally distributed in practice) to continue motivating signups and usage for the foreseeable future.

It is always helpful to have clear data. Thanks. I agree for that small size userbase. Perhaps you read my post at BCT where I made the point if they want to establish a merchant ecosystem, I think need at least 1 or 2 (and probably 3 or 4) orders-of-magnitude more active users.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59996.99
ETH 2531.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48