A Quick Look At Steem Engine

in #steem-engine5 years ago (edited)

Screenshot from 2019-03-23 09-27-52.png
(source: steem-engine.com)

This will be just a short post about an interesting project. My goal is to share my (limited) experience with it and some useful links that will provide you with more details about it.

Steem Engine is a project started by @aggroed, @yabapmatt and @harpagon. For more details I recommend that you read these posts by @aggroed:

and this post by @inertia and the comments by the guys behind the project:

That reading list will cover much more than I could ever do here and with that out of the way, let's start with my personal impression of the project.


It works


While it's rather obvious that it is still an MVP, the exchange works. Buying and selling tokens works. And by the number of tokens created (over 100), it's safe to say that the token creation works all too well.

In order to create your own token you have to pay 100 ENG (Steem Engine Native Tokens)

Screenshot from 2019-03-23 10-06-38.png
(source: steem-engine.com)

Before you go wild and start creating your tokens, do read the vision post.


I Like It


I kinda like steem and I'd like it to succeed and the projects such as these are what the blockchain needs. The more people we get that are doing their own thing the better we all are and the steem engine is a great tool that will enable many projects to issue their own tokens and do their magic.

One thing I don't like is that there's no easy way to know which token is a joke token and which one has a project behind it. It would be nice if the UI would show some indication of that so that you can see it at first glance.


My Wallet


Screenshot from 2019-03-23 09-42-08.png

When you deposit STEEM you'll get in your wallet the STEEMP token. With that token you can buy the rest of them. I bought some ENG token (the steem engine native token) and some more TPU tokens. When I did a test buy of TPU I also got 1 MEEP token and since that's been the first time I've heard of it I went to investigate what it is about but it's hard to tell since it only says MEEP.

I invite you to test it out and buy some tokens yourself. Beside the ENG token, the only one I know is TPU (@tipu token) that gives you a percent of the @tipu's profits. So, if you know some interesting tokens that you'd recommend to me feel free to write about it in the comments.

PS - If you're interested in developing for steemengine, @holger80 is the guy to follow.

EDIT: a huge update Steem Engine Breakthrough! Completed my first LTC trade on Steem-Engine.com!!!

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 99.26% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

It's an interesting project but i think there'll be a lot of test coins / joke coins that won't be very meaningful to have on there. Wonder how they plan to filter those out.

Yeah, that's my concern as well.

For example, when drugwars announced that they'll be issuing their own token FUTURE this happened:

Screenshot from 2019-03-23 10-47-58.png

@beggars beat them to it :-)

Hahaha the execution of the Drug Wars team can be so comical at times. Still unclear if heist rewards are being paid out in Steem or Future today.

You need more !shit in your wallet, bro! I’ll get you started...

Thanks man, SHIT is the new gold!


Congratulations @beat-the-bookies!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Here are the winners

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Look ma I'm a minnow now 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04