Thank You Steemit Inc

in #steem6 years ago

I'm super grateful to you, and here (amongst other things) are a few reasons why................


yo.jpg
I like to Discord and play, not with my teeth though :p


Today I've been cleaning at my mum's partners place. 20 Euros to give the bathroom a good scrub seemed like a good deal to me. I need the fiat for food, and the bathroom (as I found out) certainly needed a good seeing to. Getting stuck into those hard to reach places (like behind the toilet) must get trickier with age, and so yeah, happy to oblige so I could then make my way to the supermarket and pick up some groceries. +1 to the number of weeks I don't need to reduce my influence here, bonus!

There was a bit of a scare mid-way through proceedings, I went through to the kitchen to boil another kettle of hot water and found the washing machine door open, mid-cycle - they got a 'free' mop of the kitchen as part of the deal!

Anyway, back to the program....


Super glad to have finished that work and got home via the supermarket to find this post in my feed:

https://steemit.com/steem/@aggroed/steemit-town-hall-with-ned-hosted-by-aggroed-and-llfarms-and-a-personal-perspective-on-the-challenges-we-face

I had planned to write a little about recent events, but this recording (With ned, aggroed, llfarms, and fyrstikken) really helps fill in some of the gaps and I urge you to give it 51 minutes of your time.

So the proposed fork (by a disgruntled ex-employee?) is here: https://github.com/steemdev/steem/pull/1

And this could be the reason (or the reactions to, or both) for call-back on some app delegations and the recent action in Steemit inc's key account's wallet:





Time away from the PC today gave me some time to think about this, and basically, can you blame them?

For almost 3 years now, the largest stake has:

  • Not used this stake (bar delegations to app which I'll mention further shortly) to vote content, basically leaving a huge chunk of the inflation pool for everyone else

  • Delegated stake (promise more on this below) to help kick-start apps and projects which could help drive STEEM forward (or upwards)

  • Helped fund events like Steemfest to allow members of the community to meet and share thoughts/ideas/beer on all things Steem

  • And for the above, have taken a bunch of grief!

OK, some of the above was not in the original plan, but it has been in the road-map since 2017.

2017 Roadmap (PDF) and the Related post, published on 1/17/2017.

If investors saw an issue with the new road-map, they have had plenty of opportunity to move on. For most of us though, this change of course has been part of the norm and without it in place, I struggle to see how Steem could have been better off.

The main beef seems to be the delegation of stake to various apps, which have then used this stake to support contributors/hardware/moderators/etc, but as per the title of the section in the 2017 road-map, this was done to to help decentralize stake.

Before the delegation fork, it was a case of investing or getting to know members of the community with stake, and hoping your content pleased them (more than upvoting themselves or the friends they had made early on). Nowadays there is the opportunity to produce content for an application, which in some cases is moderated via a standard questionnaire and a vote given based on assessed metrics. I'm not saying this process is bullet-proof, but I do believe there is increased decentralization of stake this way.

And from what I gather, Steemit inc are not contributing content to these applications, merely taking a return (via beneficiaries, etc), and in some cases, not even that.

So basically, they are diluting themselves the most, trying to fuel user growth and retention. And we should fork them out? Err, no! NO! Personally, I feel this speaks of ungratefulness and if I was a top 20 witness, I would not consider this for a second.

The change in course stated back in 2017 has not pleased everyone (mainly those who invested prior), but I believe it was made for the betterment of the community. And I don't care how Steemit inc. 'earned' its majority share, they have tried to share, and we should respect that.


Thank you to people who were a part of last nights forum, and cheers Steemit Inc for drastically reducing the number of toilets I've needed to scrub this past year or so.

Cheers!

Asher

Sort:  

Cleaning For Fiat. A niche!!

I was horrified when I saw the post yesterday stating they were getting out of dodge but now I have seen the other stuff about the proposed fork etc I am happier. In fact I dont blame them a jot. If someone proposed a fork that would remove my SP holdings from me then damn right I would be like GTF and get them away from that kind of action

Exactly! A ridiculous proposal really. It would break the trust towards the coin/investors imo and we'd be fecked!

Totally. No-one would ever invest or attempt to earn steem ever again knowing that someone could just propose your stake was whipped away from you!!

To be honest I'm baffled so many want a company to tell us what it is doing with the funds.

Like compare it to the U.S and Russia competition to get on the Moon, imagine if they had their people discuss the tech on an open forum.

While I understand that instead we have to just trust them that they will deliver, people have to understand how far in its infancy this tech still is. If you'd have a shot to create something that can attract billions instead of millions, you don't wanna risk giving it away until it's too late.

Anyway, I do understand it's high risk - high reward, but I like the odds of good blockchains surviving and staying around for a long time even though they may not be the best at something, as long as there is a community using it they will have value.

Right. I thought the general idea was that we could do as we pleased with our stake :)

If you'd have a shot to create something that can attract billions instead of millions, you don't wanna risk giving it away until it's too late.

Yep. Company 2: Yeah they were discussing this on open forum, sounds good, let's steal it? :D

as long as there is a community using it they will have value.

