My Daughter And I ~ A Portrait

in #steem-cartoon7 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Did you know that I accidentally spilled a huge blob of printer ink halfway through sketching this portrait? Yes, I did. You can't tell where it was because I quickly used my brush and some tissue papers to clean it up. It was a mess but I am very glad that I used a heavy duty watercolor paper. If it was a generic drawing paper it would be totally ruined and I had to start all over again!

So whose portrait is this?

That's me and my firstborn, a daughter. This picture was taken 7 years ago to when she was about a couple of months old. I was a new mother who had little idea what parenthood would be like. Like most mothers, she was my first for many things, you named it - breastfeeding, poo cleaning, diaper changing, feeding, disciplining, so on and so forth.

I made many many mistakes with her that I care to admit. Some of which I am too ashamed to admit.

She was my training ground in parenting, still is. I guess it's true for every parent.

When she was 3 months old in my belly, we did several routine scans at the doctor's office and they detected that she had Down Syndrome. The doctor told us that we can choose to abort the pregnancy and save us the hassle of raising a special needs child.

We were shocked and devastated. I was shocked not because I would have a DS baby BUT I was horrified that the doctor could suggest such a thing! How dare he gave me that suggestion to murder my own baby?! Of course, our answer was a loud resounding NO.

I knew the doctor meant well but don't special needs children have the right to live? I don't condemn those who decided to terminate their pregnancies and I don't intend to start a debate on this post. But personally for me, I would not get rid of my child simply because she is different.

Despite what the doctor said, my daughter is perfectly fine. She is 8 this year and in Primary 2. She is a very talented girl who loves to draw and paint.

I sketched this portrait because she requested it. She came to me one day and said she wanted to put it up on her wall. Of course, I said yes. How could I refuse her?


Here is the reference image of this portrait.

169086_485707454069_1559524_n.jpg

And here are the progress photos...

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

...and the completed portrait!

10.jpg

...and here is her most recent photo, my 8 years old princess!

26828644_10155892559179070_1404201831_o.jpg


Thank you for visiting! What do think of this portrait? Please leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


Dealing With My External and Internal Critics

The Way We Cope - The Lost Boys Painting #3

Trees And A City On Her Head - Steem Cartoon Wo-Owl Challenge #1

Night Owl And Bouncing Marbles

I Am Not Good Enough - The Lost Boys Painting Series


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!



FINALUSE.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

@coloringiship Doctors are supposed to save lives. He would have taken the life of your sweet girl who turned out to 100% healthy and you would never know. Taking a life is a lifetime burden to bear by the conscience. Blessings for your little girl.

Thank you @francesaw . It seems to be a common practice and it's sad that people have no qualm to terminate a life because that life is a burden to the parents.

Glad that you made that brave decision! And praise the Lord she's growing fine now! I always feel parents who are willing to admit their mistakes in parenting is the beginning of healing & restoration towards a wholesome relationship with your children. Thanks for sharing ur story!

p/s: Oh and no worries, I can't see where's the spilled ink. The picture looks perfect! :)

Thank you dear @michelleloh168 ...yes thank God she is okay but I would love her all the same even if she has special needs. You have no idea the number of apologies I have to make to my children for screaming at them, punishing them unjustly, and for not setting good examples for them.

The blob was on the baby's lips and chin XD

aww. she's so beautiful. so proud to hear that you choose to keep the baby and that she's healthy and happy now. I myself, have​ just gotten myself a second child. cradling her in my arms as I'm typing with one hand. I would like to believe while they're no perfect parents, we're the best candidates for our own children. all the best with your princess! :)

p.s. can I guess where the blob of ink was spilled​ on? ;)

Thank you @calebleejl ....wahh papa is steeming while on baby watch duty LOL . The blob was on the baby's lips and chin, the whole area. I was cleaning it like mad hahaha

I have another friend whose baby was also predicted to have Down Syndrome in her pregnancy too but he wasn't born with anything different than normal. So I salute your courage and faith too, faith in God, faith in your child! So good to see your daughter's photo too, and she is who she is today because of your brave decision years ago :) What an inspiring story about a mother's instinct @coloringiship!

Thank you @happycrazycon ...even if she has special needs I would have kept her. Aborting was never an option. I was horrified it was even suggested :(

Yeah man. The thought of our own flesh dying is horrifying enough, what more if we are the one deciding it to be done?! 😨

Wow ,great photo mother and daughter ..

nice art.....
thanks for sharing

Children's their only refuge and their mother
....
Nice looking ..
Thanks for sharing ..

Wow, it's great!
The portrait looks very beautiful. :)

You're very talented. This will no doubt become a family treasure.

Thank you @roused . I am sure she will keep it forever LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44