Uninfluential Witness adds 384 words to Steem blockchain on recent events

in #steem5 years ago

As a witness I feel obliged to write something regarding recent events even though at #69 in the ranks, our voice and influence is small.

Actually, I did put some words together the other day. Perhaps naive, but honest nonetheless.

https://steemit.com/steem/@abh12345/thank-you-steemit-inc

This post is short and a little more serious, but first....


ya.png


I do not know the ins and outs of the discussions over the past weeks (months?) or exactly who was involved, but clearly this has upset the major stakeholder and they have chosen to act.

Did this ex-employee resent Steemit inc and thought a bit of trolling would stir the pot? Was he asked by a group of witnesses to stir the pot? Or was he asked to be the scapegoat to give Steemit Inc a reason to speed up the power down process? I'm not ruling any of those out, but would like to hope it is not the latter.

Will this power-down put Steemit Inc (or the Steem blockchain?) on a 'head-on collision course with SEC', I cannot answer, but hope that Steemit inc are aware of this potential issue.

The mined/pre-mined/ninja-mined stake, or whatever you want to call it was a given from day one. Anyone investing in the Steem blockchain should have done their research and be aware of this fact.

A hardfork that would potentially affect the security of Steemit's accounts could only go through with support from a sufficient number (17/21) of the top witnesses. I am not one of those, but would like to state without reservation that:

I would not support any hardfork that affects the balances, keys, or security of any of Steemit's accounts, or anyone else's, on the current chain.

I see this action as potentially having more of a negative effect than Steemit Inc moving funds from the 'steemit' wallet - faith lost in Steemit Inc, or faith lost in the Steem blockchain.


One can only speculate on where the STEEM will be moved to, but I suspect some will head to crypto funds and perhaps those managed by Ned's friends at https://www.gsr.io/

So, who's ready for a bit of swing trading?

Power-down or buy more STEEM and buckle-up - the decision is yours, and hopefully, always yours.

Asher
@steemcommunity Witness

Sort:  

As many of you know I am not a crypto person, I joined for the social aspects. my view point is thus from that angle. What I see is a group of witnesses trying to tell an individual/company what they can do with their stake. From all the accounts and post I have read steemit inc's stake just sat there, did not vote, did not flag, and only on very rare occasion delegate SP, (the amount decreasing with every bitch fest witnesses threw/user threw), D-live, sweetjss and a few others.

Most people do not like being told what they can or can not do. Have any of the witness prior to this bitched, moaned or groaned or threatened other people that have chosen to power down or to sit their stake on an exchange? Not likely. So what makes what they are doing right in this case, yes I have read some of the dire warning/fcc it might cause...blah blah blah ad-infinitum. It is still a group of people ganging up on one account and one person.

There have been many post made about what would happen to steem blockchain if steemit just disappeared, busy, partiko, and other front ends would still be access points to the blockchain. Either that is true or it is not, but the witnesses can not keep pointing that out and then threatening to fork off.

So I will still be here when/if it forks.

Thanks for doing this, @abh12345. It's good to know where people are on this issue. There needs to be more of it, not less. More facts, less accusations, less demands, less self-importance and pontification.

Even with all the 'information' that has come to light, it just feels like there's got to be more to it. On all sides. Someone's livelihood being threatened more than what's been divulged, more serious plans laid out somewhere.

Ned said he has logs of the discussions. Have those been published anywhere? It would be nice to know who was involved, so that not all the witnesses get lumped in with the collaborative few.

Sixty people is a significant amount, especially if they're predominantly movers and shakers, but it just seems the like rest of us should be able to get in between the parties with our hands out and say, "Hold on. Let's do some talking, not demands and counter demands.

This is where I have issues with moral equivalency. It's okay in all these situations, but not in this one. I don't know. I feel like I might be too old for this. :)

Edit: I meant to add this the first time:

I know your witness ranking doesn't give you the ability to be a part of the code consensus, but I have to say, you two are not inconsequential. Not to me, and I dare say, not to many others. You matter, what you're doing on the chain matters, and that's all there is to it. :)

No problem, I think I know where I am, but not knowing the ins and outs one can never be sure :)

I don't think the logs have been published, at least not for general viewing.

It would be nice to know who was involved, so that not all the witnesses get lumped in with the collaborative few

Yes it would. Not too many would be (directly) privy to the 'secret' witness chat, where I believe discussions were held.

Thanks for the last paragraph, it means a lot to me. We will of course continue trying to do what we can to help distribute stake, and keep the chain well-oiled with engagement. It's about time to start on the weekly post :)

Well, that was enlightening, @abh12345, but I guess I'm still left wondering what to believe. One side is concerned with a power grab, while entertaining a counter power grab, a power grab that didn't seem to exist (at least not in any outward form) before the discussion of the counter power grab started.

Actually, there's more missing here. Because this particular discussion takes place AFTER, presumably, the ex-contractor dropping something called HF 21: Freedom (no doubt when they did it, the could be overheard muttering: "I'll just leave this here"), which supposedly caused Steemit Inc. to begin a power down because the discussion about it had started earlier? The 13th was the previous Sunday. The power down began on Saturday, the 12th.

