Nate Diaz in serious talks with UFC for August return

in #sports6 years ago

Finally, after a two year hiatus, it look's like Nate Diaz is set to make his UFC return. ESPN just reported that multiple sources have confirmed Diaz wants to come back and fight in August at UFC 227.

Apparently he has an interest in an opponent too, rumours are that it is Eddie Alvarez as the two have had beef before after Alvarez beat Nate's teammate and friend Gilbert Milendez in Mexico.

Nate's long time friend and training partner Jake Shields was on the MMA hour this week and said "He's not just looking for Conor", which is very interesting indeed.

I personally think Diaz Gaethje would be absolutely ludicrous, and easily fight of of the year, that's the fight to make in my opinion. The sources said Diaz has only been offered top 5 fighters in the Lightweight division, which leaves us with Poirier, Alvarez, Lee and Khabib, as Conor is out indefinitely and Ferguson is not expected back until late this year or early next year. Justin Gaethje is ranked number 7 right now, but is 100% a top 5 level fighter and fan favorite, the fight would be almost certain war.

As if the lightweight division wasn't stacked enough already, now Diaz is back in the mix, there is going to be some wild fights this summer. Diaz hasn’t fought since August 2016 when he lost via majority decision to Conor McGregor so it will interesting to see if he is still as good as he was, ring rust is a bitch.

The MMA Hour

(Skip to 2:53:21 for Jake Shields)

Thanks for checking this out, who do you want to see Diaz fight? Let me know below

MMA News

UFC - https://bit.ly/1NjwknG

MMAFighting - https://bit.ly/2xGscQC

Sherdog - https://bit.ly/1ehRJg8

MMA Junkie - https://bit.ly/NDhm3D

Bloody Elbow -  https://bit.ly/2r6tpfn 

MMA Youtube Channels

MMADigest - https://bit.ly/2GVjH6y

UFC - https://bit.ly/1OPuIoL

MMAFighting - https://bit.ly/1Gl4Gr8

MMA Junkie -  https://bit.ly/2rchsWH 

BellatorMMA - https://bit.ly/2HAFYel

UFC Pay-Per-Views  - http://www.ufc.tv/events

UFC Rankings - http://www.ufc.com/rankings

Upcoming events - http://www.ufc.com/schedule/event

UFC Fight Pass Free Trial - https://www.ufc.tv/packages


Sort:  

So many options in the LW devision, to be honest I wouldn’t care if he was fighting a can, the Diaz brothers have been some of he most entertaining to watch for many years and it will simply be nice to see them compete. With Nicks suspension issues being cleared up I can picture a card with both of them making there come back after long lay offs.

Imagine that man, the two of them on the same card, it would be so good, biggest card of the year easy if Conor doesn't come back.

Agreed man, I’ve been in the process of writing segment based of the current state of the Lightweight, appreciate it if you can give it a check, I’ll be putting it out fairly soon just working on a few final bits✌️

I'd love to man, let me know when you're live ;)

Thanks bro, Will do ✌️

The post is up if you would like to give it a look 👊

The Tree of Life, or Etz haChayim (עץ החיים) has upvoted you with divine emanations of G-ds creation itself ex nihilo. We reveal Light by transforming our Desire to Receive for Ourselves to a Desire to Receive for Others. I am part of the Curators Guild (Sephiroth), through which Ein Sof (The Infinite) reveals Itself!

That is some awesome command of the English language right there lol.

Shiaaat, that LW division is STACKED! Exactly as you said..They could easily split it into two and still would be enough competition for two belts. Conor, Khabib, Ferguson, Alvarez, Poirier, Lee....That's 6 guys eligible for the title...and than there's Holloway and Ortega, both eyeing that LW division...omg Im so [pumped for all the fights coming just writing this haha :D.. now there's Diaz again in the mix as well...cant wait!!

It's so insane man, they need to make a 165 division fast, there's just so much talent around that weight now its crazy.

I would like to see him take a run at Barboza. That will be indicative of the trajectory of either fighter.

I think Diaz is kind of a numbskull prone to idiotic verbal outbreaks but love to see him fight and I cheer for him when his mouth is closed.

He will have to take a couple steps up while the Connor thing is sorting itself out so I can't wait to see if he returns this summer.

2 years older and wiser?

I think the Borboza fight would be insanely good technically, but I doubt Nate would even consider it, he only wants money fights at this stage I think. I hope he's even better than before man, I'd love to see him make a title run properly.

I'm not surprised, Motherf..... :)
Hello, my irish friend!
Justin Gaethje would be crazy, if he had not lost twice...
Put your arms up, Justin...Top 5!

Haha, yeah but those two losses were better than 90% of the UFC rosters victorys lol.

True, but you gotta fight different with the Top 5... you gotta actually defend...lol

Hahaha I know what you mean, you cant just march forward like he does with any of the top 5, I really hope he starts to use his wrestling more.

I havn't even seen it properly because of his crazy wars... but i heard, he's a really good wrestler. Yeah, he should use it! He's good people, because he's cool with ThugRose :)

haha yeah he a good guy as well as a murderer.

Hmm I would say Feed Barvoza or Gaethje to Nate. They're all grouped in the standing and can decide the trajectory of each fighter. Plus this Keeps Lee and Poirier free to fight each other.. then with the outcomes of these fights you can find an opponent for Khabib if Tony still isn't in the mix by then you've got options.

Fun times!

I doubt Nate would take Barboza man. We all know who he is as hardcore fans, but the casuals don't know him at all, Nate only wants the big fights with as many eyes watching as possible.

It will be great to have Nate back in the picture! Can't wait to hear who they put him up against.

Yeah man it's exciting, it's like throwing a hand grenade into that division now.

I think Eddie Alvarez wins via decision and Nate complains in post fight interview about being wrestled.

I think that is a bad fight for him to take. He needs a more winnable fight because if he loses ..... his trilogy match with Conor ( and the payday that comes with it ) will be that much more unlikely to happen.

I dunno man, Eddie has an awful habit to flow into his opponents gameplan, and also Diaz is legit on the ground, he's to big and strong to be wrestled to much by Eddie in my opinion.

Diaz ground game is legit ..

I really don't want to see Eddie Alvarez win a boring decision. I like the Gathje fight but I'd rather see him fight former champ Anthony Pettis (I know he already got a fight scheduled) or a rematch with Cowboy (I know he also got a fight scheduled). If not those two just feed him to Kevin Lee and let's build this young lion's resume.

I really like Eddie man, he's so good. I think Nate would actually beat Lee too, it'd be a hard one but I think Nate would beat him on experience alone. I thin Gaethje is the one man, I can't see a better option right now apart from a title shot.

I think Eddie and Lee would take him down and keep him there...we already know the blueprint on how to beat a Diaz, leg kicks, pressure and takedowns, I'm sure Lee can do it.

I like Eddie too

This post has received a 18.52 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60732.86
ETH 2906.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57