How To Be A Steemweaver - Tips For Getting Your Posts Noticed And Increasing Community Interaction On Steemit

in #steem-help7 years ago (edited)

A Steemweaver is a person who weaves the social fabric of the Steemit community together to increase engagement between community members.

This can be done in a number of ways that add many benefits to the Steemit ecosystem. This post will explain the benefits of Steemweaving.

how to be a steemweaver.png

Steemit is a revolutionary website that rewards its users for posting quality content, voting and commenting on good content while helping to grow the community.

Many new users are focused on how to get followers and earn rewards, but there are a number of other techniques that will help your content get noticed and are often overlooked.

Benefits Of Steemweaving

One of the best ways to engage users on Steemit is to link to posts by other authors on the body of your post. The body of your post is the main part of your story where you present your ideas in more detail.

Linking to other authors in the body of your post offers many benefits to your content.

Elaborates On Your Point

You don't want to link to other authors just for the sake of linking to someone, but when a post by another Steemit author expands on the point you are making in your post it makes sense to link to their post to give your readers a broader perspective.

Perhaps another author has a completely different view about the topic then you do. By giving the readers another viewpoint you expand their thinking in a way that will attract more comments on your blog.

There's always more than one point of view on just about anything and the more opposing viewpoints we have about a subject the more we can use our critical thinking to come up with our own point of view.

Internal Linking

An internal link is a type of hyperlink on a web page to another page or resource on the same website or domain.

By linking to another author on Steemit from your blog post you help both yourself and the author you are linking to by helping search engines like Google find the content easier when someone searches for those topics. This will bring more traffic to your blog over time and help establish you as an authority in your niche.

To maximize the benefits of internal linking it is better to use a keyword phrase as the actual link. "What does that mean?

Very simple. Instead of creating a link like this:

For more information on booking hotels for Steemfest click here

it is better to use the keywords that someone searching for that information on Google would use. They would not type "here" into Google if they were looking for hotel booking information for Steemfest 2.

They may search for something like booking hotels for Steemfest 2

So if you made the link the most likely search term someone would use, it would be better and your content would have a better chance of ranking for that term.

Like this:
Here you can find more information on booking hotels for Steemfest 2

seo internal linking.png

Image credit

This will get indexed by Google for that search term and will index your post for that term as well. This helps you and the author you linked to which brings me to my next point.

People Will Notice You Linked To Their Content

When you link to someone else's content on Steemit there is a little bot that will leave a comment on their post to let them know some linked to their content. Most likely they will click through to see who did that and if you did it in a value adding way they will take notice.

No let me ask you a question. If you were a whale or someone of influence on Steemit who would you like better?

  1. Some minnow that left an unsolicited comment or message on Steem Chat begging you to upvote their post.
  2. or someone who wrote a great post and embellished it with a well placed link to your own excellent post about the same topic

By expanding on a conversation started by influential Steemit blogger and adding your own perspective to the conversation and then linking to the post that inspired you to write your own, you're more likely to gain the attention and respect of that author and begin a dialog with them.

You can and should do the same thing on the comments of their blog but if you have more to say about the topic why not write your own posts and include a link to the post that inspired you to write one of your own.

You can easily add links to your Steemit blog to your own posts or other blogs and authours and it will help your post get indexed for the search terms you wrote as the text for the link, but it will also get you noticed by others and they may eventually follow, upvote, resteem, and link to your posts.

get noticed.jpg

Image credit

I have used this technique with great results. Instead of writing a post about good Steemit tips, for example, and linking it in the comments of someone else's relevant post, I'll just edit my posts and add a link to their post in the body of my post.

A bot will tell them I did this and their curiosity will usually get the best of them. They will click through to my post and usually upvote it or leave a comment thanking me for mentioning their post. Either way I got their attention without adding linking to their post with a comment that links to my post. It doesn't come off as spammy and makes a good first impression.

Sometimes when I have done this they start to follow me and some have even written posts that include links to my posts.

Other Ways To Be A Steemweaver

Besides 8linking to other authors' content on Steemit* you can also practice Steemweaving by giving value and interacting with the Steemit community.

Some people are developers and have created useful apps for Steemit that help users get the most out of their experience blogging here.