Anyway. It at least gives us some of the main players, though I did not count 60-plus in what Ned left (I'm sure he also said, "I'll just leave this here"—or maybe he just dropped the mic afterward).

Also, I take it there's nothing that prohibits witnesses from getting together to discuss, well, whatever, but particularly, things pertinent to the blockchain? Isn't that kind of, well, anti-decentralization? I mean, isn't there another way to do this? Like, send out an email with a list of this or that and then let everyone decide on their own, without discussing it, other than for points of clarification, to understand specifically what's being proposed?

It just seems like we're going from one centralized authority to another if the witnesses are basically voting in lockstep fashion after talking about it. Shaking my head. Much ado about nothing keeps popping into my head, but then it's followed by nuclear strikes and napalm. :)

Yes, I'm still shaking my head and feeling rather confused.

My stance is generally that of @exyle's, I resteemed his video on the matter earlier. However, HF9 included some key changes, similar to the proposal in HF21. So, it's happened before, meaning it could happen again?

Again, what to do with the 'main players'. I don't hold much in the way of witness votes for them, but should the rest be cleared? I think there are still more questions than answers for me - it's an interesting time to be a Steemian for sure.

Wow... That's creepy.

I don't know a hell of a lot about this, although I just finished my own "uninfluential user" screed on this topic.

There are way more ways acting impulsively can screw up everything for everyone. The Steem version of "Bitcoin Gold?" Please...

Reading between the lines, there always seems to have been a fair amount of tension between those who feel that this project is too centralized and are accordingly restless... and the rest of the world.

I think it's usually a pretty good idea to NOT try to kill the pilot who's trying to fly the plan somewhere.

But as many have said, Steemit, Inc. is a private company. As such, they are under zero obligation to tell anyone what they are doing with their funds. And whereas there is a White Paper, and there is a Roadmap, it still doesn't mean squat.

If some loon still thinks forking is the answer, they will be very disappointed. UNLESS, of course, their hidden motivation in forking is actually to line their own pockets through a form of strategic "double dipping." But they'll still be disappointed. This is one place where the "First Mover Advantage" will be solidaly in Steemit's favor, not in the splinter group's.

And a good read it was too :)

I have the same opinions as you, but as you state, we don't have much say in what happens next and can only hope that the right course is taken - a pilot will help.

We have already seen a significant change in witness ranks after Hard Fork 20 issues and I think these latest events could have the same potential as users start to consider their votes more seriously to align with those interested in governing the protocol in a way that is to everyone’s best interest.

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is true, and it is perhaps why witnesses further up the pile are now speaking out, potentially with a different tune than previously...

You know. I think the SEC thing is a thing bit of, dare I say, scaremongering... From everything I have read, the SEC's focus is primarily on shady ICOs that are out and out scams or securities in all but name and second to that exchanges that violate amurcan regs. Steem never had an ico. :0)

I'm hoping done of that steem heads my way. I have no idea how on earth that could happen but you gotta love in hope, heh heh.

Yeah, I did think for a few mins on how to term that. Decided on 'potential issue', as it could well turn out to be a load of FUD.

Sorry buddy, I wouldn't hold your breath for a wallet transfer, although you can always ask?

FUD indeed.

Lol, never thought to ask!!!!

Going to hang in come hell or high water. I think it is worth the gamble.

I'm powering a week or two's down, I want pizza :)

But for the most part, same!

Pizza delivery complete. :-)

Man!

You didn't have to do that!

Much appreciated though, I'll be sure to get myself one and hopefully remember to take a photo. I love the basic 4 cheese, and not had one for months. I suspect that is the reason for the trim start to 2019.

Cheers!!

Nobody has to do anything, it was free choice, enjoy my friend, :-)

Thank you, very kind indeed!

It all comes back in return, the universe is weird like that my friend.

I've tried to keep that in mind for the longest time - it's still here, although at times hard to see... here. Not today though, I got a pizza :D

I love it when you guys do that as it makes you easier to catch lol.

I like your thinking!

Once I find a job,... :)

You will get one soon enough.Positive thoughts.

Power-down or buy more STEEM and buckle-up - the decision is yours, and hopefully, always yours.

Yep.

Asher I didn't know you were a witness 🙈
I shall cast my mini vote now

Thanks Lucy :)

I was told the same last night. This is the issue it seems with running an account that is shared and different from your main account.

@paulag is the other half of @steemcommunity :)

Lol 😂 you need to make the bit about being a witness bold and flashy with sparkles so people like me don't miss it 💫💥

With those emoticons we'll be top 20 in no time huh? :D

February will be very interesting, indeed.. :)

Are you ready for a little gambling trading?

As the smallest witness of this blockchain, I stand alone against all gambling revuse to participate in any form of insider trading just don't have the cash flow to afford that fun

Same :)

But I am freeing up some SP as I need food - hopefully I can catch a wave....

Whatever it takes, if it benefits the community in the long term, I'm in. And that better future seems like not compatible with existence of Steem Inc so far.

I dunno man, I think that one is the riskiest play.

Whilst they have not met expectations/deliverables at times, there have been some positives (although some disagree) with regards to app delegations the like. That route seems like something that would reduce the trust - bad actors haven't been forked, and I wouldn't put Steemit Inc in that category.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75