You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Uninfluential Witness adds 384 words to Steem blockchain on recent events

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

Thanks for doing this, @abh12345. It's good to know where people are on this issue. There needs to be more of it, not less. More facts, less accusations, less demands, less self-importance and pontification.

Even with all the 'information' that has come to light, it just feels like there's got to be more to it. On all sides. Someone's livelihood being threatened more than what's been divulged, more serious plans laid out somewhere.

Ned said he has logs of the discussions. Have those been published anywhere? It would be nice to know who was involved, so that not all the witnesses get lumped in with the collaborative few.

Sixty people is a significant amount, especially if they're predominantly movers and shakers, but it just seems the like rest of us should be able to get in between the parties with our hands out and say, "Hold on. Let's do some talking, not demands and counter demands.

This is where I have issues with moral equivalency. It's okay in all these situations, but not in this one. I don't know. I feel like I might be too old for this. :)

Edit: I meant to add this the first time:

I know your witness ranking doesn't give you the ability to be a part of the code consensus, but I have to say, you two are not inconsequential. Not to me, and I dare say, not to many others. You matter, what you're doing on the chain matters, and that's all there is to it. :)

Sort:  

No problem, I think I know where I am, but not knowing the ins and outs one can never be sure :)

I don't think the logs have been published, at least not for general viewing.

It would be nice to know who was involved, so that not all the witnesses get lumped in with the collaborative few

Yes it would. Not too many would be (directly) privy to the 'secret' witness chat, where I believe discussions were held.

Thanks for the last paragraph, it means a lot to me. We will of course continue trying to do what we can to help distribute stake, and keep the chain well-oiled with engagement. It's about time to start on the weekly post :)

Well, that was enlightening, @abh12345, but I guess I'm still left wondering what to believe. One side is concerned with a power grab, while entertaining a counter power grab, a power grab that didn't seem to exist (at least not in any outward form) before the discussion of the counter power grab started.

Actually, there's more missing here. Because this particular discussion takes place AFTER, presumably, the ex-contractor dropping something called HF 21: Freedom (no doubt when they did it, the could be overheard muttering: "I'll just leave this here"), which supposedly caused Steemit Inc. to begin a power down because the discussion about it had started earlier? The 13th was the previous Sunday. The power down began on Saturday, the 12th.

Anyway. It at least gives us some of the main players, though I did not count 60-plus in what Ned left (I'm sure he also said, "I'll just leave this here"—or maybe he just dropped the mic afterward).

Also, I take it there's nothing that prohibits witnesses from getting together to discuss, well, whatever, but particularly, things pertinent to the blockchain? Isn't that kind of, well, anti-decentralization? I mean, isn't there another way to do this? Like, send out an email with a list of this or that and then let everyone decide on their own, without discussing it, other than for points of clarification, to understand specifically what's being proposed?

It just seems like we're going from one centralized authority to another if the witnesses are basically voting in lockstep fashion after talking about it. Shaking my head. Much ado about nothing keeps popping into my head, but then it's followed by nuclear strikes and napalm. :)

Yes, I'm still shaking my head and feeling rather confused.

My stance is generally that of @exyle's, I resteemed his video on the matter earlier. However, HF9 included some key changes, similar to the proposal in HF21. So, it's happened before, meaning it could happen again?

Again, what to do with the 'main players'. I don't hold much in the way of witness votes for them, but should the rest be cleared? I think there are still more questions than answers for me - it's an interesting time to be a Steemian for sure.

Wow... That's creepy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63423.51
ETH 3252.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91