Big-up the 25 cent crew, still here, still powering up :)

What I don't get is the choice of who to remove delegations from... is it simply based on the smallest number of users supported.

I feel a bit sorry for the @dsound guy especially!

It's the pain of bending down and reaching that's made me realise I can't realistically retrain as an electrian (I fancy it)... I'm sure it would involve lots of akward manouvering.

Yeah, harsh on him for sure, but delegations come and go. He did say he was prepared, let's hope that's the case.

Bad back, knees? already?!

Oh no I don't have a bad back or knees... I'm just thinking several hours a day would be tough.

Actually I do have a varicose vein in my calf that's inflaming all the surrounding veins which makes kneeling difficult.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cleaning for money offers no problems (and can even be enjoyable).
Cleaning your own place for no money - the most boring job in the world.
How does that work, then?

I heard of the 'ned action' before the proposed idea, so got the information the wrong way around, so I built the wrong picture in my head...Durrr.

I would have done what he did, most probably...

The lack of transparency and engagement previously to this though, has fueled the negative energy in his direction..

(how many people is 70% of the workforce?)

As a private company it is no ones right to know their business.
As a private company trying to grow , by attracting investors - it in incumbent on them to be as transparent as possible, so investors know what they're getting into..

Exactly! I really need to tidy up here!

I think 20 odd was 70% of the workforce - don't quote me on it though.

I have the same thoughts as you and would add that a move in the direction to cut them out of their or anyone’s stake is dangerous and sets a precedent to the same to anyone else that the community doesn’t like for whatever reason. That is not the essence of a blockchain as it should be immutable and while forks are a part of the technology, it should be properly govern to ensure it acts in the benefit of the ecosystem and its stakeholders which does include premined stakes no matter thoughts on what they are doing with it. If you do not agree with it, it should be part of the consideration to step in yourself and not make another leave. While I probably didn’t know these facts when joining a year ago, I have learned it in the process of being here and am fine with working around that for the benefit of those who remain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My understanding was that the main beef was the sale of Steem by Steemit (to pay expenses) that was keeping the price low... I thought that's why that code was written... but I guess the delegations thing could have definitely been a part of it. I've heard people say that nothing should have been delegation to dApps, but I disagree, I see it kind of like a government grant that helps companies establish themselves in a new industry. Like grants or tariffs though, the recipients need to show that they are profitable without it as soon as possible. I do get that a lot of the delegations from misterdelegation seem to happen and unhappy without a lot of communication or clear criteria, which isn't cool.

Love the perspective of this post!

Thanks man :)

Like grants or tariffs though, the recipients need to show that they are profitable without it as soon as possible

Yeah for sure, and hopefully in future not dependent on the pool so much.

I do get that a lot of the delegations from misterdelegation seem to happen and unhappy without a lot of communication or clear criteria, which isn't cool

I delegate to a fair few people and projects and am pretty glad that I don't need to enter a contract or notify anyone when I issue/revoke!

Oh for sure... but if you were delegating crazy huge amounts that the project had become dependent on... I reckon you'd be nice enough to be all 'hey, you guys are great, but I need this for something else' or 'hey, you're not going in the direction I thought you would, so I'm out'..

I reckon I know you well enough to guess that if you delegated 10M SP to something, you'd leave a comment... it'd help your engagement score after all...

haha :)

Yeah fair enough - It wouldn't take long and would be nice to see for clarity.

we are going back to the main problem, communication. is it all that hard to write a comment or a post of what is going on? all this craziness with forks and stuff came just because of lack of communication. when someone skipes an announced live stream and there is no word from him in a months time, in this day and age it is legitimate to assume he may be dead. or that he really really does not care

Posted using Partiko Android

'to give it 51 minutes of your time'

That starts to make a lot more sense.

btw, dont make it too much of a habit, all this bathroom scrubbing; you might get hooked on it.

When you open the video and it's 51 mins long? :D

I like chores, when it's not my own chore and i'm getting paid. You got some work?

Hahaha.

As a matter of fact I might get you work if you are in big need.

Helped fund events like Steemfest to allow members of the community to meet and share thoughts/ideas/beer on all things Steem

They sent me to Steemfest, and I will forever be patient and slow to judge because of that. I know there is a lot going on that isn't being shared, and we all want transparency, but Steemit, Inc. is a private company. They've created something awesome. All I want is the assurance that they are committed to continuing working with others to make this blockchain even better. Glad Ned chose to wander into Discord last night, it was great to see that.

I would like to see the dsound delegation returned, but that isn't up to me. I'm here for the ride, trying to see things from an unbiased perspective. So many things in orbit right now. People tend to react with anger, but I really think we need to keep an eye on the long-term and keep working together as much as possible.

Right. They have done a lot, some of it hasn't worked as I guess they thought, but this is new stuff - gotta try!

The dsound loss was probably the one that raised the most eyebrows, I too wish that would return. Actually just recently found a few artists I like who are contributing there, I hope they continue.

Thanks for mentioning that Steemit Inc covered your trip - people need to be reminded of the good stuff.

Finally, some gratitude around here. 😜

And why not :D

Hi @abh12345!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.810 which ranks you at #104 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 274 contributions, your post is ranked at #1. Congratulations!

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54