Get to know other authors by joining Steemit chat or some of the many groups on Discord and there are lots of Steemit Facebook Groups you can join to interact with other Steemians.

If you learn something about Steemit that would help other users then share it in your post so others can benefit from what you learned.

I hope this post has helped you understand that the more we interact with others in the Steemit community by linking to other authors content the better this community will become. That is what Steemweaving is all about!

If you found this post helpful and want to learn more, consider following me for more posts about Steemit tips, music, and traveling.

Related Posts

Getting Noticed On Crowded Steemit --- by @ikigai

Https://Www.Steemithelp.Net/Getting Noticed/

luzcypher-emoji-verified-2.png

Learn more about Basic Universal Income here

Sort:  

Thanks for the inspiration @luzcypher.

I was already planning to, but after reading this I went ahead and made a post about adding anchor text & image links to Steemit posts.

Also, thanks for not telling us we all need to wear baby blue eye shadow like your picture shows.

Although Gary Wright certainly was dreamy.

thanks for not telling us we all need to wear baby blue eye shadow like your picture shows.

I was saving that for another post.

This would probably be too much to just jump right into?

That's David Bowie... but he hazzz electric red eye-shadow.... lol

Ziggy Stardust!
Or the Goblin King, if you prefer that, as I do... :-)

Bookmarking this post right now! The last weeks I get a bit frustrated, but these tips sound really good to build interaction. Thank you!

It works very well and people always react well to being mentioned in someone's post.

this is good @luzcypher , but I also saw many posts with low quality and bad contents , I mean maybe only an image of a person , but their reward was high , even I saw someone record a child singing for openmic and it wasn't actually singing but the reward was high , and this make us disapointed , I am a music producer I don't wanna talk with pride but this is really not fair , I only understand that money give the value to the posts , and content is not the matter , my brother posted many articles and only one of them had a little reward , I also spend much times on my works , you can check my blog they didn't view and not much upvote on my pro works , sorry If I say this , but I think a picture of balls can won more rewards than a song or anything even articles !
also I have to remind , that I was admin of a 5000 members facebook channel and I am not a newbie and I know how all these systems working , I believe there won't be much view without advertise and in Steemit most of whales or medium whales saying : oh no why they comment around why they want followers ? they have to send us their money for example 3 dollar for a whale 3 dollar upvote , what the hell is that ? are they kidding me ? or they think we are that much stupid ? , Well I am glad to play and sing more songs in your tag openmic and I don't give up , even when I see nobody listened to them , but I just told you what I know and what I believe.
and tell me if we don't have to post more than one song , then I will just post one song for openmic.
sorry for this long comment , but I also have to tell you that I hate of this system , people are not equal in here , why minnows ? why we call people small , If there was a millionaire in our neighborhood , I wouldn't call him a king , you really have to watch "In Time" Movie to understand me :


sincerely
Davood Faramarzi

No one is equal on Steemit and most of the people making consistent rewards either invested time or money to get Steem Power and build a following. It took a lot of time and effort to get there.

Comparing your results to others results is a mistake that will only discourage you.

Complaining about your results will get you nowhere. Persistence and building your following one person at a time works. Once you have a following of your own and some SP a silly post will occasionally earn you a good reward.

When you see a low quality post earn more than a post you put your heart and soul into, it's easy to forget all the work that person did to build their following long before you even knew Steemit existed. That's why you shouldn't compare your results to others. Just keep Steeming on my friend. You'll get there.

This was a good answer , well I got it , sure I am continue to see a good future in steemit , wish you luck @luzcypher , thanks.

Thank you @luzcypher, you are definitely my 'go to guy' when introducing/trying to get new friends to join up on steemit. I'll be putting this in our group for new members, along side your other 'helping newbies' posts.

Thanks. Just sharing things I've learned along the way.

HolySmoke! ... Time to Board the SteamWeaver Train !!! RESTEEMED ... Following !!

Wow, great job on that post. A lot of good content that will help the Steemit community. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for reading it.

Resteemed, upvoted, followed.

Definately resteeming this one...have to go now but glad I caught it on the way out. Will absorb this one at my leisure when I can more focus.

~peace out...in~

An excellent guide for us beginners. Thanks for sharing @luzcypher

Hope you found it helpful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13